We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bad first impression but it ended well.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Bad first impression but it ended well.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

My partner and I stayed here on a GrabOne deal and thought it'd be perfect for a long weekend before Christmas.

When you drive down the driveway it really does feel like a country escape. You get to the reception area and we were met with a young girl who needs to work on her customer service. I don't appreciate being spoken down to at the best of times but the fact that we bought a GrabOne deal seemed to add to her attitude like we were lower-class. Not a good first impression. We also forgot to print off the voucher to take with us. An easy thing to do when you're driving up from Wellington early in the morning and you're concentrating on a million other things.

We got to our room, which was cozy at first glance. The walls are wooden panelled which definitely gives in a country feel and I found it quite charming. The only disappointments I found were with the bathroom, as the bath had mould growing on it and it didn't quite fit with the rest of the room, the toilet is right by a sliding door where there's a gap in it and the walls are so thin we could clearly hear our neighbours next door. So our idea of a nap went right out the window.

The deck area was nice. The lookout onto the rest of the property was very country-esque with a small view of the river in the distance. We had time before dinner to go for a walk, so we begrudgingly went back to reception to ask if there was a walking trail nearby that we could do before dinner. The person behind the desk was a man this time (thankfully). If I remember right his name was Paul. Lovely guy. He gave us a 1-hour walk to do just in time for our reservation at the restaurant.

When we went for dinner, we were asked to sit in the lounge area where our drink orders were taken and canapes were bought out for us. Then they took our dinner orders and showed us to our seats just before our meals were ready. This I found very enjoyable. My partner had the venison entree which he though was amazing. I had pasta which was fantastic!! Our mains were lamb and fish of the day (for him it was tuna). And I can honestly say it was almost the best lamb I've ever had. And we had a chocolate desert which was delicious, not too rich as to be sickly and not too tasteless as to be dull. Food coma anyone?

We didn't stay that much at the lodge for the rest of the time we were there but we had dinner again at the restaurant and it was still great food. It's just a shame our first impression was so bad because the rest of the staff were great. The room we stayed in was a bit stuffy at times and the window was tricky to open without turning on a light.

All in all though, we'd stay there again, but we'd get a stand-alone room where we can't be disturbed by noisy neighbours.

Room Tip: Don't get a chalet. They're far too noisy. And if you want a spa - get in quick because on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dre_Hughesy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    44
    25
    11
    1
See reviews for
32
91
3
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
119 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2011

Lovely location. Lodge very clean and comfortable although the area set aside for tea making a bit cramped.
Staff were lovely. Communication via email regarding our stay was excellent. All the staff we met couldn't have been more helpful.
Food in the restaurant was scrumptious.
We will definitely return. Must do the crossing again and hope for better weather!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dolly070759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2011

Stayed in a basic chalet - nice room, though small, but as mentioned in another review, we could hear most of the conversation and crying baby through the wall from the unit next door.
What makes this place stand out is the setting and the level of service, which is excellent. We had been looking forward to the dining experience, and while nice, we have had better meals for much less money, including across the street the second night of our stay. The food was well-prepared but not particularly interesting. I would come back to the lodge for fishing if I could get a stand-alone cabin, but I wouldn't bother eating dinner there again.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ZannyDu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
napier
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

The restaurant and lounge facilities with two open fires immediately gave a warm comfortable feel and the food is excellent.The staff are wonderful too
The chalets are lacking in a bit of detail and maintence and do not deserve the asking price
We will be back for the food at least

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janewestshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Feilding - NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2011

We were lucky enough to stay on a Groupon deal for 3 nights 4 days. The deal itself was fantastic and very good value for money. We stayed in a one bedroom chalet. I wouldnt call it a luxury chalet but a more a well appointed cabin. From reading the website I thought they were standalone chalets, but was very suprised to see they were backed onto another one and in some cases - 3 were joined together. This wasnt a problem the first night but the second day, the chalet next to us was occupied for the next 2 days and was very noisey. This would be the only downside to the accomodation we were in. On the up, the staff are excellent, very friendly and relaxed. The dining in the restaurant is superb and run really well by the restaurant manager. Their breakfast chef is a real hoot, and nothing was a problem.
The grounds are very well maintained and beautiful. The fishing was OK but not fantastic.

Room Tip: if youre booked into a chalet see if you can one that wont be occupied by someone else next door as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bron-Anthony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2011

Just stayed for the weekend on a Grab One deal. The chalets are fairly basic but very comfortable and warm. Right on the Tongariro River, which is beautiful, close to Whakapapa ski field, which was great and the restaurant at the lodge is excellent. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful with local activities. We would highly recommend Tongariro Lodge.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VCG_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TongariroLodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thanks for your review VCG_11. The snow has been falling here and the skiing at Whakapapa is fantastic right now, and the spawning run for the trout is just starting, so we look forward to welcoming you again. Glad to hear you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant. Steve Smith - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2011

We booked a chalet for 4 days during the winter and it was fantastic. 40 mins to skiing, great local atmosphere and the restaurant prepares some fantastic meals based on local produce.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peeyooshchandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TongariroLodge, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review, 4 August 2011
Thanks for your review....great to hear that you had a wonderful time up on the mountain and here at the Lodge. We hope to see you again in the future. Steve Smith - General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#6 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
0.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
1.1 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
1.1 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Property: Tongariro Lodge
Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing