We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Views/comfortable accommodation”
Review of Oreti Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oreti Village
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views/comfortable accommodation”
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on their Tongariro Crossing package which was a very god value. For a reasonable price (by New Zealand standards) we had an apartment, pretty well equipped, breakfast both mornings (more on that below), a packed lunch, transport to and from the parking lot for the Tongariro Crossing arranged through Adventure Headquarters (more on that below) and dinner with wine both nights (more on that below as well).

The apartments themselves are not luxurious but comfortable with a good sized living room and dining room, a kitchen area, bathroom and bedroom (we changed our booking quite late so had to unfortunately, my fault, be put in a two bedroom with two bathrooms - much more room than we needed). Even came with a washer and dryer. We had a large balcony area with lovely lake view. Too bad there were no screens on any of the windows or sliding doors.

Dinner both the first and second nights we were there was surprisingly good. We had pleasant attentive service and, unlike many places where a meal is included, no restrictions on what you could have - the included meal was two courses and a glass of wine or beer. I had the lamb special the first night and it was delicious and I had the duck the second night and enjoyed that as well. Views from the restaurant out over the lake are beautiful.

A breakfast hamper was delivered early that evening as the restaurant is not open except for dinner. Lunch for our hike the next day was also delivered. The breakfast was probably the most disappointing part of the entire package. No real coffee, just instant. Prepackaged cereal, doughy unappetizing croissants, a few frozen pieces of bread - there is a toaster in the kitchen area and they did provide butter, jams and honey. Fresh milk was provided as well as bottled orange juice and yogurt. I appreciate it is difficult to do a breakfast hamper the night before but this was really pretty bad.

The lunch provided wasn't as bad - pretty good sandwich, though not great.

The resort is very well located for the Tongariro crossing. We were only about a half hour drive to the Adventure Headquarters (AH) parking lot. We had been told by our contact at Oreti and noted on the AH website that they would be there in the morning when we arrived to catch the transport for the hike and that we could buy stuff we might need in their store there. Lucky we had everything we needed except water (!!!) as they were closed up tighter than a drum when we arrived. The bus driver had extra water he agreed to sell us or we really would have had a problem. Pretty disappointing and they weren't there when we returned at the end of the day either!

One final beef - although there is free WIFI - as advertised, in fact, they only provide one hour of free WIFI a day and only one person on one device can access it at a time - annoying and unnecessary in this day and age.

All in all, for doing the Tongariro Crossing, this is a good spot to stay - there is a French press in the kitchen area so I suggest you pick up some coffee ahead of time and if you are using AH, don't rely on them for anything but the transport.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Many thanks for your review, positive and negative comments are always good..

We have taken the comments on board about the hamper, and the Lunch. The package was for a "Basic" continental hamper.

You were in fact upgraded to a more spacious apartment.

We are working with Adventure Headquarters who a are a very caring company that we feel comfortable entrusting our clients with- to make sure our clients come safely off the crossing and we will work with them to ensure our clients are better looked after in the future and thank you for your comments on this.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels
Regards
Fleur Ashford
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    36
    10
    2
    0
See reviews for
49
44
Solo
0
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We loved are stay at Oreti Village this accommodation was booked by our agent in the UK so wasn't sure what to expect . We had a loft apartment 10A. You go in and up a few steps , well it nearly made me cry I just wasn't expecting such an amazing view , it was a shock to see the STUNNING panoramic view of the lake. The apartment was large and very spacious, clean and very well appointed with everything you needed. It had its own laundry room with washing machine and dryer . So I was able to do all the laundry . We spent most of out time on the deck just soaking up the view, wonderful bird life and fauna. We were made to feel very welcome when we checked in Oreti village is a really special place . We are so glad we stayed there thank you.

Room Tip: Get a loft apartment for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KKgatrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2014 via mobile

Key attraction here for us was the magnificent seaviews from the apartment balcony...key reason for booking and was not disappointed. Reception was friendly, efficient and helpful. The apartments are well maintained and very clean. The quality of the restaurant was a pleasant surprise, high quality food reasonably priced., with great views being perched on the top of the hill! Definitely recommend.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Zircon2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 January 2014

Just compelled to thank the management for looking after our concern and rewarding us with a no charge for the second night that we booked for but decided to leave early.It should have been a non refundable but the owner understood our reason and even assisted us with alternative accomodation closer to town.
Oreti Village Resort is a amasing place. The ocean view is second to none.We really enjoyed our stay and the apartment was very clean and tidy. We recommend this accomodation to anyone who seeks a peaceful quiet location with amasing views

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajs78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai
2 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2013

The place is very nice, amazing views from the balcony, very peaceful, and have a great restaurant on site. Most i would like to thank for the help i got, as i left my passport, and needed urgent delivery before my flight home. Special efforts were made to make sure i got my passport on time.

Thanks a lot.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dveldor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013 via mobile

Omg where do I start, this place is amazing!!!!! Beautiful views, warm comfy spacious apartments, the staff were very friendly and more than willing to meet our needs. We also were very impressed with the restaurant on site, decadent food, so fresh and full of flavor, our meals looked amazing, the waiter on this night was fantastic. Made us feel special ;) I am more than happy with our whole experience while staying here, and recommend highly. Big thanks to Fluer and her team, you guys are amazing ;)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zexa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Just thanking Oreti Village Resort for an awesome night away to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary. We loved the accommodation, the peacefulness, the amazing views and our daughters entertainment opening and closing the window blinds and running up and down the stairs!! And the dinner was amazing, the food was fantastic, mains were substantial and delicious and my husband, not being a huge chocolate eater, absolutely raved about the chocolate fondant dessert!!
I can't wait until we can visit again!! :))

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jenibecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
22.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,566 reviews
24.2 mi away
Hilton Lake Taupo
Hilton Lake Taupo
#7 of 69 in Taupo
2,057 reviews
5.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
298 reviews
5.7 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
5.2 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreti Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreti Village

Property: Oreti Village
Address: 90 Mission House Drive | Pukawa Bay, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oreti Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Oreti Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oreti Village Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing