We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbeatable service”
Review of Tongariro Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tongariro Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 March 2010

We just returned from a week spent at conference staying at the lodge. We had a great event due in no small part to the Steve and the staff at Tongariro Lodge. Their attentiveness, friendlieness and attention to detail made such a difference.

The food throughout was very tasty with a good selection. The selection of wine and spirits was also good. The conference room was spacious, light and easily accommodated the 20 of us (it was about half full).

I stayed in a house with 3 bedrooms. The house was clean and appeared to be well appointed with TV and full kitchen however I didn't spend much time in there so can't say too much about the house. The bedrooms and bathroom were clean and basic but functional.

Honestly, you would have a very hard time finding anywhere better to book a conference in this area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlb1717
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

166 - 172 of 186 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2010

Unparalleled service and accommodations at Tongariro Lodge. That coupled with World-Class guided fly-fishing made my trip to Turangi, New Zealand an exceptional adventure. The smile on my face in the attached photo says it all!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jstehman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2010

This was my fifth visit to Tongariro Lodge and as usual my expectation were exceeded. The combination of well appointed three bedroom Chalet accomodation,riverside setting and friendly efficient service was exemplary. Dinners in the Lodge dining room were a treat to remember.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James5435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2009

Having read some negative feedback, after we booked through wotif, we were delighted with the outcome. We stayed in a 1 bedroom chalet and although we expected each chalet to be separate (there were 2-3 in each block), we had no neighbours the night we stayed. No tv and no fridge but that wasn't a biggee for us as we were only overnighting but would be for an extended stay. Only tea/coffee making provisions. Chalets are smallish and Lockwood in style so they do creak with the expansion & contraction of the wood. The evening meal is expensive but delicious. Our biggest suprise was the breakfast which was included in our wotif package. It was delicious and we could order anything off the breakfast menu as well as the continental offerings. This could set you up for the whole day - it was delicious.Friendly, welcoming staff - this is a treasure in peaceful surroundings and if fishing takes your fancy this would be a great place to stay. We checked out the 3 bedroom houses and if you were staying longer these would be a better option with full kitchens but and extra $200/night. The chalets are more like a motel in style, small but overnight a nice change and peaceful. So pleased the negative feedback didn't put us off. Had a spa, which we didn't use but was popular with other guests. The Lodge restaurant, lounge and bar are lovely for relaxing.

Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
Thank bcdlong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2009

For the amount of money we paid, we would have expected a lot more. The chalet was very basic, a bed and a desk, no tv, no fridge. The furnishings were very dated. They have lovely grounds and a great place if your a fly fisher but other than that, I would not recommend it. The dinner at the lodge was beautiful, but breakfast was a tad disapointing. When asked if we could upgrade to a room with a tv and fridge we were told it would cost another $200, ridiculous. This took the shine of what was otherwise a nice weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank photogirlnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

We stayed in a chalet for one night booked through wotif. We had expected a lot more from our room based on the description & photos. The chalets are not pictured at all on any website, so we were disappointed to find ourselves in a very basic motel style log cabin. Dated furnishings & very soft beds. My husband & I slept in separate beds to avoid rolling in on the double bed. Bathroom very basic. No facilities except for a kettle & provision to make a cup of tea. We were in a chalet closest to the main building which is the only one with a small TV, but it has the least views. The restaurant & reception areas were very cosy with the true fishing lodge feel. A cooked breakfast was included in the rate. The 'big breakfast' was a bit light on, with one piece of bacon, one hash brown triangle, eggs and one and a half very small sausages(the size of your thumb). Not quite what we had expected. It is a great spot for fishing, with lovely grounds, but I wouldn't stay there again just for the accommodation. Unfortunately the chalets are more 3 star then 5 star.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greengal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank EloraDananMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
managertongariro, General Manager at Tongariro Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 April 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
5.2 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
21.4 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,628 reviews
24.4 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
291 reviews
1.4 mi away
River Birches Lodge
River Birches Lodge
#1 of 9 in Turangi
130 reviews
1.0 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tongariro Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tongariro Lodge

Address: Grace Road | PO Box 278, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price Range: £90 - £251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tongariro Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tongariro Lodge offers a unique fishing lodge atmosphere with an international reputation for providing guests with intimate friendly service, the best of food and wine and private exclusive accommodation. There is a secluded spa and all weather tennis court on park like grounds. The Lodge specialises in providing personally guided trout fishing or outdoor experiences with resident guides.Tongariro is the ideal holiday destination for trout fishermen, outdoor enthusiasts and family adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Tongariro Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tongariro Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing