We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Oreti Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oreti Village
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Luxury resort”
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Pros: The appartments at Oreti are among the best we have tried during our 3 weeks travel across NZ. The facilities include everything you could imagine like washing machine, dryer, etc. The views from the appartments over Taupo lake are fabulous. Very close to Tongariro national park.

Cons: The territory of Oreti looks a bit abandoned. The walking path to the lake seems to be neglected a long time ago. Not sure who owns this part of the ground, but I guess that Oreti could invest some money to clean it up a bit and repair the stairs on the lakeshore. Also an old- fashioned crt-tv units in the appartments look a bit odd in comparison with the overall level of equipment.

Room Tip: Loft appartments on the second line have wonderful views over the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina_Gen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thanks For Your review

The Lake Track has be come a focus and has been Tidied up as much as we can as this is reserve.

Thanks For your other comments too ... These are Being Addressed.
Regards Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    36
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
43
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

Great find, would highly recommend. Location is unbeatable and fantastically spacious rooms, all at a really good rate. Nice little bar and the restaurant is great too. Will be returning. Can recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fragmented5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thanks For your Review
Look forward to welcoming you Back soon
Regards Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in a lake front loft apartment. It was spacious, clean and well equipped enabling us to cook our own evening meals which was a nice treat after 2 weeks of eating out!!!
It was really peaceful despite it being New Years Eve and the location is perfect from which to do the Tongariro Crossing (about a 30 minute drive to the nearest transport company to the start of the crossing).
My only complaint would be that wifi is chargeable in excess of 30 minutes but this is a minor gripe.
One the best places we stayed during our trip - wished I could have stayed longer and would return if in the area again.
Good value.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thanks for Great review. We now have some complimentary WiFI on arrival - Look forward to welcoming you back
Regards Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
110 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2013

We have just returned from a family wedding held at the Oreti Village. What a beautiful place, the location is spectacular, with stunning views of the lake and very quiet and peaceful. We were pleasantly surprised by our Unit, it was spacious, and very well equipped with full kitchen and laundry facilities. The restaurant served very good food, and the service was good too. Our apartment was clean and comfortable, with comfy beds and good bathrooms. Such a lovely place, we'd be happy to return.

Room Tip: We had a lower level apartment, so were able to sit on the deck or walk onto the grass to see the qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FlemingsJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Many thanks for your positive review - The quail are very cute at this time of the year!
Look forward to welcoming you back very soon
happy travels
Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

I have just returned home from my nephews wedding which was held at this amazing place! I wanted to tell everyone that this location is just magical, peaceful, comfortable with spectacular views, the restaurant served beautiful food, i just can not fault this wonderful place at all!! I will be back and sooner rather than later! Thank you Oreti!!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Many thanks for your great review!
We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon :)
Regards Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bridgwater, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
131 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Stayed here for one night during a 4 week road trip around New Zealand. Having checked in we opened the door to our loft apartment to be left breathless by the spectacular view over Lake Taupo that greeted us. We could have stayed here for the whole 4 weeks and never tired of the view. Unfortunately due to a recent chef departure the restaurant was closed the night we stayed but the owners kindly pointed us in the direction of their local competition where we had an excellent meal. After heavy overnight rain we were greeted by a gloriously sunny day and still that spectacular view over the lake. Our apartment was spacious and nicely furnished & the owners were very hospitable. Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank matthew_graham23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, 24 January 2013
Thanks For your review.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the Future
Best Wishes
Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
92 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

If you are looking to get away from it all, to escape the stresses of life, then this is the place to be. Every apartment has stunning views of southern Lake Taupo. A very comfortable home away from home. You won't want to leave. This is not a hotel or motel, it's more like a private residence. We had the lower level end unit, which has a lawn area out the front as well as a balcony. This is an upgrade from the loft unit above. Fully self contained with 2 bathrooms, washing machine and drier. Comfortable bed, and linen. I think this is the position where weddings are held, we were lucky enough to get the prime unit.

Stayed in early Spring, and if you catch the sun in the morning you can sit out on the balcony. It was a bit cold to sit out there otherwise at this time of year. We had the heat pump on which made it cozy and warm inside. I think it would be even nicer to stay in summer when you can sit in the shade of the balcony and look at the gorgeous magical views of the lake.

We did have to bring our own toiletries (as you do anyway), only a couple of small bottles were there, but a box of washing powder was supplied for as much as you needed. The kitchen had good facilities if you want to cook.

We ate in the restaurant one night. Classy enough restaurant, well presented meals. Only one complaint, and that was that the main course arrived about 5 mins after the bread and dips. We had not even got through half of the bread. Not wanting the mains to get cold, were going to have the rest of the bread as 'dessert' except that by that time they were cold & soggy and unappetizing. Bit of a waste, we would have liked more time between the bread and the mains. There were only 3 other tables occupied, I think the chef just had nothing else to do. But maybe they can take this comment on board. Also, the vegetarian option was not truly vegetarian (it had salmon) which might offend a true vegetarian. I don't know why they didn't call it a seafood main?

All in all, we will be back, this is definitely on my list of places to return to.

Room Tip: Every apartment has amazing views, but the ones closest to the lake would be the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank AklTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, 13 September 2012
Thanks for your comments we have taken them on board. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards Fleur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
22.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,489 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
5.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
288 reviews
2.0 mi away
Braxmere
Braxmere
#1 of 2 in Tokaanu
94 reviews
5.7 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreti Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreti Village

Property: Oreti Village
Address: 90 Mission House Drive | Pukawa Bay, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oreti Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oreti Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oreti Village Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing