We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent little gem!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sportsmans Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sportsmans Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent little gem!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

Recently stayed for just one night with family. Would have quite happily stayed for more as the place is fantastic and not just for those hunting and fishing. The owners were so friendly and the rooms, although basic, were spotlessly clean and functional. The kitchen was immaculate and the lounge was a lovely place to relax in of an evening. The position of this place is fantastic as you can easily walk out onto the river walk where we saw a multitude of different birds and wildlife. Lovely little town too with all of th amenities that you could want. We would definitely recommend and would definitely stay again if we were in the area.

Room Tip: From what we saw, all rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nessmoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty C, Owner at Sportsmans Lodge, responded to this review, 14 February 2013
Many thanks for the wonderful comments. We enjoyed your company and would love to see you back this way soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    30
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
71
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Sportsmans Lodge and loved the rustic and friendly feel of the place. The owners are very nice and they have an awesome "guard dog" named Blue who loves belly rubs. The rooms are minimal, but well-maintained and guests are provided with the essential (towels, hand soap, bed, clean sheets). There is a community kitchen with all the basics, a library/game room to relax in, and onsite laundry facilities. This is a great place for travellers who are in the area for tramping, fishing, or general outdoor recreation.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013

This is. Really great place in Turangi. The rooms and kitchen are spotless clean, the owners are great and really helpful. It's in a great location right by the river so great for walks, fishing and just general chilling out. Perfect place to roost when exploring Taupo and Tongariro.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmandaAJH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty C, Owner at Sportsmans Lodge, responded to this review, 17 January 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments. We enjoyed your company.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2012

What a fantastic find! We saw the lodge had good reviews on Tripadvisor so decided to book in for a night. It was such a lovely spot we booked in for another night.
The couple who run it were so friendly and helpful and made us feel right at home.
It was very clean and organised with good facilities both in the shared kitchen and shared lounge.
Our room was small but perfect for us as we were out and about during the day. It is in a good location as we could walk to the local pub which served good and well priced food. But the shops are just down the road too so easy either way.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty C, Owner at Sportsmans Lodge, responded to this review, 23 December 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments. We enjoyed having you stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

The Sportsmans Lodge provided us with simple, good value accommodation for a night on our journey up the island to Rotorua. The room, though small, had all that we required and the shared kitchen and lounge provided useful additional facilities. The setting, close to the river, provided an enjoyable early-evening walk on our way to the nearby restaurant. The owner was extremely helpful and hospitable.

Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Keith and Kathy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed at the cottage which was not a lot more expencive than the room. The cottage is tidy and spacious. It has 2 beds and sleeps up to 3 people. This selfcontained cottage also has a kitchen area with everithing you may need and a living area with leather sofa, armchair, coffee table and a big flatscreen TV. There's a place to park a car in front of the cottage. Backing on to the river the cottage overlooks a sweet flowering garden. We saw Tui birds from the porch.
We loved the privacy of the cottage backing on to the river. But we've also spent some time in the shared lounge and enjoyed an evening at the fireplace together with other guests.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina_Sh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

The Sportsmans Lodge are good at what they do.

You get your own bed, your own room, and your own toilet and your own shower. Everything else is shared. As long as you're fine with this, the Sportsmans Lodge is very nice.

It is not without reason that most of the other guests we spoke with were returning customers.

It is in an ideal spot to explore the Tongariro national park, or fish or hunt in the area. If you are not too sensitive when sleeping (it is very loud between the rooms, and people walk right outside your window and door), you will find this a good priced bed and a clean shared kitchen.

And even if their offer sounds like a sligthly too simple standard for you, staying here _might_ be worth it for another reason - the owner has a really impressive array of suggestions for activities. We wanted to "experience and photograph Tongariro and Taupo" and she had many really good suggestions for the best ways to do just that.

The only real drawbacks for us were that it was as loud as it was, and that you needed to go to the shared kitchen to make a cup of evening tea.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viktor F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.1 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
20.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmans Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmans Lodge

Property: Sportsmans Lodge
Address: 15 Taupahi Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sportsmans Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sportsmans Lodge is the hidden accommodation gem of the Central Plateau and Lake Taupo District. It has a unique, tranquil character of its own. Its relaxed, homely surrounds has special appeal for fly fishermen, walkers in the Central Plateau, weary travellers looking for a quiet night's sleep, and in the winter, skiers and snowboarders.The Lodge has nine quality, comfortable double/twin single rooms with own ensuites. Guests share a large self catering kitchen/dining room. The large shared lounge with open fire, TV and pool table is great for relaxing and sharing the day's stories with other guests. The lounge opens out to a sundeck that overlooks an amazing garden. For those looking for a private hideaway, our self contained cottage, separate to the Lodge, is perfect. The deck opens out on to a delightful, quiet part of the garden. Pure Bliss! FREE Wireless internet is available throughout the Lodge and its surroundings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Sportsmans Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing