We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here.”
Review of Settlers Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Settlers Motel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You must stay here.”
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Just back from a 3 week vacation in NZ and this was by far the best motel we stayed at. Both Helen and Wayne were very friendly and went out of their way to make us feel welcome. They even put up the Scottish flags for us which was a nice touch. The rooms were clean and the spa was just what we needed after the 19.5k Alpine crossing. Thanks for your hospitality, appreciate all what you did for us.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ScottyMac72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
We are pleased that Settlers Motel made it to the top of you list of accommodation providers during your NZ holiday. We are glad that you went home with such fond memories of the Turangi area and all it has to offer and that your have shared your thoughts is such a positive way. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    76
    15
    3
    4
See reviews for
63
79
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pemberton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Good location close to town and river walk, nice clean unit with plenty of space. Owners were friendly and helpful. We did the Tongariro Alpine Crossing while there and were very thankful for the spa when we got back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derek W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 8 December 2013
Thank you for your lovely review. It was our pleasure to host you both and we are pleased you left Turangi with such fond memories of Settlers Motel and the walks nearby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Epsom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Settlers Motel is a lovely site, easily found and reception is welcoming. We had time spent on recommendations for outings, restaurants, walks etc in the area. The motel room is very clean with ample facilities to cook for ourselves (supermarket within walking distance). The bed is the most comfortable we have experienced in 2 weeks and we are sleeping very well with no problem with traffic noise as the motel is set back quite a way from the road. The shower is great, lots of hot water.The towels are lovely, spotless and fluffy. We have used the laundry facility which was great, free wash and good drier, the owner even dried some clothes for us in an industrial drier for no charge...how kind. We have a lovely verandah with table and chairs for watching the birds and the resident cats. We have had a really bad weather day for tourism but the motel has provided us with facilities to have a warm environment in which to relax as you need it sometimes on long trips. We could have had a spa but preferred to watch the extremes of weather. We did a river walk today which was interesting before the weather broke but scaredy cats like me should be accompanied if they do not like heights, there is an uncomfortable section at the top of the highest mountain ever, I lie, it is a high hill.

Room Tip: We loved motel room 3 as we could look out on the front age and watch the birds etc
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MumandEleanor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 13 November 2013
Thanks so much - what a lovely review! We are pleased you both enjoyed your visit to Turangi despite the weather not allowing much outdoor activity without getting very wet. Being stuck indoors during the thunderstorm obviously did not stop you from having an enjoyable indoor day. We agree with you that veranda in Unit 3 is ideal spot to relax and watch the Tui, Bellbird, Waxeye and other local birdlife. We look forward to your return visit, when hopefully the weather will be better and you will be able to enjoy the outdoors up close.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Missouri
Level Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed one night at the Settlers Motel. The host was helpful, offering different things to do in the area, although she was very reluctant to give a restaurant recommendation. The room was two-story. It was very dated, but clean. The upstairs bedroom was an A-frame room with very little ceiling space. If I'd sat up quickly at night I would have cracked my head on the ceiling. My traveling companions were very dismayed that there was no coffee pot, and the only outlet in the bathroom did not work. Positives included a large hot tub that is a short walk from the room and a nice river walk nearby. Overall, the hotel was ordinary, but fine for one night and a good price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 48andHappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
We appreciate you sharing your thoughts when reviewing Settlers Motel. We aim to please all our guests are pleased that you found the information we provided about things to do in the area helpful. There was certainly no reluctance in recommending a restaurant for evening dining as all the nearby restaurants can be recommended without hesitation and we prefer our guests to peruse the menus provided in the room so they can make their own informed decision depending on their taste. Had we known a coffee pot was required we would have provided one, together with coffee to use in it. Similarly, now that we know that the power outlet in the bathroom of the unit was not working, we have been able to have this problem resolved. Thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 October 2013

The Settlers is clean tidy and the hosts are vewry friendly and accommodating, would highly recommend this Motel to anyone. The rooms were very warm and comfortable. The noise from the main highway was very minimal, we slept very soundly. Felt like home.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Thank you Julie. We are very pleased that you made a last minute decision to stay with us and that we met your expectations.We look forward to having you back here next time you have business in this area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waihi
Level Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

This was not the first time we have stayed here, and the manager remembered that when we booked in. As before, she made us welcome and provided us with information on local walks and other activities we might like to try. Our unit was spotless, warm and comfortable, with all the facilities that you’d expect from a more expensive motel.

The motel is ideally placed for those into outdoor activities, such as trout fishing and hiking. Turangi is situated at the mouth of the Tongariro River where it enters Lake Taupo, and Tongariro National Park and the Kaimanawa Ranges are within easy driving distance. For those keen on mountain biking, the Tongariro River Trail has recently been upgraded to a shared use trail, offering hours of excellent cycling or walking directly from the motel entrance. No need to drive anywhere, and as a bonus, a good shopping centre is only a 5 minute walk away.
I would thoroughly recommend this place for those wanting comfortable accommodation at reasonable cost.

Room Tip: Rooms on the east side will quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Well-Weathered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
We really appreciate your continued support of Settlers Motel and love that you are so happy to share your experience with others. We endeavour to provide our guests with positive memories of their stay.Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Comfortable and hospitable. Excellent proprietors. A motel which anticipated people might like to cook and provided good quality facilities and crockery. Good Tongariro river walk at the end of the street.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeoffWls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen S, Owner at Settlers Motel, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Thank you for your review and comments, Geoff. We are pleased you had the time to enjoy the Tongariro River Track walk before you left Turangi. There are certainly plenty of opportunities to enjoy walking the various tracks within close proximity to Settlers Motel. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
20.6 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
0.1 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.3 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Settlers Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Settlers Motel

Property: Settlers Motel
Address: 24 Te Arahori Street, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Settlers Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Make Settlers Motel your home to "stay and play" while you enjoy your Turangi Tongariro experience. Within 1-2 hours drive are the major tourist attractions of the Rotorua & Taupo regions. Turangi is on the North-Eastern boundary of the Tongariro National Park world renowned the 'best one day walk in New Zealand', The Tongariro Alpine Crossing. During the winter season we also have the Whakapapa Ski Fields (the biggest in New Zealand). A few minutes walk from our Motel is the famous Tongariro River, home to Trout Fishing, Kayaking, White-Water Rafting and beautiful walks. We can arrange and ticket any of the activities available in this area, including shuttle buses to the Mountain for Skiing or hiking. Our amenities include our Hot Spa, guest laundry & drying room, in room DVD players and Sky TV with 50+ channels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Settlers Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing