We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A B&B that can not be faulted with the perfect hosts” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omori Lake House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turangi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Omori Lake House
Ampthill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A B&B that can not be faulted with the perfect hosts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2011

My husband and I stayed here just one night as we toured around the north island. The position of the B&B is beautiful with delightful views across the lake and the room is lovely with a very comfortable bed. The hosts, Neil and Raywyn really make your stay special and you truly feel very much at home. We would definitely recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank De83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    32
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2010

We stayed here for 2 nights during our honeymoon in NZ. We chose Omori because of its location close to Tongariro National Park. We arrived late afternoon and had arranged to have dinner with Neil and Raewyn because we didn't feel like going out again after a long day's driving. Well, what a perfect night it was - Raewyn's cooking is wonderful and she clearly cares about acting as the perfect hostess, whilst Neil is the absolute best host. On our first evening their two friends also joined us for dinner and it was like being with friends rather than just met hosts. We woke up to a wonderful breakfast the next morning. Neil and Raewyn recommended some local restaurants for dinner that evening but in the end we decided to have dinner again at the house - not just because Raewyn's cooking is top notch but also because they are just lovely people. In all the places we stayed during our trip to NZ, this was the place that we felt most at home - I felt like we made real friends rather than just being guests. The house itself is in a beautiful location with fabulous views from the terrace and the bedroom was very comfortable and spacious. This was a wonderful place to stay and we cannot recommend it enough.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vickstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North East Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2010

What an absolutely stunning house in a beautiful setting, with views over Lake Taupo.
A lovely spacious room, and verandah available to us.
Raewyn and Neill made us feel very welcome and we enjoyed chatting over nibbles and wine before sitting down with them to eat Raewyn's very good home cooked, locally sourced food.
They have packed a lot into their lives and have a wealth of amusing, entertaining and sometimes thought provoking stories to share. We learnt a lot more about life in NZ.
They gave us excellent advice about things to do, places to have good coffee, etc. and we really enjoyed our stay with them.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Viaggio2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
154 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

Tired of the Taupo prices, and the last 45 minutes travel there from the south, we looked for accommodation in Turangi. Frankly, there's not much on offer there in the high quality bracket. But we really lucked in when we found the Omori Lake House. The setting was stunning: it's quiet and rural, with fabulous views over lake Taupo. We arrived late, and it was quite difficult to find in the dark, even with the GPS, but after a phone call, the owners came to the gate to escort us. They were very accommodating and made us a welcome cup of tea. The rooms were tasteful and spotlessly clean and we loved the kingsized bed and high quality linen, and waking up to a magnificent view on a perfect day. A small quibble, the soap provided was nice quality and full sized (so much nicer than those tiny slippery slivers) but there was no shampoo, conditioner or body lotion. I think these would be expected in a place of this calibre. Apart from that , though, this place is wonderful. The breakfast was really nice, and much of it was locally sourced and homemade. And it was great value for money - for less than the price of an average room in Taupo, we had a wonderful room, lovely service, and a great breakfast. Turangi is an excellent and underappreciated location for a stop midway through the North Island, and is central for fishing, skiing, hiking (much closer to the Tonagriro crossing than Taupo). Omori Lake House is a welcome top class option.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2010

Omori Lakehouse is one of the best B&B’s we’ve ever been to. The owners, Raewyn and Neil, give you a warm welcome and provide a great hospitality. The house is located on the hill of Omori town providing a nice view on lake Taupo. The bed and bathroom are excellent, well maintained and looked brand-new. Everything you need is there. We arrived at 4.30pm and didn’t want to get out for dinner anymore. Instead, we were pampered with some glasses of wine or beer & cheese snacks and a great 3 course dinner prepared by Raewyn. We really felt at home. The breakfast is just of the same very good quality as all the rest and the homemade muesli is just delicious!
If you are in the neighbourhood, and you can stay for one or more nights around lake Taupo and visit the Tongariro park, this is a place that you don’t want to miss!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BelgianTraveller27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
105 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2009

We spent 2 nights at Omori Lake House during our 2 week driving tour of the North Island of NZ. We stayed at half a dozen high end B&Bs during our trip. While all were excellent and rated at 5 stars, our top rating would have to go to Omori Lake House: the house and facilities are superb; the guest rooms are beautifully fitted out and spotlessly clean; the location (very quiet and off the beaten track) is excellent for exploration of the Lake Taupo area and the Tongariro National Park; the view over Lake Taupo is fantastic; and the price is reasonable (by comparison with other B&Bs of similar standard). Our hosts, Neil & Raewyn, were wonderful. They made us feel like part of the family, and provided us with lots of helpful advice about the area. Raewyn is a qualified chef. Breakfast was excellent and Raewyn cooked a lovely dinner for us on one night. Our stay at Omori Lake House was wonderful in every way.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AussieTraveller56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Rica, Georgia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2008

We stayed at the Omori Lake House for 4 nights (Christmas Eve, Christmas and two more nights) in 2007. The Lake House was built with two en-suite rooms with king beds on one side and family accommodations of the other side of the house. We selected the room with the wet floor shower. The other room had a large tub/shower combination.

Neil and Raewyn were wonderful hosts. Because of the timing of our trip we added dinner for both Christmas Eve and Christmas as part of our stay. Raewyn prepared a traditional Kiwi Christmas dinner that included regional wines and beer. Breakfasts were included in the room rate. Each day there was something different that included a variety of fresh fruit, cereal, eggs, crepes, juice, coffee or tea.

The hosts provided lots of information for self guided tours of the area and can assist with arrangements for many special day-trips, including trout fishing in thier boat. There are many lake activites, national parks, hot springs, and hiking trails nearby.

There are a grocery store, bank, restaurants, and gas stations in Turangi about 10 minutes away. We would highly recommend Omori Lake House as a base for the Lake Taupo region of New Zealand.

  • Liked — Hospitality of the hosts and room.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MikLinGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
1.0 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#6 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
7.2 mi away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
2.8 mi away
Braxmere
Braxmere
#1 of 2 in Tokaanu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
6.9 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
8.4 mi away
TroutBeck Fishing Lodge
TroutBeck Fishing Lodge
#4 of 17 in Turangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omori Lake House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omori Lake House

Property: Omori Lake House
Address: 31 Omori Road, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boutique accommodation high above Omori with stunning views across to Taupo.We have two ensuite guest rooms with super king size beds, tea/coffee facilities and private decks.Enjoy a Barbeque or a classic kiwi meal with the hosts.We are close to the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, fly fishing rivers, bush walks and thermal pools. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing