We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in New Zealand!”
Review of Ika Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Turangi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Ika Lodge
Ranked #6 of 9 Turangi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Having spent a month travelling NZ including staying at the Wellington Club and Larnach Castle, the breakfasts Margaret provided excelled them all. The room was also always stocked with delicious home made biscuits AND there was a decanter of port!

Margaret and Kenneth were incredibly helpful at short notice in booking transport for the Tongariro Crossing, providing packed lunches for that day and recommending a wonderful lakeside restaurant for dinner.

The room is spotlessly clean, Ika Lodge is in a lovely setting, down a little lane from the road, so no traffic noise and with a beautiful stream a few steps from the back gate. It's really worth walking along the stream/river.

If you're planning on doing the Tongariro Crossing, I recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RGB8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2013

Many thanks, we like to think that breakfast at Ika Lodge is a meal that sends our guests off on the right foot for another day of exploration, it is nice to know that it is enjoyed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 10 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2013

We had a large modern, clean room, with cookies and tea on arrival, and port with glasses in a small anteroom for use later. The bed is large and comfortable, and the bath and shower are excellent. There is excellent wi-fi, and plenty of room for your laptop at the dining table--if you brought one. Margaret makes an excellent made-to order breakfast, if you are able to eat more after the yogurt, fresh fruit, cereal, toast, croissants, coffee, tea, homemade banana bread, and other delights at the breakfast table.

The recommendation for dinner of a place on Lake Taupo was excellent. We only stayed overnight, but would certainly return if we were ever visiting the area. There is a small fixed charge for use of a credit card, so if you are staying only one night, you might want to bring along some cash to avoid it. This was unexpected, though, and the first time we had encountered it in New Zealand.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2013

Thank you for your comments, we have analysed the cost of credit card transactions and realised that with a small operation the costs were disproportionate, a number of similar operations to ours do not accept credit cards and also most hotels, airlines and petrol/gas stations levy a surcharge. We faced the choice of perhaps increasing our rates, which have been fixed for nealy 4 years, not accepting credit cards or levying a small charge, on an average account less than 2%, and we chose the later as it provides guests an option and hopefully does not distract from the experience of Ika Lodge.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2013

Our family of 4 stayed in the apartment and from the moment we arrived we knew we had made a perfect choice!! We were greeted by Margaret and Ken, who are the perfect hosts .. Always there for advice and assistance, but never in the way of privacy. The apartment is stunning, with a warm, welcoming lounge, great kitchen and a master bedroom with the most stunning views out to the decking and beautiful, lush private garden. The apartment is right on the banks of the river, so you hear the tranquil sound of water flowing all the time. The beds are lovely and comfortable and even the 2nd bedroom has king singles. We loved sitting outside on the decking at every opportunity. This is a fabulous location, so quiet and peaceful and surrounded by the beautiful nature that makes NZ so wonderful. It is a great base for the Tongoriro crossing, rafting and walking. The walk along the river is also lovely. This was quite simply perfect and a wonderful place to stay on the final leg of our journey!! We will never forget this place which is in a beautiful part of NZ!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenzie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2013

We are please that you and your family enjoyed your stay and that you were able to enjoy the peaceful environment and some of the outdoor activities we offer in the area. It is very pleasing to hear that the effort we put in is appreciated and makes it all wothwhile.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Me and my wife stayed only for one night in December at Ika Lodge but it was a very pleasant stay. Margaret and Kenneth were lovely hosts and they helped us with preparations for Tongariro Crossing. Unfortunately, the weather turned out to be so bad we couldn't go but luckily there were other activities available. Margaret suggested we should try river rafting with a local company and she helped us to arrange it with a very short notice.

The lodge is very charming and has a great location, rooms are nice and the breakfast very delicious. What else you could wish for?

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayP55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ikalodge, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2013

Thank you and I am afraid mountain weather is unpredictable but we are glad we could suggest alternatives that highlighted the variety available in the Tongariro/Turangi area to our first Finnish guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2012

We only stayed one night but I wish it had been longer. We were two couples who were referred here by another Turangi establishment that was full, and we are happy we were. Kenneth and Margaret's home, literally on the banks of the Tongariro River and near a great hiking trail, is spotlessly clean and beautiful. Their breakfast was the best one of our three week trip through New Zealand and the place where Margaret made our dinner reservation was excellent. Kenneth was very helpful in planning our driving route. Our stay at Ika Lodge was a highlight of our trip.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marsha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2012

The owners, Kenneth and Margaret, went way above and beyond for us! The week before we arrived to hike the Tongariro Alpine Crossing, the volcano erupted and the crossing was closed down. After a few emails back and forth, we decided to come anyway. We could not be more pleased with our decision! By the time we arrived, they had figured out alternative walks that would basically equate with the crossing, in time, difficulty, and landscape. We enjoyed talking to them about the area and local restaurants (as well as Auckland ones!). They made all of our dinner reservations for us, and they never steered us wrong. The walks they selected were also perfect. Breakfasts, as noted by other guests, are astonishingly delicious and enormous. The house is comfortable and truly felt welcoming. Despite the volcano, this was a perfect spot!

Room Tip: Both rooms are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MuseoffireAD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whylla, Owner at Ika Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2012

Thank you for choosing Ika Lodge, it was lovely to have met fellow foodies and although disappointing not to be able to do the crossing we were glad that you enjoyed some of the other fantastic walks and scenery available in the Turangi/Tongariro area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2012

This house is certainly beautiful and well appointed. It's location, adjacent to the walking track along the Tongariro river is handy for walks and still close to town. The breakfasts are probably the best we've encountered in New Zealand and we've had a few good ones. The rooms are spotlessly clean the guest lounge is very comfortable and attractive. The hosts, Ken and Margaret, were very helpful with local information and warmly welcoming. They made it very easy for us on the evening we chose to eat our own food quietly in the dining room instead of going out but when we did eat out they had advice about local restaurants.

Room Tip: I think the downstairs rooms are spacious and comfortable. Unfortunately the upstairs room is rather...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bjerkana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turangi hotels
0.1 mi away
Tui Lodge
Tui Lodge
#3 of 9 in Turangi
16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
128 reviews
0.1 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
308 reviews
0.6 mi away
Anglers Paradise Motel
Anglers Paradise Motel
#9 of 9 in Turangi
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ika Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ika Lodge

Address: 155 Taupahi Rd, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Turangi
Price Range: £83 - £111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ika Lodge provides boutique accommodation, in either two B&B Suites or a 2 bedroom self contained apartment on the banks of the Tongariro River - a perfect base for fishing the best rainbow trout rivers in the world, bush and mountain walks, skiing and the world famous Tongariro Crossing walk. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing