We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor accommodation, excellent dinner”
Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We treated ourselves recently to 2 nights in a chalet. Extremely underwhelmed by this so-called luxury unit. No refrigerator, tiny tv, poor bathroom lighting, dated 1980s bathroom appointments and very little space for clothes etc. the whole unit was 'tired' and needed refurbishment.
However, the chef is a gem and we had 2 lovely dinners and were well looked after by wait staff. Breakfast, unfortunately, was poor with cheap jams, impossible to open cereal boxes and poor choice of breads. We were embarrassed to have to share breakfast time with overseas guests who seemed also taken aback at the miserable breakfast choices.
Overall, not a good ad for our beautiful fishery and should not be advertised as luxury in any sense. We have paid less for 5 star accommodation - this would be 3 star at the most.

Room Tip: Try the villas?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley W, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback, although disappointing we value your thoughts and use it to assist us in making improvements. It's important to point out that our guests enjoy 2 accommodation choices at the lodge. We have one bedroom chalets and for a higher tariff 2-5 bedroom villas. We are constantly performing ongoing refurbishment in all accommodation types and are currently upgrading furnishings and performing maintenance on the chalets. We note your comments in respect to breakfast at the lodge and advise that an improved menu and location has been in place for a number of weeks now and we are receiving very good reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (196)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 196 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We wanted to do the tongariro crossing and so me needed a hotel not far away from the vulcano! The owner of the lodge was very friendly he even provided us with towels in order to protect our heads from the sun because we had forgotten our caps :) the room was very clean and after our 36 hours flights vom austria to new zealand taking the first shower in the lodges bathroom was a great feeling :) we booked the shuttle service to the startpoint of the tongariro crossing route and everything went well! A pleasent stay :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnii01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Tongariro lodge is a fisherman’s lodge and I opted for a fisherman’s package it is well set up to cater for fisherman. I had as a guide Tim McCarthy for 4 days who is an excellent and I can thoroughly recommend his services, see fish pictures.

The lounge in the lodge is a great place for relaxing in front of the roaring log fire after a day out, before sitting down to exceptional food in the restaurant. I cannot speak more highly of the experience and will list it as one of my favourites; I had Chalet 10 and was very comfortable with a beautiful view of the river

Room Tip: Chalet 10 with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wally70Tamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed just the one night recently, in the two bedroom house, Lockwood style with basic fittings, small fan heater, leather couches. Could have done with more fishing / hunting style decorations (like main lodge). Place was clean, but basic - not luxury.

What was impressive was the food, award winning chef who has a signature beef dish - this really made the stay. Hearty, well cooked food. Service, from welcome to dinner service was very good. I would stay again for a fishing weekend, followed by a decent meal.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We recently stayed two nights in a Chalet at this lovely old fishing lodge. We opted for accommodation only. We found the Chalet adequate but dated - 1980's? Heating by radiator kept the room warm enough and the comfortable bed had an electric blanket. The tv was tiny. We had a view of the river and a small deck with a table but only one chair. We were greeted by a very friendly Michelle and met the acting manager, Andrew who was friendly, helpful and knowledgable about fishing. We had dinner in the dining room with roaring fire and fine food friendly waiting staff. We did not eat breakfast there. The grounds were lovely. All in all we were disappointed with the tired accommodation but the staff made our visit a happy one.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ghostsTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Just back from 3 nights in a 4 bedroom villa at the Lodge with its fantastic views of the mountains as a backdrop across the river. We were extremely well looked after by Andrew and his team who couldn't do enough enough for us. The lounge in the lodge is a great place for relaxing in front of the roaring log fire after a day out, before sitting down to exceptional food in the restaurant. My son and I went out fishing with Tim McCarthy who is an excellent guide and I can thoroughly recommend his services especially when fishing a river as big as the Tongariro.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Des T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

My wife and I stayed one night in a 'Chalet', and can only speak about those units. We were expecting a 'luxurious' nights accommodation having paid a 'special' rate of $200, down from $400 per night. Well, that's where the 'luxury' ended!
We stood in a rather small but adequately furnished room (with ensuite) looking round for the 'luxury' - finding nothing that would escalate it to that level: thin plastic toilet seat; standard bulk-produced hand basin; no refrigerator; no full length mirror; a rather dated ambience; the electric blanket stuffed in a cupboard (great for the first night of winter!); limited view - all trees, no river!.
In summary this unit was very adequate (good shower; comfy bed; free WiFi; etc.) but terribly over-priced, and over-advertised. We would have priced this unit's worth at around $140, with a 'special' discount of about $100.
The manager (Andrew) and staff who we had contact with were all very friendly and helpful.
The establishment had many 'extras' (spa room; restaurant; communial lounge; etc.), but we didn't require nor think we needed to pay for those.
There was nobody in the unit next door on this night, so we were unable to confirm/negate the lack of privacy mentioned in other reviews.

Room Tip: Don't book a 'Chalet' expecting luxury - all you'll do is pay plenty for an average...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mpward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,735 reviews
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#5 of 10 in Turangi
136 reviews
24.1 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 10 in Turangi
318 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 10 in Turangi
315 reviews
1 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Address: 83 Grace Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: £95 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing