We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hostess and lovely accommodation!”

At The Tongariro Riverside B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
At The Tongariro Riverside B&B
Ranked #5 of 8 Turangi B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Wonderful hostess and lovely accommodation!”
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Spent two nights with Maryke in her lovely home. The electricity went out the first night and Maryke went out of her way to make our stay completely comfortable!!! She was constantly positive, friendly, and upbeat and even browned our breakfast toast over the fire! The electricity came back on the next day. Maryke's home is spotless and she knows the area so well! She works at the tourist information center and can provide all kinds of helpful tips about local activities. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Only one room available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelforfunSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Port Macquarie, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2013

Great stay room with fantastic en suite perfect after a long walk. That view out over the river & up the mountains I just loved it.
Maryke was a perfect host, as a single lady traveller I was very comfortable. There is a sunroom/verandah adjacent for use. The sight and sound of the river delightful, as was Maryke's suggestions for walks, attractions and breakfast served in the main house. I will be staying again next visit to the Nth Island for sure. Thanks Maryke

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tracyallen222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Great place to stay or break your journey. We had a lovely en-suite room, overlooking the river and access to the balcony and garden.
Maryke was a perfect host and very knowledgeable about the area.
Lovely breakfast.

Great place for walking (volcano tracks), fishing and cycling - skiing in winter.

Thanks for a lovely stay - hope we will be back soon.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cctlgw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2012

This accomodation is a self contained, ensuite room attached to the main house and with it's own private deck and sitting out area. The property is situated on the opposite bank of the river from the town but only a few minutes drive as opposed to yards as the crow flies. We were welcomed by Maryke who proceeded to make us a pot of tea accompanied by homemade muffins. The bed is luxurious! The room has aircon, a fridge and tea and coffee making facilities with bottles of wine for purchase at a very reasonable rate. The continental breakfast is served in the family kitchen/dining room. This was plentiful and varied and the homemade jams were delicious. We benefitted from Maryke's local knowledge and used a restaurant that she both recommended and booked for us which was excellent. An added bonus was free wifi. This is a great place to stay and, because they only have one room available, you receive the hosts undivided attention. Thank you Maryke and Leslie.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tednsandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2010

A very comfortable and enjoyable stay. The hosts were very friendly and informative about the local area. We enjoyed the access to the garden and the conservatory and appreciated the provision of good TV channels
and WiFi. The beakfast was slightly disappointing, but overall the stay was very good value for money. This would be a particularly good bet for fishing enthusiasts and anyone who likes idyllic views of trout fishing with mountains as a backdrop.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RickyAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2010

They have one room available with ensuite, complete with tea and coffee making faciities and a small frig. It features a comfortable sitting area outside on the deck, either inside or outside and a short walking trail by the river to a large park. Just minutes outside of Turangi. There are a variety of restaurants in town and a small shopping plaza for your convenience!
They provide you with a delicious continental breakfast.
An enjoyable and very comfortable stay with great hosts!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stoltzfuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
berkshire, england
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2009

Fly fish in your slippers was the claim and I'd agree! Leslie and Maryke have a wonderful home in a location to be envied on the banks of the Tongariro river. We had a super welcome from our lovely hosts and our room was something special with a view that makes you go 'WOW'. We were made to feel like long lost friends and this was a wonderful 3 days in Turangi. Maryke showed me the local fishing pools and gave me some excellent tips and together with Leslie we were given suggestions for local walks in the national park.

We also enjoyed a smoked trout pie with a fish I caught early one morning.

Lovely place, lovely people and one of if not the highlight of our NZ holiday.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank taffy_on_the_road
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,569 reviews
0.2 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
0.8 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#5 of 9 in Turangi
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At The Tongariro Riverside B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At The Tongariro Riverside B&B

Property: At The Tongariro Riverside B&B
Address: 72 Te Herekiekie Street, Turangi, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Turangi
Hotel Class:2 star — At The Tongariro Riverside B&B 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your At The Tongariro Riverside B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing