We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Oreti Village
Nearby Hotels
Turangi Bridge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$122
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$87
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creel Lodge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motel(Tokaanu)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
88
43
11
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
43
11
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstunning viewslake taupotennis courtsself cateringgreat escapeview from the balconyindoor poolnew zealandspacious apartmentconvenience storecity lifesplit levelfamily weddingon site restaurantpeace and quietoverlooking the lakesouth end
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
85 - 90 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Staying at Oreti Village was one of the highlights of our New Zealand holiday. It was a strange mixture of idyllic relaxation and exhilarating activity. The view from our apartment was stunning and it was so tranquil sitting on our balcony looking over lake Taupo. There was everything we could possibly need in the apartment, including a laundry room with tumble dryer - such a godsend for travellers. Our biggest surprise was the standard of the restaurant which was superb. We had some of the best food of our trip there and in a very romantic setting overlooking a moonlit lake with lovely music playing. We were looked after very well and given a very personal service. Bookings were made for us to do the Tongario Crossing and white-water rafting, which we really enjoyed, despite being well into our sixties and beyond! We really loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CarolandRon738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stunning views of Lake Taupo. A great place to get away from it all. Apartments are self contained, very well equipped and huge. Everything was spotless. There is a restaurant onsite. Food was great. It is a bit of a drive to the nearest town 15- 20 mins. You can stock up on supplies etc at Turangi where you will find a well stocked supermarket. Suggest doing this before heading to Oreti.
Deck area is great a lovely place to sit out and enjoy the views.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms face lake.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 49chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent christmas in the Honeymoon apartment of Oreti Village. The apartment was big and well equipped. There was laundrymachine, dishwasher, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, jacuzzi. The view from the balcony and from the masterbedroom was just amazing. It was great to wake up to see it.
Place was quite easy to find but little distant. Although I think this place is for relaxation. Tongariro alpine crossing was within nice distance and you could get shuttleinformation and all from the reseption. There was also a breakfast opportunity, which was nice, but I think it was little pricy. All together, it was great place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on their Tongariro Crossing package which was a very god value. For a reasonable price (by New Zealand standards) we had an apartment, pretty well equipped, breakfast both mornings (more on that below), a packed lunch, transport to and from the parking lot for the Tongariro Crossing arranged through Adventure Headquarters (more on that below) and dinner with wine both nights (more on that below as well).

The apartments themselves are not luxurious but comfortable with a good sized living room and dining room, a kitchen area, bathroom and bedroom (we changed our booking quite late so had to unfortunately, my fault, be put in a two bedroom with two bathrooms - much more room than we needed). Even came with a washer and dryer. We had a large balcony area with lovely lake view. Too bad there were no screens on any of the windows or sliding doors.

Dinner both the first and second nights we were there was surprisingly good. We had pleasant attentive service and, unlike many places where a meal is included, no restrictions on what you could have - the included meal was two courses and a glass of wine or beer. I had the lamb special the first night and it was delicious and I had the duck the second night and enjoyed that as well. Views from the restaurant out over the lake are beautiful.

A breakfast hamper was delivered early that evening as the restaurant is not open except for dinner. Lunch for our hike the next day was also delivered. The breakfast was probably the most disappointing part of the entire package. No real coffee, just instant. Prepackaged cereal, doughy unappetizing croissants, a few frozen pieces of bread - there is a toaster in the kitchen area and they did provide butter, jams and honey. Fresh milk was provided as well as bottled orange juice and yogurt. I appreciate it is difficult to do a breakfast hamper the night before but this was really pretty bad.

The lunch provided wasn't as bad - pretty good sandwich, though not great.

The resort is very well located for the Tongariro crossing. We were only about a half hour drive to the Adventure Headquarters (AH) parking lot. We had been told by our contact at Oreti and noted on the AH website that they would be there in the morning when we arrived to catch the transport for the hike and that we could buy stuff we might need in their store there. Lucky we had everything we needed except water (!!!) as they were closed up tighter than a drum when we arrived. The bus driver had extra water he agreed to sell us or we really would have had a problem. Pretty disappointing and they weren't there when we returned at the end of the day either!

One final beef - although there is free WIFI - as advertised, in fact, they only provide one hour of free WIFI a day and only one person on one device can access it at a time - annoying and unnecessary in this day and age.

All in all, for doing the Tongariro Crossing, this is a good spot to stay - there is a French press in the kitchen area so I suggest you pick up some coffee ahead of time and if you are using AH, don't rely on them for anything but the transport.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Many thanks for your review, positive and negative comments are always good..

We have taken the comments on board about the hamper, and the Lunch. The package was for a "Basic" continental hamper.

You were in fact upgraded to a more spacious apartment.

We are working with Adventure Headquarters who a are a very caring company that we feel comfortable entrusting our clients with- to make sure our clients come safely off the crossing and we will work with them to ensure our clients are better looked after in the future and thank you for your comments on this.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels
Regards
Fleur Ashford
Assistant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

We loved are stay at Oreti Village this accommodation was booked by our agent in the UK so wasn't sure what to expect . We had a loft apartment 10A. You go in and up a few steps , well it nearly made me cry I just wasn't expecting such an amazing view , it was a shock to see the STUNNING panoramic view of the lake. The apartment was large and very spacious, clean and very well appointed with everything you needed. It had its own laundry room with washing machine and dryer . So I was able to do all the laundry . We spent most of out time on the deck just soaking up the view, wonderful bird life and fauna. We were made to feel very welcome when we checked in Oreti village is a really special place . We are so glad we stayed there thank you.

Room Tip: Get a loft apartment for the view.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KKgatrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews