We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning views to wake up to” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oreti Village

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Oreti Village
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Stunning views to wake up to”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Well set out two bedroom apartment. Nicely furnished and good space to sit back and relax. Everything you need on hand.

Couple of little things would make it Excellent - shame that indoor pool isn't heated. Would have been great to swim but a no goer when outside temperature is 0 degrees.

The single beds in the second bedroom are a bit past their best and tend to slope - time for a replace I think.

Room Tip: The apartments all have great views so you should be fine whatever you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mtbotrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    35
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
48
41
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We managed to have a large apartment to ourselves.. very clean, modern and fantastic views. very quiet, which we like, even though there was a wedding on. We ate at the restaurant which was very good, there is nowhere else within walking distance. All the staff were very friendly.. all in all could fault. Great location for travelling around nearby and great place to come back to each night.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sn0wbunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

Situated on Lake Tapou we had wonderful views of the lake and some amazing sunrises. Our three bedroom house had plenty of room, was clean and full kitchen facilities allowed us to choose to stay in and dine which is helpful when travelling with young children.
About 20 minutes from Tapou but worth it. The resort mainly a wedding venue in summer months but found it to be great getaway in autumn .

Room Tip: Had a three bedroom house with full kitchen facilities.On the lower level which had unobstructed o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kym H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Staying at Oreti Village was one of the highlights of our New Zealand holiday. It was a strange mixture of idyllic relaxation and exhilarating activity. The view from our apartment was stunning and it was so tranquil sitting on our balcony looking over lake Taupo. There was everything we could possibly need in the apartment, including a laundry room with tumble dryer - such a godsend for travellers. Our biggest surprise was the standard of the restaurant which was superb. We had some of the best food of our trip there and in a very romantic setting overlooking a moonlit lake with lovely music playing. We were looked after very well and given a very personal service. Bookings were made for us to do the Tongario Crossing and white-water rafting, which we really enjoyed, despite being well into our sixties and beyond! We really loved this place and would go back in a heartbeat if the opportunity arose.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolandRon738
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stunning views of Lake Taupo. A great place to get away from it all. Apartments are self contained, very well equipped and huge. Everything was spotless. There is a restaurant onsite. Food was great. It is a bit of a drive to the nearest town 15- 20 mins. You can stock up on supplies etc at Turangi where you will find a well stocked supermarket. Suggest doing this before heading to Oreti.
Deck area is great a lovely place to sit out and enjoy the views.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: All rooms face lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 49chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oulu, Finland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We spent christmas in the Honeymoon apartment of Oreti Village. The apartment was big and well equipped. There was laundrymachine, dishwasher, two bedrooms, two bathrooms, jacuzzi. The view from the balcony and from the masterbedroom was just amazing. It was great to wake up to see it.
Place was quite easy to find but little distant. Although I think this place is for relaxation. Tongariro alpine crossing was within nice distance and you could get shuttleinformation and all from the reseption. There was also a breakfast opportunity, which was nice, but I think it was little pricy. All together, it was great place to stay.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
233 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for two nights on their Tongariro Crossing package which was a very god value. For a reasonable price (by New Zealand standards) we had an apartment, pretty well equipped, breakfast both mornings (more on that below), a packed lunch, transport to and from the parking lot for the Tongariro Crossing arranged through Adventure Headquarters (more on that below) and dinner with wine both nights (more on that below as well).

The apartments themselves are not luxurious but comfortable with a good sized living room and dining room, a kitchen area, bathroom and bedroom (we changed our booking quite late so had to unfortunately, my fault, be put in a two bedroom with two bathrooms - much more room than we needed). Even came with a washer and dryer. We had a large balcony area with lovely lake view. Too bad there were no screens on any of the windows or sliding doors.

Dinner both the first and second nights we were there was surprisingly good. We had pleasant attentive service and, unlike many places where a meal is included, no restrictions on what you could have - the included meal was two courses and a glass of wine or beer. I had the lamb special the first night and it was delicious and I had the duck the second night and enjoyed that as well. Views from the restaurant out over the lake are beautiful.

A breakfast hamper was delivered early that evening as the restaurant is not open except for dinner. Lunch for our hike the next day was also delivered. The breakfast was probably the most disappointing part of the entire package. No real coffee, just instant. Prepackaged cereal, doughy unappetizing croissants, a few frozen pieces of bread - there is a toaster in the kitchen area and they did provide butter, jams and honey. Fresh milk was provided as well as bottled orange juice and yogurt. I appreciate it is difficult to do a breakfast hamper the night before but this was really pretty bad.

The lunch provided wasn't as bad - pretty good sandwich, though not great.

The resort is very well located for the Tongariro crossing. We were only about a half hour drive to the Adventure Headquarters (AH) parking lot. We had been told by our contact at Oreti and noted on the AH website that they would be there in the morning when we arrived to catch the transport for the hike and that we could buy stuff we might need in their store there. Lucky we had everything we needed except water (!!!) as they were closed up tighter than a drum when we arrived. The bus driver had extra water he agreed to sell us or we really would have had a problem. Pretty disappointing and they weren't there when we returned at the end of the day either!

One final beef - although there is free WIFI - as advertised, in fact, they only provide one hour of free WIFI a day and only one person on one device can access it at a time - annoying and unnecessary in this day and age.

All in all, for doing the Tongariro Crossing, this is a good spot to stay - there is a French press in the kitchen area so I suggest you pick up some coffee ahead of time and if you are using AH, don't rely on them for anything but the transport.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleur A, Manager at Oreti Village, responded to this review, 17 February 2014
Many thanks for your review, positive and negative comments are always good..

We have taken the comments on board about the hamper, and the Lunch. The package was for a "Basic" continental hamper.

You were in fact upgraded to a more spacious apartment.

We are working with Adventure Headquarters who a are a very caring company that we feel comfortable entrusting our clients with- to make sure our clients come safely off the crossing and we will work with them to ensure our clients are better looked after in the future and thank you for your comments on this.

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels
Regards
Fleur Ashford
Assistant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
22.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
23.5 mi away
The Reef Resort
The Reef Resort
#4 of 71 in Taupo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
5.6 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
2.0 mi away
Braxmere
Braxmere
#1 of 2 in Tokaanu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
5.7 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oreti Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oreti Village

Property: Oreti Village
Address: 90 Mission House Drive | Pukawa Bay, Turangi 3381, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Oreti Village 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Oreti Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oreti Village Hotel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing