We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A really Nice Motel”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Waihi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A really Nice Motel”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was not the first time we have stayed here, and the manager remembered that when we booked in. As before, she made us welcome and provided us with information on local walks and other activities we might like to try. Our unit was spotless, warm and comfortable, with all the facilities that you’d expect from a more expensive motel.

The motel is ideally placed for those into outdoor activities, such as trout fishing and hiking. Turangi is situated at the mouth of the Tongariro River where it enters Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park and the Kaimanawa Ranges are within easy driving distance. For those keen on mountain biking, the Tongariro River Trail has recently been upgraded to a shared use trail, offering hours of excellent cycling or walking directly from the motel entrance. No need to drive anywhere, and as a bonus, a good shopping centre is only a 5 minute walk away.
I would thoroughly recommend this place for those wanting comfortable accommodation at reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side will quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Well-Weathered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We really appreciate your continued support of Settlers Motel and love that you are so happy to share your experience with others. We endeavour to provide our guests with positive memories of their stay.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    76
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
63
79
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Comfortable and hospitable. Excellent proprietors. A motel which anticipated people might like to cook and provided good quality facilities and crockery. Good Tongariro river walk at the end of the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeoffWls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review and comments, Geoff. We are pleased you had the time to enjoy the Tongariro River Track walk before you left Turangi. There are certainly plenty of opportunities to enjoy walking the various tracks within close proximity to Settlers Motel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gardiner, Montana, United States
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

My boyfriend and I visited Turangi for a fly fishing trip. The Settler's Motel is clean, tidy, and has their own kitchens for cooking. The owners were very friendly and will even smoke your fresh caught trout for you! This hotel is a perfect location for checking out the mountain or spending a day on the river. The rooms had everything you need for a nice quite vacation and we hope to return again someday!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Deja E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with us. We are pleased to have been able to provide you with some happy memories of your fishing trip to Turangi. It is always appreciated when travellers take the time to share their experience with others in the form of positive reviews.Hopefully you will get the chance to return to NZ and especially Turangi in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manukau, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

My husband and I have stayed at Settlers Motel multiple times this ski season. Its a 45 minute drive to the mountain. The bed are comfortable and the place is clean - everything you want when you aren't spending a whole lot of time sitting in your room. Helen and Wayne are wonderful hosts that are happy to answer every question - they are extremely knowledgeable about the surrounding area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AbsNIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 4 October 2013
We really appreciate your endorsement of Settlers Motel and the fact that you have enjoyed our hospitality on many occasions over the last couple of years.You have certainly been lucky with your choice of times to come for the best skiing this season. We look forward to welcoming you back many more times in the future. Thanks for choosing to stay at Settlers Motel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

#I loved Settlers Turangi and was totally gobsmacked by the attention the motelliers gave me and my boys. Free snow boards for the mountain, helpful directions to Tokaanu Hot Pools plus FREE towels to take with us.
#Hot bubbly spa included in Settlers Motel room pricing, heaps of coffee sachets for me, extra milk and cocoa for the boys aged 32, 9 and 6.
#Not to mention the stunning spring flowers; a credit to the gardner owners. Tulips, daffs, erlicheer to mention but a few.
#Very comfy and warm accommodation (electric blankets on every bed and heaters in every room) with extra blankies provided if needed and a separate, well-lit sleeping area upstairs for the little kids.
#Free local newspapers and pamphlets for activities in the area.
#Just a minutes walk away all the takeaway outlets you could hope for - bakeries, Maccas, KFC, New World, Several different Petrol Servos, intimate restaurants; the list goes on.
#Liquour outlets for those so inclined a stroll away - no need to put a key in the ignition for anything unless you are heading on to the snow (bet they lay that on too when its colder :)
#Loved the help and guidance re Waiouru Army Museum Helen, it was awesome.

thanx Helen and Wayne. We will be back!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank morts2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
We really appreciate your very positive review of your recent experience at Settlers Motel. It was a delight to see the excitement of the boys when we loaned you the boards and they realised they were going to the snow. We look forward to welcoming you back. Perhaps the boys would enjoy a rafting adventure next time!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We will never book here again. Arrived after a long drive and experienced the most 'unwelcome' welcome ever. We decided not to stay, cancelled the booking and stayed elsewhere for the weekend. Imagine our surprise when we checked our credit card and saw that we had been charged for the whole weekend! After contacting the owners and suggesting a compromise, none was forthcoming. It was a very disappointing experience, especially as it was a weekend planned to celebrate a 50th birthday. We visit Turangi regularly and unfortunately won't recommend this place to any of our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Frieda1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Paul, your perception seems to be at odds with the rest of our reviews so I am guessing that readers of this review will realise that there was more to this than your review suggests. You should not be surprised that the whole weekend was charged as you were advised this when you chose to check out early. This was also conveyed by email with a full explanation. The simple fact was that a contract was formed and the debt existed. Our actions in this regard have the full support of the Motel Association of NZ. Communication, courtesy and consideration should be a two way thing. We too had a long day, lengthened while we awaited your very late arrival, however we would welcome you back here so you can actually experience our hospitality experience properly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Simply our best accommodation experience anywhere. The cottage was luxurious, spacious and suitably warm. The kids loved their own private area upstairs. The beds were firm and extremely comfortable. Much thought had been given to the outfitting of the kitchen with attention to detail such as an oven glove and sharp knives. But the point of difference was the wonderful hosts who went above and beyond in many ways - loaning the children sliders for the snow and towels for the local hot pools, volunteering to dry our damp clothes and shoes - nothing was too much trouble. A most positive stay and a motel we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kylie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 31 July 2013
Thank you Kylie. We are pleased that your family enjoyed their holiday with us and that we were able to help with the snow experience for them. It was a joy to hear the fun and laughter from happy children. Maybe we will see you back here sometime. Summer in Turangi is also and exciting experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
20.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 24 Te Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make Settlers Motel your home to "stay and play" while you enjoy your Turangi Tongariro experience. Within 1-2 hours drive are the major tourist attractions of the Rotorua & Taupo regions. Turangi is on the North-Eastern boundary of the Tongariro National Park world renowned the 'best one day walk in New Zealand', The Tongariro Alpine Crossing. During the winter season we also have the Whakapapa Ski Fields (the biggest in New Zealand). A few minutes walk from our Motel is the famous Tongariro River, home to Trout Fishing, Kayaking, White-Water Rafting and beautiful walks. We can arrange and ticket any of the activities available in this area, including shuttle buses to the Mountain for Skiing or hiking. Our amenities include our Hot Spa, guest laundry & drying room, in room DVD players and Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing