We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely peaceful lodge in gorgeous national park”
Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 December 2013

We stayed 2 nights at Tongariro Lodge and hiked the challenging Tongariro Alpine Crossing during the day in between. We loved the lodge. The surroundings are peaceful and beautiful, and abut a really nice hiking path along the river. The chalet was basic but totally fine in all respects. The restaurant is lovely and we had a great dinner there. Service was excellent. Nothing but good things to say about this place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 14gailg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

97 - 103 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

I agree with comments in other reviews that the rooms are not the most modern or luxurious I've ever experienced. . . but, they are very comfortable, they have lovely views, there is such peace and calm . . . and the people who work there, you just don't want to leave.
We had a rather stressful day, and barely arrived at the lodge in time for our dinner reservation. We were greeted with pleasure "any time is fine". We had a delicious, calm meal, after a glass of champagne. The next day my husband had a wonderful morning of fishing and I was provided with instructions (and an escort to the trailhead) for a beautiful hike. We would have loved to stay a week, it's a great place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaseycee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed at Tongariro Lodge in July for a weekend getaway and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It was a last minute trip away and we wanted somewhere we could relax and yet also do a few active things. The lodge was perfect for this, sitting along the Tongariro River, the grounds are beautiful and the staff were lovely. We spent our evenings in the lodge relaxing by the fire having a few drinks and ate most of our meals there - it was fantastic. I highly recommend this small, intimate place, we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dacs8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Tongariro Lodge for a special occasion. The accommodation is basic - There was no fridge in our room and as we were moving on to self catering accommodation we had provisions which needed to be kept cold. The rooms are small and could do with a makeover. However the view from our chalet was lovely - we had No. 10 and could see the river. The chalets closer to the river would not have the view because of the stop bank. We had afternoon and evening sun and it was glorious sitting on the deck. The lodge itself is lovely and staff very friendly and helpful. There was a big group in but we did not feel we lacked any service although we did have to ask for the complimentary canapés. Our meal was delicious as was breakfast. Tongariro Lodge is not quite up there with the best of them, the accommodation lets them down .

Room Tip: Lower units I think would not have a view of the river - most higher ones would. I was told to ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

We treated ourselves recently to 2 nights in a chalet. Extremely underwhelmed by this so-called luxury unit. No refrigerator, tiny tv, poor bathroom lighting, dated 1980s bathroom appointments and very little space for clothes etc. the whole unit was 'tired' and needed refurbishment.
However, the chef is a gem and we had 2 lovely dinners and were well looked after by wait staff. Breakfast, unfortunately, was poor with cheap jams, impossible to open cereal boxes and poor choice of breads. We were embarrassed to have to share breakfast time with overseas guests who seemed also taken aback at the miserable breakfast choices.
Overall, not a good ad for our beautiful fishery and should not be advertised as luxury in any sense. We have paid less for 5 star accommodation - this would be 3 star at the most.

Room Tip: Try the villas?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McKanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelley W, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2013

Thank you for your feedback, although disappointing we value your thoughts and use it to assist us in making improvements. It's important to point out that our guests enjoy 2 accommodation choices at the lodge. We have one bedroom chalets and for a higher tariff 2-5 bedroom villas. We are constantly performing ongoing refurbishment in all accommodation types and are currently upgrading furnishings and performing maintenance on the chalets. We note your comments in respect to breakfast at the lodge and advise that an improved menu and location has been in place for a number of weeks now and we are receiving very good reviews.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

We wanted to do the tongariro crossing and so me needed a hotel not far away from the vulcano! The owner of the lodge was very friendly he even provided us with towels in order to protect our heads from the sun because we had forgotten our caps :) the room was very clean and after our 36 hours flights vom austria to new zealand taking the first shower in the lodges bathroom was a great feeling :) we booked the shuttle service to the startpoint of the tongariro crossing route and everything went well! A pleasent stay :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bunnii01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The Tongariro lodge is a fisherman’s lodge and I opted for a fisherman’s package it is well set up to cater for fisherman. I had as a guide Tim McCarthy for 4 days who is an excellent and I can thoroughly recommend his services, see fish pictures.

The lounge in the lodge is a great place for relaxing in front of the roaring log fire after a day out, before sitting down to exceptional food in the restaurant. I cannot speak more highly of the experience and will list it as one of my favourites; I had Chalet 10 and was very comfortable with a beautiful view of the river

Room Tip: Chalet 10 with a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wally70Tamworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,160 reviews
23.7 mi away
Millennium Hotel and Resort Manuels Taupo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,648 reviews
1.4 mi away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 9 in Turangi
131 reviews
1.0 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price Range: £144 - £275 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing