We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great, relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of A Plus Backpackers Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
A Plus Backpackers Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

The host here was great! The place was extremely laid back and everyone was very friendly. It felt like a cross between a camp and staying at someone's house. We loved it.

Ps. Plug-ins are sometimes hidden behind the beds.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BuchanOdyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    27
    14
    2
    8
See reviews for
8
37
35
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Basic accommodation at a good price. The host greeted us at our car and welcomed us. He showed us to our room and said come to reception to check in when you're ready. Nice and relaxed.

Rooms are basic as you'd expect, facilities were functional and clean.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rendezvousnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

Awesome place to stay. We keep coming back . Kid friendly, very clean, host is extremely friendly and helpful. Lovely lounge room, warm fire, clean kitchen, close to the mountain . Highly recommend to all familys

Room Tip: All good clean, bathrooms are great, private showers
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rossfamily435
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2011

We stayed here as a base for doing the Tongariro Alpine Crossing. It was a very chilled-out place not too far from the town with lots of indoors and outside communal areas but it was always peaceful and quiet. The kitchen was good with everything you need. The room was fine - no problens at all - and the bathroom was always free when we needed it. Perhaps in peak season you may have to queue! The owner was VERY friendly and very talkative and knows all there is to know about Turangi and the surrounding areas. He was very helpful with our plans for the crossing and everything he advised turned out to be exactly right. The only slight minus was when we wanted to very quickly wash and dry some clothes he pretty much said we couldn't use the tumble dryer for eco reasons. He promised us our clothing would dry by the morning and it didn't so we had to go back after our hike and collect it then instead. Not a massive big deal but would have been great to bang them in the dryer for half an hour!! A good value, relaxing stay.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Becci B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lower Hutt, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 April 2011

The place is very good for the price. The accomodation looks like a fun place and you could tell that its a family run business. The place is very clean. The kitchen has everything you need. The cupboard has labels of whats in it in different languages - mostly people's vandal. The only problem was that the walls were thin that you can hear when other inconsiderate guests would decide to have a domestic in a middle of the night or people giggling at night. Ear plugs will be handy.
I really like Ian - the owner - he is very friendly and even suggested the places to go to. Oh by the way he is giving his puppies away - they are so cute - too bad I cant take then to my flat.

Room Tip: Bring ear plugs with you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ychean84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.3 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
1.0 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Kiwi Holiday Park
Turangi Kiwi Holiday Park
#16 of 17 in Turangi
3.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
0.7 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Judges Pool Motel
Judges Pool Motel
#5 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Plus Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Plus Backpackers Lodge

Property: A Plus Backpackers Lodge
Address: 41 Te Iwiheke Place, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — A Plus Backpackers Lodge 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
a 10 minute walk from the i site and supermarket.we are happy to pick up and drop off.deals with local shuttle to do the tongariro crossing.a relaxed family vibe in which to do hiking, skiing, trout fishing. thermal activity. hiking in the kaimanawas forest park, exploring the local glow worm cave at okapata down shaft, and central located in the middle of the north island, to do hawkes bay winery , taranaki and mt egmont, and a half way point between auckland and wellington ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your A Plus Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing