We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tongariro Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Turangi Bridge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Judges Pool Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oreti Village(Turangi)
US$174
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongariro River Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motel(Tokaanu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (208)
Filter reviews
208 results
Traveller rating
107
51
32
15
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
107
51
32
15
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfly fishingwine listthe riverguide timfishing guidebedroom villanew zealandtroutsun settingbeautiful dinnercan't comment on the foodkept dropping outspecial thanksbeautiful groundsthree bedroomfishing weekendboth breakfast and dinner
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
188 - 193 of 208 reviews
Reviewed 2 February 2010

This was my fifth visit to Tongariro Lodge and as usual my expectation were exceeded. The combination of well appointed three bedroom Chalet accomodation,riverside setting and friendly efficient service was exemplary. Dinners in the Lodge dining room were a treat to remember.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Having read some negative feedback, after we booked through wotif, we were delighted with the outcome. We stayed in a 1 bedroom chalet and although we expected each chalet to be separate (there were 2-3 in each block), we had no neighbours the night we stayed. No tv and no fridge but that wasn't a biggee for us as we were only overnighting but would be for an extended stay. Only tea/coffee making provisions. Chalets are smallish and Lockwood in style so they do creak with the expansion & contraction of the wood. The evening meal is expensive but delicious. Our biggest suprise was the breakfast which was included in our wotif package. It was delicious and we could order anything off the breakfast menu as well as the continental offerings. This could set you up for the whole day - it was delicious.Friendly, welcoming staff - this is a treasure in peaceful surroundings and if fishing takes your fancy this would be a great place to stay. We checked out the 3 bedroom houses and if you were staying longer these would be a better option with full kitchens but and extra $200/night. The chalets are more like a motel in style, small but overnight a nice change and peaceful. So pleased the negative feedback didn't put us off. Had a spa, which we didn't use but was popular with other guests. The Lodge restaurant, lounge and bar are lovely for relaxing.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank bcdlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

For the amount of money we paid, we would have expected a lot more. The chalet was very basic, a bed and a desk, no tv, no fridge. The furnishings were very dated. They have lovely grounds and a great place if your a fly fisher but other than that, I would not recommend it. The dinner at the lodge was beautiful, but breakfast was a tad disapointing. When asked if we could upgrade to a room with a tv and fridge we were told it would cost another $200, ridiculous. This took the shine of what was otherwise a nice weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank photogirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed in a chalet for one night booked through wotif. We had expected a lot more from our room based on the description & photos. The chalets are not pictured at all on any website, so we were disappointed to find ourselves in a very basic motel style log cabin. Dated furnishings & very soft beds. My husband & I slept in separate beds to avoid rolling in on the double bed. Bathroom very basic. No facilities except for a kettle & provision to make a cup of tea. We were in a chalet closest to the main building which is the only one with a small TV, but it has the least views. The restaurant & reception areas were very cosy with the true fishing lodge feel. A cooked breakfast was included in the rate. The 'big breakfast' was a bit light on, with one piece of bacon, one hash brown triangle, eggs and one and a half very small sausages(the size of your thumb). Not quite what we had expected. It is a great spot for fishing, with lovely grounds, but I wouldn't stay there again just for the accommodation. Unfortunately the chalets are more 3 star then 5 star.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greengal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: 选择对着河流的房间·····
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews