We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome time with great guides”

Tongariro River Rafting
Book In Advance
More Info
US$68.09*
and up
2-hour Tongariro River Family Rafting Excursion in Turangi
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Tongariro River Rafting is the most experienced outdoor adventure company on the Tongariro River. We create journeys, share stories and bring people closer to nature through biking, fishing and rafting. We celebrate 25 years as a family owned and operated business in 2015. We're passionate about showing off our amazing region to visitors and are dedicated to preserving the natural environment of the Tongariro River for future generations – so much so, we founded the Blue Duck Project – with the goal of returning the rare native Blue Duck to its traditional habitat along the Tongariro River. Our adventures include Grade 3 white water rafting trips, family floats for the younger rafters or first timers, mountain biking and fishing. On your Grade 3 white water rafting trip, you will have an unforgettable 2.5 hours navigating over 60 heart-pounding rapids with an expert guide at the helm. All of our guides are highly trained professionals and our equipment is top quality. You'll even enjoy a deli style lunch after your trip (hot soup in winter). Prepare yourself for one of the most stunning white water rafting adventures in New Zealand – we know this river like the back of our paddle! “Oar-some!!”
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Wheelchair access
Egg Harbor City, New Jersey
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Awesome time with great guides”
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

We had a great time with this company - lots of rapids - over 20 -and the guides were excellent (Ryan and Jimmy). After rafting, they had a table at the office with sandwich bar which was a nice extra. Only issue we had was we bought a jetboat combo and we were told the wrong time by the other company so we were a little late. I would recommend double checking time with each company if you buy any combo tickets.

Helpful?
Thank Hitesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongariro1, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Hitesh,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to write this for us. Sorry to hear that there was some confusion with the jet boat combo but we are very glad that you made it to us in time and that it did not hinder your experience with us. Thanks again for coming rafting with us and we hope to see you again!

Cheers,
Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

558 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    534
    23
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Exciting River Rafting”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I and 3 others booked in for this rafting experience on our recent visit to New Zealand. My wife had never rafted before and was a bit apprehensive prior to this event. This trip was over three hours and excellent value for money. We had two health and safety information times before the ride, one to ensure we knew the equipment we had to wear and one to explain the procedures we need to follow on the raft.

The leader of our raft was very knowledgeable and enthusiastic and commanded the boat very professionally. We felt comfortable throughout and confident with the boat leader. We had a fantastic afternoon on the raft and were surprised to find out that lunch was included. The river ride was fun and had some unexpected ( but safe) bumps. I would encourage anybody to go on these trips, they were safe for all ages. We enjoyed it so much we returned the next day to go on one of their Mountain Bike adventures which was also an excellent mornings fun for a group of four. This is an excellent adventure weekend DO IT!!!!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Russ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongariro1, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Russ,

Thank you for taking the time out to write this for us. We are very glad that you had such a positive experience with us and that you enjoyed your trip on the river. It is always good to hear that you felt well looked after and safe out there. Thanks again for coming rafting with us so that we could share our beautiful office with you.

Cheers,
Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taupo
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Day Out”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Mint day out, great guides, fun trip.. Best thing to do in the Taupo and Turangi area on an average day. The river turned an average day into a great day.. a great operation who looked after us from the time we arrived.. Thanks heaps!! Sarah & Brad

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank scottbase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongariro1, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Sarah and Brad,

Thank you for the kind review. We are fortunate to live in an area where there are several great activities to choose from and we are glad that you find rafting with us to be the best. Thanks again for rafting with us and we hope to see you again!

Cheers,
Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dargaville, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best fun in eons!!”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

The best scary fun I've had in eons! from the moment we put on our gear, to hopping in the boat at the river. Ben our "boss" was so clear in his instructions, and really nice, which put us all at our ease.Soon we were all paddling the rapids having a major good time. This was grade 3, heaps of rapids nice quiet spots and beautiful scenery. I think the whole thing was just magic! jumping from rocks into cold water.. water fights with the other rafties that were in our group... and being chucked off the boat! all part of the fun, with a delightful make your own sandwich and hot coffee at the end of it. Cheers, to everyone who helped make it happen

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KaiIwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garth O, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Thank you for writing such a wonderful review for us. Ben certainly is a fun and engaging guide. We are glad to hear that you had such a positive experience with him and enjoyed the beautiful scenery that we are fortunate to be surrounded by.
Cheers,
Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
2 reviews
“great experience on a rainy day”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

when hiking the Tongariro track was cancelled due to weather conditions up high, we switched to the river. An afternoon negotiating the rapids of the Tongariro river turned out to be a welcome alternative. On a rainy day when the clouds come down, drift and paddle through dense rainforest and beneath towering cliffs - an atmosphere all its own.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bob907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tongariro1, Owner at Tongariro River Rafting, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Thank you for your review. One of the best things about rafting is that it does not matter if it is raining, it it still just as much fun. We are very glad that you also found this to be true. Thanks again for coming rafting with us!

Cheers,
Garth
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tongariro River Rafting also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 
Turangi, Taupo District
Tongariro National Park, Manawatu-Wanganui Region
 

Been to Tongariro River Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing