We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place to stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Judges Pool Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Judges Pool Motel
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
“Nice place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2014 via mobile

Booked at short notice. In a very quiet location off the main highway. Units are bigger than they appear and have ample space for a family of four (although there was only two of us). Very clean. Would be a great base for skiing.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank MickLee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    45
    11
    0
    2
See reviews for
41
59
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wanganui, New Zealand
Level Contributor
51 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Nice one night stay at the motel, though my son when going to get one of the complimentary DVD's offered, felt he was inconveniencing the older female proprietor and he felt uncomfortable in the manner that she asked what he wanted. I too, felt a bit similar on arrival, as we had booked through internet and she didn't seem to be aware. It was 8pm at night when we arrived and there was a sense that I was taking her away from her TV programme. Upon establishing our booking, she became more pleasant. Good facilities however especially if your into fishing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Tracy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

This was a great room. It had everything you needed. Two bedroom unit with heaps of room to move, close to great walks and town centre. Easy parking, clean and homely. Very nice owners. Small town but big hearts.

Room Tip: Family rooms heaps of space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jack2bear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
58 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013

The owner greeted us warmly upon arrival and was very helpful and welcoming. The unit we got was cosy but spacious and had a separate bedroom. The bed was very comfy, the kitchen was well equipped and everything was clean and well kept. We loved the beautiful surroundings, it was so peaceful and close to the surrounding nature while at the same time just a short drive (or walk) to the supermarket, petrol station etc. Guests can borrow dvd's from the reception and the owners are happy to help out with tips and useful information about things to see and do in the area. Unfortunately our tv didn't receive a signal, but I'm sure the staff would've helped us had we asked them. We didn't have time to watch tv anyway during our busy two night stay. They provide free wifi, and it worked very well. Would stay again for sure next time we visit Turangi!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Korimako_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

Hosts were friendly and accommodated our need for an early checkout. Limited wi-fi (100mb per person). Dated furniture/decor. Shower floor was a drain in the bathroom floor. Parking was cramped, glad we had a small car. Not located on the main road, found it by accident as smartphones didn’t have service here. Know where you are going. Cinder block walls. Decent location to Tongariro Crossing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ctc10s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Point 1. We have unlimited wi-fi access free.
Point 2. We have just refurnished our motel units, so not sure why you are saying it is dated?
Point 3. In the 10 years we have owned the motel we have never had anyone comment on the car space, not sure what your problem was.
Point 4. The showers in some of our units are walk-in which some people prefer, not a drain in the floor.
Point 5. The walls are very soundproof which people really like.
Point 5. We find people like this place BECAUSE we are off the main highway.

We are disappointed you gave so many negative reviews when nobody else has.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Waikato NZ
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Top quality & exceptional value. Exemplary service - Yes!! Chris & Jill are Super Hosts / Owner Operators. Nothing was too much trouble. Luv'd all the quirky plaques about the complex & adored the cats. As for our motel units (stayed on the way South and again on the way back home) - once again faultless. Spotlessly clean, very spacious, extremely comfortable beds & couch, great bathrooms, lots of extras such as 50+ Sky select channels which is becoming rear in motels; a lovely deck at the back; carport; lovely undercover bbq area, good security lighting. Great place for our next time-out trip away & many more stays in the future. Thanks folks, you both made us feel very welcome. :):) We'll be back before Xmas - lol!!

Room Tip: All units / rooms are awesome. Some have wet-area showers which is a plus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smilesrfreeNZ2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope you will visit us again in the future and then try our free range eggs from our backyard chooks!!!
Chris and Jill
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
310 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I had booked 1 night here but unfortunately I became here while staying and had to extend my hosts were great and not only very helpful and understanding but very caring, they are perfect for this business and are great hosts and people. I will tell all that I see that this is the pace to stay, the room was very clean and self contained with everything that anyone would need in the unit including a selection of over 50 channels as well as dvd player. The bed was comfortable and the room warm what more could you ask for its a great spot for taking time out. Thank you for your help.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatMacnz64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Judgespoolmotel, Owner at Judges Pool Motel, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Thank you for your kind remarks. We do hope that you got better after a couple of days. Maybe we will see you again sometime and enjoy your new job.
Thanks again Jill and Chris
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.1 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
20.7 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,458 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#4 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.2 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#5 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Judges Pool Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Judges Pool Motel

Property: Judges Pool Motel
Address: 92 Taupahi Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Judges Pool Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence Winner 2014. Just a stone's throw from the world-renowned Tongariro River at the southern end of Lake Taupo, Judges Pool Motel offers comfortable, quiet place to stay. Stroll to the river pools to fish for big Rainbow and Brown Trout or venture to the nearby Tongariro National Park with its alpine walks and ski fields. Judges Pool Motel provides the perfect base for your activities or the ideal stopover with no traffic noise on your travels, with affordable family accommodation in our fully self-contained units. We're one of the area's most popular motels and the owners-operators Stella and Rhett have a wealth of local knowledge to share with you. . All Units Serviced Daily . Free Unlimited WIFI . Heat Pumps / Air Conditioning . Laundry and a Drying Room . Undercover BBQ Area ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Judges Pool Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing