We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tongariro Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Settlers Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Judges Pool Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turangi Bridge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oreti Village(Turangi)
US$181
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creel Lodge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$101
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Tongariro River Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motel(Tokaanu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
107
51
32
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
51
32
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfly fishingwine listthe riverguide timfishing guidebedroom villanew zealandtroutsun settingbeautiful dinnercan't comment on the foodkept dropping outspecial thanksbeautiful groundsthree bedroomfishing weekendboth breakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
118 - 123 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Tongariro Lodge for a special occasion. The accommodation is basic - There was no fridge in our room and as we were moving on to self catering accommodation we had provisions which needed to be kept cold. The rooms are small and could do with a makeover. However the view from our chalet was lovely - we had No. 10 and could see the river. The chalets closer to the river would not have the view because of the stop bank. We had afternoon and evening sun and it was glorious sitting on the deck. The lodge itself is lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. There was a big group in but we did not feel we lacked any service although we did have to ask for the complimentary canapés. Our meal was delicious as was breakfast. Tongariro Lodge is not quite up there with the best of them, the accommodation lets them down .

Room Tip: Lower units I think would not have a view of the river - most higher ones would. I was told to ask for unit 3 if I wanted a fridge next time.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We treated ourselves recently to 2 nights in a chalet. Extremely underwhelmed by this so-called luxury unit. No refrigerator, tiny tv, poor bathroom lighting, dated 1980s bathroom appointments and very little space for clothes etc. the whole unit was 'tired' and needed refurbishment.
However, the chef is a gem and we had 2 lovely dinners and were well looked after by wait staff. Breakfast, unfortunately, was poor with cheap jams, impossible to open cereal boxes and poor choice of breads. We were embarrassed to have to share breakfast time with overseas guests who seemed also taken aback at the miserable breakfast choices.
Overall, not a good ad for our beautiful fishery and should not be advertised as luxury in any sense. We have paid less for 5 star accommodation - this would be 3 star at the most.

Room Tip: Try the villas?
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley W, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback, although disappointing we value your thoughts and use it to assist us in making improvements. It's important to point out that our guests enjoy 2 accommodation choices at the lodge. We have one bedroom chalets and for a higher tariff 2-5 bedroom villas. We are constantly performing ongoing refurbishment in all accommodation types and are currently upgrading furnishings and performing maintenance on the chalets. We note your comments in respect to breakfast at the lodge and advise that an improved menu and location has been in place for a number of weeks now and we are receiving very good reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We wanted to do the tongariro crossing and so me needed a hotel not far away from the vulcano! The owner of the lodge was very friendly he even provided us with towels in order to protect our heads from the sun because we had forgotten our caps :) the room was very clean and after our 36 hours flights vom austria to new zealand taking the first shower in the lodges bathroom was a great feeling :) we booked the shuttle service to the startpoint of the tongariro crossing route and everything went well! A pleasent stay :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnii01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Tongariro lodge is a fisherman’s lodge and I opted for a fisherman’s package it is well set up to cater for fisherman. I had as a guide Tim McCarthy for 4 days who is an excellent and I can thoroughly recommend his services, see fish pictures.

The lounge in the lodge is a great place for relaxing in front of the roaring log fire after a day out, before sitting down to exceptional food in the restaurant. I cannot speak more highly of the experience and will list it as one of my favourites; I had Chalet 10 and was very comfortable with a beautiful view of the river

Room Tip: Chalet 10 with a great view
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wally70Tamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed just the one night recently, in the two bedroom house, Lockwood style with basic fittings, small fan heater, leather couches. Could have done with more fishing / hunting style decorations (like main lodge). Place was clean, but basic - not luxury.

What was impressive was the food, award winning chef who has a signature beef dish - this really made the stay. Hearty, well cooked food. Service, from welcome to dinner service was very good. I would stay again for a fishing weekend, followed by a decent meal.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews