We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT VALUE”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Even though I left my booking to the very last moment my host could not have been more obliging. I arrived to a friendly welcome and was shown to a very clean and relatively spacious unit with a park view. On site I had ample space for my boat and was lucky enough to use the fish cleaning room following a days fishing. For kids there is room to play and a spa to relax in. All things considered this is great value accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (215)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 215 reviews

Reviewed 9 March 2013

We stayed in unit 8 which sleeps 7, and were very comfortable. Excellent quality linens, super clean, lovely leather sofas, good stuff all round. It also has a private hot tub room which you can reserve and a place to wash your car, which were nice touches.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fandingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The motel was within easy walking distance from town. I was surprised that a lot of the shops closed up early on Saturday afternoon. The owners of the motel are very friendly. I was traveling with a group and she had made arrangements for our dinner at the motel. The food was exceptional, especially the Tiramisu dessert. The rooms were very clean, quiet and plenty of room and I had a great night's sleep. Back in the States I call these Ma and Pa motels and in my opinion they are far better than the chain motels or hotels. I enjoy the friendliness of speaking with the owners and learning about the locals.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jmnteddyLakeCity_FL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Thank you Settlers Motel, Turangi. You made our weekend very pleasant. A group of us had travelled to Turangi to take part in the Taupo Length of the Lake Relay. We arrived to a lovely, quiet, clean, tidy, cosy motel. Helen and Wayne are awesome people and very friendly. We will definitely use Settlers again. Thanks from the Cambridge Cougar Team.

Room Tip: Unit 8 was closest to the entrance, upstairs/downstairs family unit that suited us 6 ladies perfectl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moira K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013 via mobile

Settlers motel is centrally located near the town center. The owners are super nice and gave us a ton of info on local hikes, the crossing, food, etc. She booked our shuttle to Tongariro which will pick you up right on the street. Bed was pretty comfy, but a little smaller than a queen, lots of pillows, big kitchen area, OK water pressure, but nice hot water. Free, limited wifi. The decor is a little outdated, but it is very clean and everything works. They warned of hearing the fire station alarm, but never was a problem for us. No problems during our stay, but I have full confidence that the owners would have taken care of anything.
Amenities that we didn't partake of was trampoline, fish cleaning room, car washing equip, spa bath, laundry (for a fee).
Ate at parklands across the street which was decent for the price. So much to do near Turangi, we could have easily stayed longer! If I am ever back in NZ, I WILL be back to Turangi and Settlers!!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ElKochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

Owners Helen & Wayne are super friendly and gave us maps and tips for viewing the mountains. You can expect retro but clean accommodation. Close to town where you can get bakery treats, use the New World supermarket for your forgotten dental floss and a well stocked tourist info bureau. For all of this, the low prices at Settlers are just right.
I would vote for Air-con as your next upgrade :-)

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amber B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

Settlers Motel was the perfect location for our trip as we came to Turangi to go white water rafting. The owners were very helpful, suggested some walks we could take if we had spare time and even loaned us some towels to dry off with for after we went rafting, and that was after we had checked out!. OK so you have to bring your own shampoo - but who doesn't pack some anyway.
It was clean, and comfortable which at the end of the day is what you want.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GabrielleandShawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
68 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
20.4 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
294 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Address: 24 Te Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: £57 - £78 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make Settlers Motel your home to "stay and play" while you enjoy your Turangi Tongariro experience. Within 1-2 hours drive are the major tourist attractions of the Rotorua & Taupo regions. Turangi is on the North-Eastern boundary of the Tongariro National Park world renowned the 'best one day walk in New Zealand', The Tongariro Alpine Crossing. During the winter season we also have the Whakapapa Ski Fields (the biggest in New Zealand). A few minutes walk from our Motel is the famous Tongariro River, home to Trout Fishing, Kayaking, White-Water Rafting and beautiful walks. We can arrange and ticket any of the activities available in this area, including shuttle buses to the Mountain for Skiing or hiking. Our amenities include our Hot Spa, guest laundry & drying room, in room DVD players and Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing