We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful Escape For A Special Occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful Escape For A Special Occasion”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

We recently spent two nights at Tongariro Lodge for our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we found everything from the food to service just exceptional! The atmosphere and ambience of the place was truly relaxing and enjoyable. We were blessed to have lovely weather so this was an extra bonus! A big thanks to Michelle and Andrew the Acting Manager, who were both extremely friendly as well as professional and all the other staff also. Thanks also for the lovely bottle of champagne for our anniversary! - Maurice & Deb Dodunski, NZ.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debs12268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    45
    27
    12
    2
See reviews for
34
96
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jackson Hole Wyoming usa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

We were only able to stay two nights, but every aspect of our visit was truly exceptional.
Especially, the above and beyond professionalism and hospitality extended to us by Andrew, the acting General Manager.
The Chef is clearly first class.
We hope to return.
Brent and Sarita Eastman, San Diego, Ca and Jackson Hole, Wyoming USA

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brent e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2013 via mobile

I came to Tongariro Lodge for a weekend business retreat and I will most certainly be back on my own time. I am here in late autumn and the setting is perfect for colder weather with beautiful wooden lodges and chalets, lots of open fires and a genuine wilderness feel. The staff are among the friendliest I've seen anywhere and the food is excellent. Unfortunately it was all work this time around but I'll definitely be back with some friends to experience the outdoor activities of which there are many - fishing, hunting, biking, hiking, etc.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeSydney_Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, Florida
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Tangariro Lodge advertises itself as a "luxury lodge". This is ludicrous. We spent three nights at the Tongariro Lodge as part of a seven-week trip to New Zealand. We have a basis for comparing the Lodge to other properties. Our room and breakfast at the luxury Tongariro Lodge were by far the worst of our seven-week stay. In fact, this was our only truly bad experience in New Zealand. And we paid dearly for this privilege.

We were booked in a room that is billed as a "chalet" room. All this means is that the room is a very tiny room in a building with two or three other tiny rooms. Not only was our room tiny, but it was furnished with cheap furnishings, and a very poor bed. For example, the drawers pulled right out of the nightstand. The lamps were incredibly awkward. The lighting was terrible. Just as well, I guess, since the room wasn't even clean when we checked in - as an example, the bathroom mirror was dirty when we checked in and it was not cleaned once by daily housekeeping during our stay. Also, when we checked in, the room smelled of smoke.

Then there is the issue of how the Lodge is run. When we checked in, we were barely greeted, and given our key. We walked to the room, tried it, and it didn't work. So we came back to the office. We were given another key and told "try this one". It worked, but it seemed a strange thing to tell guests at a "luxury" lodge to figure it which key worked. Oh, and there was no offer to help with bags. Again, just as well. But there were none of the niceties that are offered even in establishments that don't make the "luxury" claim.

More on how the lodge is run. In our small room, there was a small entry area where one can hang clothes and put clothes in drawers. We noticed once it got dark that the lightbulb in that area was broken. So we took down the lightbulb and brought it with us to the lodge when we went for dinner. We asked if it could be replaced. The gentleman we talked to said he could try to find one so that we could replace it. I suggested that maybe, since it required standing on a chair, the staff might replace it. He agreed. Then he reported that no one knew where the spare lightbulbs were stored. (Really????). The next morning we asked again about a bulb, and later that afternoon yet again, and we were told that someone was "on the way with a bulb". Well, that person must have gotten lost, because she never arrived. Finally, we just walked into the neighboring "chalet", which had been unlocked and unoccupied since we arrived, took one of the bulbs from that room, and installed it ourselves.

We also asked for a two-outlet adaptor the first night that we arrived, since outlets are few and inconveniently placed. We were assured that we would get one, but that never arrived either.

Our rate included breakfast and dinner. Dinners were absolutely wonderful. The chef (Richard Atkinson) is amazing, and he belongs in a lodge that is a true luxury lodge. But service both at dinner and breakfast was haphazard at best. One night, when leaving from dinner, we had a quick exchange with the lodge manager, Graeme. He was seated, and never bothered to get up to introduce himself or to ask how our stay was going. That's the first time that a proprietor at a property where we stayed was that uncordial.

Breakfast was a different matter. It was below ordinary. Nothing at all interesting or special. Cereal in small packages that all guests struggled to open. For three days we watched this, and nothing was done to ameliorate the situation. (How about buying - or making??? - bulk muesli and putting it in a bowl? Almost all establishments that we visited do this.). Bread for toast came from a bag and the jams were those low quality ones that come in small plastic containers. There was one kind of Danish and at least that was freshly baked. The cooked breakfast was ordinary, but again, nothing special.

But here is something that just completely annoyed me. Our stay had been below mediocre, and we had paid a lot of money that would have bought a much more enjoyable and longer stay elsewhere. When we checked out, on our invoice, every coffee that we had consumed was charged. I asked, "doesn't coffee come with breakfast?" I was told no. Also, coffees that we had after dinner were charged. Let me see, they charge a huge amount of money per night for a basic room and breakfast and dinner, and the lodge charges extra for coffee at breakfast and dinner??? Really??? And this is a luxury lodge??? Wherever we stayed on our trip where breakfast was included, coffee was also included. The same with dinner. And if the Tongariro Lodge wants to differ from the norm, they have an obligation to tell the customer that they will be charged for coffee. In the face of the prices they charge, to charge for coffee is petty and offensive.

Needless to say, I would not suggest this property as a place to stay. The dinners are wonderful, though, but you may need to deal with haphazard service. If you want a wonderful lodge experience in New Zealand, try Wilderness Lodge at Arthur's Pass.

Room Tip: Don't book a "chalet" room Maybe their "villas" are nicer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank 379Marie352
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

We had a family holiday which took in the Tongariro Crossing,White Water rafting and the jet boating at Huka Falls.
We were looked after superbly by Graeme and his staff where nothing was to much trouble.
The accomadation was excellent,well appointed,idylliic location and the food was great.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4RichardV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme1964, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback. It was indeed a pleasure to host your wonderful family here at the Tongariro Lodge and I am so glad that all the activities met with your approval. As you know from your time here that the Lodge is a very special and tranquil location making it a perfect spot for a vacation.We hope you take the time to return one day. Enjoy the rest of your holiday in our beautiful country and may I wish you safe travels back to the UK.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2013

This place is priceless and a timeless classic had the pleasure of staying here 15 years ago and wanted to go again so when we had the opportunity we took it.
You can never tire of the relaxed laid back charm and the views of the river running past against the backdrop of the mountains.
All of this whilst partaking in the best food and wine NZ has to offer.
If you are a fisherman then the history and the old pictures in the lodge are reason enough to come here for a few nights, you will also have the chance of a record trout right on your doorstop.
Staff and hospitality are second to none we will definitely be back as we love this place and this time it won't be a 15 year gap.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyBrinsdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme1964, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you Tony, firstly for your feedback on the Tongariro Lodge - but more importantly for returning to the Lodge after 15 years. It is very rewarding to learn that the expectations of your return visit were exceeded by my team and that the Lodge is as good as it always was.
We certainly look forward to welcoming you back again - only dont leave it 15 years this time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, Manawatu-Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2013

Idyllic setting, wonderful grounds, relaxing location. We found the chalet we booked a bit disappointing - the rate was 'specialed' at about $200 per night, down from $400, but frankly it was only worth $200 at best and a bit tired and noisy. My advice; don't hike the price so high and then discount it to what it should be because that just creates expectations that cannot be met. The food in the restaurant was interesting, my meal was great but my wife's was only average. The meal prices were high (e.g $40 for a main course plus $10 for a side of vegetables) with a service that didn't match. The welcome was warm, helpful, and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spencer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graeme1964, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Thank you for your feedback - albeit it disappointing to read. I guess the charm of a property like the Tongariro Lodge is that it is not a hotel, but a Fishing Lodge sitting on 22 acres of stunning 'park like' grounds on the edge of Lake Taupo. I am not sure what your expectations were when you booked in or what you are are comparing our property and tariff to?
Your comments re meal costs are a little unfair as you never mentioned that all mains come with vegetables and the $10 side order is if you were wanting 'extra' vegetables.
Finally our chalets have been recently redecorated and it is disappointing that you mistake a "Rustic Fishing Feel" with 'Tired'.
I do however appreciate your views and to have the opportunity to respond.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
1.4 mi away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 8 in Turangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Property: Tongariro Lodge
Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing