We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite disappointed.”
Review of Mustard Seed Cafe

Mustard Seed Cafe
Ranked #13 of 23 Restaurants in Turangi
Price range: US$10 - US$15
Cuisines: International, New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite disappointed.”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

The quality of service was far from excellent, it was as if the staff did not want to work this public holiday and it really showed. Not a very comfortable environment to be a customer in. Coffee, very watery Latte, you can only stretch milk so far and the barista pushed it beyond the 'done zone', Z service station coffee tasted better.

Personally we would not recommend.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank McLardys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    20
    10
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“cute cafe, yummy food, A++”
Reviewed 31 March 2014

great little cafe. yummy eggs benedict. fresh muffins. my mocca is one of the best ive had and the staff were friendly A++. cute outside area love the gardens.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank snufflz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great potential - ruined by surly staff”
Reviewed 24 February 2014

We left Taupo on Sunday morning and decided to wait and find something for breakfast on the route south. A bit of a mistake as now I can pretty much confirm there is nothing decent in terms of cafes until you get to Taihape. We decided to give this cafe a go thinking there must be something decent in Turangi and it looked nice and inviting. Same can't be said for the surly Barista and lady cooking the meals. Not one smile, and neither of them could be bothered looking you in the eye when they gave you your meal (about 30 min later). It took 20 minutes to get our coffee and it wasn't that busy. No apology nothing but a surly dump the coffee on the table and slope off. The barista was moving so slowly I almost suggested she down a couple of Macchiato's to wake up. My husband had the big breakfast equivalent and I had uninviting French toast with a sliced banana and what looked like Molenberg drowned in maple syrup. My teenager could have done better. A real shame as this cafe looks good and has potential but it's lost on the staff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gibraltarwgtn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paeroa
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Mustard Seed Cafe leaves a bad taste in your mouth.”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

They do not deserve the title Cafe. The service was not that expected from a cafe environment. The service was unfriendly, slow & unprofessional. We would not recommend stopping at the Mustard Seed.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Enjays1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Yummy food”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Great salads and sandwiches in a darling café setting. Save some room for dessert or take it along for afternoon tea!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank GFP32999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mustard Seed Cafe also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
 
Turangi, Taupo District
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Been to Mustard Seed Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing