We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Plus Backpackers Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$122
US$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turangi Bridge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Judges Pool Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$64
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oreti Village(Turangi)
US$181
US$175
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$95
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creel Lodge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Tongariro River Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$78
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (128)
Filter reviews
128 results
Traveller rating
73
30
15
2
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
73
30
15
2
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownerthe kitchentongariro alpine crossingsave moneysingle roomawesome kitchennew zealandthe perfect place to staysuper friendlywealth of informationfamily atmosphereand free wi fiwould definitely stay here againstayed longerlocal areaianhostel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
82 - 87 of 128 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic service, cheap, good people and very close to the national park! Ian is a super guy who will do whatever he can to help out anyone. Art and inspiration on every wall! It really feels like home to stay here if you have been traveling much for a longer period of time.

Will definitly come back if im in NZ again!

Alex, the norwegian guy.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Definitely not anything like I had experienced before. Very cool murals and paintings, and nice owners. Not many people staying there the night we were. Good kitchen and common area, definitely just make yourself at home! Room was a big disappointment though... the pictures online were completely false, and the room was musty, dusty, and lacked comfort. Dripping tap didn't help. Bathroom lacked privacy and water pressure. Expensive for what the room was. Would have been better off paying for a dorm.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cam2712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The A Plus Lodge is cheap (22$ per night), so the facilities are not luxurious (beds are cheap maid, etc), but everything is really alright. What makes the hostel an EXCELLENT PLACE to stay is the owner Ian and how he runs the place! He's so helpful, lends you whatever you need, picks you up for free at the bus station (or drops you off there). He wants to know every single backpacker staying at his hostel, he really cares about you and looks after you. He tries to match up people that want to do the Tongariro, so that people without a car can get a lift from people having one, instead of paying an expensive shuttle. Also he lookes who he puts in a dorm with whom: he tries to put people in the same dorm that get along well with each other (not like every other hostel that just fills the first room, then continues with the second and so on). The athmosphere in the hostel is really good because of how well the place is run. I had an awesome time and I defentely recommend this hostel to everybody! Thank you Ian!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
Thank singGS12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Ian's place is so great, it's coming home! Ian is great too! He always helps where he can. The hostel is a quiet, peaceful place to stay.
Had a great time here and if we ever come back tot New Zealand it will be our first stop!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yootie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

So I stayed in this lovely backpackers for a 8 nights. Thats why: 13$ per camp site, 2 big hammocks, 5 guitars and the nicest people living there. Best of all would be Ean, who is driving the backpackers to the start of the Tongariro Crossing for the best prices (25$). For example I stayed at the Holiday Park in Turangi for 1 night and they told me its 45$ from Turangi -.-
But back to the Backpackers... I know it all depends on what people you meet and how much fun you are having. But I started to realise there that the hostels create the atmosphere where the stray people feel at home and can have casual but real interesting talks and yeah maybe become friends for more than just a few minutes. I really enjoyed staying and I am highly recommending it. Especially if you didn´t have a guitar in your hands for ages^^ I felt like in paradise. Oh and there is one other thing: It is highly appreciated if you can draw/paint something on the walls. I am still looking for a translation for my sentence in spanish or french next to the TV tower of Berlin. So pls help me ;)
Julia (from Berlin)

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews