We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely stunning location, very comfortable stay”
Review of Oreti Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oreti Village
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 September 2012

If you are looking to get away from it all, to escape the stresses of life, then this is the place to be. Every apartment has stunning views of southern Lake Taupo. A very comfortable home away from home. You won't want to leave. This is not a hotel or motel, it's more like a private residence. We had the lower level end unit, which has a lawn area out the front as well as a balcony. This is an upgrade from the loft unit above. Fully self contained with 2 bathrooms, washing machine and drier. Comfortable bed, and linen. I think this is the position where weddings are held, we were lucky enough to get the prime unit.

Stayed in early Spring, and if you catch the sun in the morning you can sit out on the balcony. It was a bit cold to sit out there otherwise at this time of year. We had the heat pump on which made it cozy and warm inside. I think it would be even nicer to stay in summer when you can sit in the shade of the balcony and look at the gorgeous magical views of the lake.

We did have to bring our own toiletries (as you do anyway), only a couple of small bottles were there, but a box of washing powder was supplied for as much as you needed. The kitchen had good facilities if you want to cook.

We ate in the restaurant one night. Classy enough restaurant, well presented meals. Only one complaint, and that was that the main course arrived about 5 mins after the bread and dips. We had not even got through half of the bread. Not wanting the mains to get cold, were going to have the rest of the bread as 'dessert' except that by that time they were cold & soggy and unappetizing. Bit of a waste, we would have liked more time between the bread and the mains. There were only 3 other tables occupied, I think the chef just had nothing else to do. But maybe they can take this comment on board. Also, the vegetarian option was not truly vegetarian (it had salmon) which might offend a true vegetarian. I don't know why they didn't call it a seafood main?

All in all, we will be back, this is definitely on my list of places to return to.

Room Tip: Every apartment has amazing views, but the ones closest to the lake would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2012

Thanks for your comments we have taken them on board. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

104 - 110 of 138 reviews

Reviewed 25 July 2012

This was our favourite accomodation of the holiday. The location of the apartments is amazing, the long and winding road to get to them that keeps creeping up the side of the hill, not knowing when it was going to end. There's a picnic area on the way up which we stopped off at to admire the view, this was a great precursor to the apartment views which were even better. The site itself is off the beaten track, very understated which made for a very peaceful two nights stay. We were in the first floor apartment at the end which we would have been our choice as it has that extra bit of garden to sunbathe in and doesn't have neighbours both sides.

The apartment itself is lovely, decent amount of space, well equipped kitchen, nice bedroom (great bed) and nice clean bathroom. The balcony is of course the main feature and where we spent most of our time, the view was just so beautiful and relaxing. Perfect for anyone who just wants to sit, read and admire the surroundings.

The on site amenities are well worth checking out if you can drag yourself away from the balcony, we were out of season so couldn't use the pool but we made use of the tennis courts and the free to use rackets and balls. There's a convenience store about a 5 min drive from the apartments which came in very handy when we had a craving for ice cream.

Only 2 or 3 other apartments were occupied which added to the quietness, though this was broke when the family who owned the apartment below returned. not sure if the apartments just have thin floors/ceilings or whether this family were just loud. thankfully they didn't stay too long.

All in all couldn't have asked for more, we'll definately stay there again next time we're in NZ.

Room Tip: You want one of the apartments on the front, nearer the lake. Preferably the first floor one on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2012

Thanks for your great Review we are thrilled you enjoyed our little piece of paradise.
We Look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Safe and Exciting travels
Best Regards
Fleur Ashford
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Big spacious apartment. Friendly service. Living areas were warm although rooms were a little bit more difficult to control temperatures. We're not really a fan of electric blankets.
The view was magnificent and kitchen well equipped for our needs.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ridorackeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 16 July 2012

Thanks for your review - Hope we Can welcome you again in the Future.
Best Wishes Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

This has to be one of the most stunning locations ever. We stayed for 2 nights in a well equipped, comfortable apartment with an incredible view to the North over the lake towards Taupo. Sitting on the balcony in the sunshine was just fabulous.

The complex seems to thrive on weddings and there can be few places to have a wedding in New Zealand that will better this location - but I have to say it does look a bit tired; the swimming pool area is characterless and depressing, the tennis courts are obviously seldom used, the walk to the beach is frankly overgrown and dangerous.

They only allow you 2 hours of internet access in one go as opposed to a limit on mb which is really annoying for travellers looking for the next place to stay.

There seemed to be a number of different staff around - some were charming, some quite dismissive.

As with so many apartments we stayed in during our 2 weeks in NZ this one was also for sale and sadly it showed, with a lack of attention to detail. The view is definitely the attraction.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank charlespBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I'm a very, very picky traveler. I'm addicted to 5 star hotels like the Shangri-la.. South of Auckand, NZ has had very few properties that have impressed me. They people are all great, but the rooms were very sub-par. Oreti was a terrific find! I was very surprised at the quality of the rooms and the people.. and the restaurant. My family of 4 walked in to unit #16, a 3 story 2 bedroom unit with a full kitchen. It was just lovely... After 2 weeks away from home the washer and dryer were another great surprise. The only negatives.. Tennis court looks like it hasn't been played on in 20 yrs (guess fisherman don't play Tennis), and my kids complained about having only 5 TV stations (which I didn't mind at all). Fantastic place. This is my first trip advisor review..

Room Tip: As for Unit 16..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Very quiet, peaceful village outside of Turangi (approx 20-30 minute drive back into town). Cabins have beautiful view over the lake, and have a kitchen for self catering. We enjoyed dinner at Lakeland House Restaurant which is close by (lovey food and setting) and also at the restaurant at the village which was good.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jaccy_13_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2011

We enjoyed Christmas 2010 at Oreti Village. I had found it on the internet. We had been in Australia watching the English cricket team trash the Aussies in the Ashes test. We were in New Zealand with a camper van but decided to spend Xmas in a bit more luxury, this is a wonderful place the service exceptional, the apartment was out of this world, Christmas lunch on the terrace was really good.

Room Tip: All rooms seem to be in a good position. We had the breakfast packs and they were worth having.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mebyon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oreti, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 13 December 2011

Thanks for your positive comments. We hope to welcome you back in the Future.
Happy Christmas from all the Team
-Fleur :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
5.2 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#9 of 10 in Turangi
196 reviews
22.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,737 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.7 mi away
Gables Lakefront Motel
5.7 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
5.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 10 in Turangi
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreti Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreti Village

Address: 90 Mission House Drive | Pukawa Bay, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Turangi
#5 Romantic Hotel in Turangi
Price Range: £127 - £173 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oreti Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oreti Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oreti Village Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing