We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Judges Pool Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Judges Pool Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Hamilton & Waikato Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Family friendly”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here in January 2013. Everything was clean and tidy. Excellent BBQ area. Great for socialising. Great location. Very central yet still quiet. We booked the whole complex out for two nights and would highly recommend for any other group.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrs_Deb_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    46
    12
    0
    2
See reviews for
42
59
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
190 reviews
109 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013 via mobile

Stayed one night with friends. Basic units, but with everything one would need. Extremely good value for the cost of the room. Free WiFi, which worked well. Comfortable bed - better than some places costing twice as much - heat and electric blankets all in good order and worked well. Friendly and helpful owner/operator. Quiet with good parking. All in all a very positive experience. A definite keeper

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AubreyP695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Thanks for the kind review
Hope to see you again some time
jill and chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2013

Clean, tidy, warm and dry is the best way to describe the rooms while the service and helpfulness of the owners was second to none. They went out if their way to make us feel comfortable and at home. We will be back and wish Chris and Jill all the best and thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthony K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

Stayed for 3 nights for a wedding in a 2 room unit. Which was easily large enough for the 4 of us.
Clean but basic. Everything worked well. Nice and warm.
The owners were very friendly and accommodating.
Place was quiet, has a great BBQ area and plenty of room to park in our own little carport.
Wifi works well too!
Really good value!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GastronomicusNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2013

Got to visit Turangi recently and based on positive reviews decided to stay here for a night. A decision right made!

Its located in a beautiful quiet neighbourhood, just couple of minutes away from the beautiful Tongariro river walk.

I stayed in Unit-1 and was just a great stay there. Clean, cosy, warm and had all the amenities like basic cooking utensils, toaster, gas stove, fridge, heater, microwave, TV with sky and dvds being available on request and not to forget the electric blankets on bed :)

Unit also had a nice clean deck by the bedroom.

In brief, its really a nice place to stay , great value for money! Highly recommended! Will surely visit this property in future!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, 30 April 2013
Thank you for your kind review and we hope that next time you are in the area you will stay with us again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

We stayed here after the place we were staying did not have another place for us and we were delighted that we did. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. They greet you with your nation's flag hanging up outside the motel. They also had a bunch of fresh tomatoes from their garden that they shared with all the guests-delicious. The rooms were clean and well stocked with everything that we needed.

We are surprised by the small number of trip advisor reviews. Some people complained about the decor - it wasn't the most up to date, but it was comfortable and a terrific place to stay - we would stay there again. Great value as well.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, 7 April 2013
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Judges Pool Motel and thank you for your kind review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2013

The owners are really friendly and helpful, the units are large and well equipped and very quiet at night.
The town is big enough to be useful without being overwhelming and shops are within a walking distance.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.1 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
20.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,494 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Pool Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Pool Motel

Property: Judges Pool Motel
Address: 92 Taupahi Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Judges Pool Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2014. Just a stone's throw from the world-renowned Tongariro River at the southern end of Lake Taupo, Judges Pool Motel offers comfortable, quiet place to stay. Stroll to the river pools to fish for big Rainbow and Brown Trout or venture to the nearby Tongariro National Park with its alpine walks and ski fields. Judges Pool Motel provides the perfect base for your activities or the ideal stopover with no traffic noise on your travels, with affordable family accommodation in our fully self-contained units. We're one of the area's most popular motels and the owners-operators Stella and Rhett have a wealth of local knowledge to share with you. . All Units Serviced Daily . Free Unlimited WIFI . Heat Pumps / Air Conditioning . Laundry and a Drying Room . Undercover BBQ Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Judges Pool Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing