We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice for a weekend away”
Review of Oreti Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oreti Village
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

this is a nice location for a weekend away, with cabin like accomadations that are ofcourse more like 3-4 star motel. The best things about this place are 1. the view from the rooms are to die for over the lake and beyond, 2. the decks in front of the rooms are great to sit and relax on, listen to the native birds and bush, 3.teh quiet atmosphere here lends itself to relaxation. The main negative thing here is the restaurant which was understaffed on the night we attended (a Saturday) and the food was just not up to par in all respects. If was was coming here to determine if I was going to have a wedding here I would have declined to book unless I would be able to bring my own chef.... all food was either not made from scratch, or overcooked, and something from 20 years ago.

Room Tip: all rooms have a lovely view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Csey2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

We were very disappointed with this review as at no time did the guest voice their disappointment to staff so that the problem could be rectified.
We have done many weddings and many of the guests & weddings Couples tell us that that it is the best wedding food they have had.
Regards Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

78 - 84 of 124 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

A wonderfully tranquil spot with stunning views of Lake Taupo which made for a great weekend getaway. The 2 bedroom apartment was well laid out and pretty well appointed for self catering and the breakfast "basket" option provided a very simple and elegant solution to an early breakfast on the road. The on-site restaurant has wonderful views and a very relaxed ambience, but the food (whilst well prepared) was a little disappointing and I felt over-priced for what was served and as a result I would suggest going down the self catering route, but as previous reviewers have noted - get your supplies before you arrive as the closest decent supermarket is about 15-20min away.
The layout of the adjacent properties gave a high degree of privacy and everything was spotless, the bed was reasonably comfortable and certainly allowed for a decent sleep and the showers had plenty of very hot water and good pressure. Overall a very enjoyable stay that with a few small changes could be fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PterW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thanks for your review. We have taken your comments on board with prices for the restaurant and have now nightly specials , and as Always complimentary vegetables.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Regards Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

What a beautiful place to stay for three nights and have our daughters wedding at this venue.Having the wedding guests to stay at the venue was great, they also fell in love with Oreti. Accommodation works out very reasonable when you can share the apartments with another couple.Nothing was any trouble for the Ashford family, Fleur, you were so helpful with everything.Having a wedding and a dinner the night before and breakfast the next morning everyone agreed the food was just amazing.
We chose this venue without the bride & groom as they live overseas & it was special to see them also love Oreti.Thank you so much the Ashford family

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank commodoreHawkesBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Thanks Richard for your review we look forward to welcoming you and the Happy couple back
Best wishes Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

We stayed at the Oreti Village for two nights. It was very quiet as there was hardly anyone else there. We loved the stunning views from the apartment, the great kitchen facilities which allowed us to self cater, a nice change to eating out and we were also able to catch up with all our washing making full use of the laundry. Although the apartment was spacious and functional, it was also soulless and bland and the bed was not very comfortable. In comparison to other accommodation in New Zealand this apartment was expensive so I was expecting a little more charm, warmth and a definitely a decent bed. With a little more effort it would have been great.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marilynov4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thanks you for your review
We were sorry to hear you were disappointed in our apartments as we generally receive very good feed back. We hope we can welcome you back in the Future.
Regards Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

We stayed at Oreti Village in a loft apartment for a couple of days. The view is amazing. The apartment was clean and well appointed with 2 bedrooms and a single bathroom. Parking is adjacent to each apartment. The Internet charges are steep at $10 for 2 hours but we found this throughout NZ. Mobile phone coverage is virtually nil. The path down to the lake is quite difficult and not very inviting. The stairs at the bottom are broken making it a wasted effort. It should be fixed or closed. Overall this is a very peaceful place to stay. Make sure you get supplies before you get there as there is not much around.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jpfree1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thanks For your review
We now have complimentary WIFI on arrival and the Track has been fixed where we can as its in reserve.
We have a great restaurant on site and a kids menu too.
Look forward to welcoming you back in the future
regards Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

The view from our water's edge apartment balcony was magnificent! The apartments are well-proportioned, and a laundry room was a bonus. Everything about the apartment was great, but the delivered-the-night-before continental breakfast! Save your money - it cost $15 and was worth less than half of that. Go out for breakfast to one of the cafes in Turangi. You won't regret it!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeannieUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thanks For Your review
We have overhauled our Breakfasts, And Apologies you were disappointed with this.
Regards Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2013

As soon as you pull into Oreti Village Resort you know you've found somewhere special. Tucked away from the main tourist areas, it's the perfect place to relax and enjoy beautiful Lake Taupo. Quiet, spacious, well-furnished and equipped, our loft apartment was in of the lakeside cottages, and the view was something to behold - even on the one day it rained, we didn't want to be anywhere else. The resort is close enough to the Turangi shops to make self-catering an easy option, and the on-site restaurant is a good (though rather expensive) option if you want to treat yourself. Our only gripe was the internet charges, though this seems very common throughout NZ. Overall, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The loft apartments have the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karorigrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2013

Thanks For your Review
We are Now offering Complimentary Wifi on Arrival and are looking at Options to address this further in the future.

Regards Fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
24.1 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#8 of 68 in Taupo
2,160 reviews
22.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,648 reviews
5.7 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
309 reviews
5.2 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
187 reviews
5.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreti Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreti Village

Address: 90 Mission House Drive | Pukawa Bay, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: £124 - £181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oreti Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Oreti Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oreti Village Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing