We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and helpfull, rooms are good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sportsmans Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sportsmans Lodge
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly and helpfull, rooms are good”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We had a double with bathroom. Facilities include a large kitchen and there is a lounge with TV and pool table and books, games,...
If you wish to receive local information of any kind, you just need to ask and they will help you planning your visit.
The rooms are good with a narrow, clean bathroom. The beds are small but comfortable. There is noise in the late evening and early morning from the trucks on the main road which lies around 200m from the lodge. Insulation against sound is weak, so IMHO this is the biggest drawback.
To keep it short: this is a very nice place to stay if you want to visit the Tongariro area.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drisi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    31
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
12
71
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

We booked the cottage within the lodge and were really satisfied with the size of the room. Fully equipped kitchen with stoves and an oven, microwave and a fridge. Comfortable interior with a plush sofa and an armchair to chill while surfing the channels. Wifi was relatively strong in the cottage. Cleanliness was not an issue. We felt safe enough in the lodge. It was also quiet enough as the cottage is at the far end of the lodge.

Betty the host was really helpful. She assisted in booking the bus shuttle for the Tongariro Crossing, and directed us to an information board on what to expect for the Crossing. She also let us in on a short 1h walk behind the lodge which traverses past the river, across it and up a small cliff that provides just the most stunning landscape views of the surroundings. We were glad we took her advice to get on the hike!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank a_scot_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty C, Owner at Sportsmans Lodge, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks very much for your awesome review. We're glad you enjoyed your stay in the cottage. It's a private wee hideaway, isn't it. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 November 2013

This was the best place in 3.5 weeks in New Zealand, it just had all we were looking for:
- Very clean rooms, with fresh towels every day
- A well equipped and clean central kitchen with a separate set of crockery and cutlery per room
- A central living room which makes you feel at home directly (including a pool table)
- An owner who maintains the place perfectly and is very kind and helpful
- Free Wi-Fi of proper quality (Skyping with people back home without any problem)
- Great location for doing the Tongariro Crossing (closer then Taupo) + a restaurant across the street that does not look very attracting but serves great food. And there is a track right behind the lodge with a nice walk along the river and up on a little mountain.
- Great value for a very reasonable price

Defenitely go here!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty C, Owner at Sportsmans Lodge, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thanks for your awesome review, Perry. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and thanks for the great photo you sent through. It will look great on our Lodge Lounge wall. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have stayed here every year for 20 years now with a group of family and friends and we love everything about it. The bedrooms are small but each one has an ensuite, and the communal lounge and kitchen is perfect for preparing food or just relaxing. The owners are extremely welcoming and have a very good local knowledge. They take a lot of care to keep the standard high and the whole place is perfectly clean.
The lodge is set in its own grounds which backs onto the river.
The location is fantastic for Ruapehu and Taupo (in the middle of these) and there is a lot to do in the area from hot pools to white water rafting, fishing to trekking.
Our children are now bringing their children for our annual weekend here and age doesn't matter - we all love it.
Thank you Betty and Doug for always looking after us so well.

Room Tip: If you prefer a little more privacy, the fully self contained cottage is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moff111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty C, Owner at Sportsmans Lodge, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments. We always look forward to your group staying. You're always full of fun. We're looking forward to the big 21st coming of age weekend next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A weekend was not long enough at this wonderful and super friendly lodge. We had a lovely double room with our own bathroom.

Even though the lodge is close to the main road,you can not hear any road traffic. The kitchen was very clean and modern. It was wonderful having breakfast on the deck in the sun.

The lodge is perfectly situated for fishing or taking a long walk.The gardens are well maintained and quiet.

Doug & Betty are the perfect hosts and make you feel very welcome.

The t.v. room with a fire is just what you need at the end of the day.

We will definitely be going back. A home away from home.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TamsnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

We held a family get together here over a long weekend, and this was the perfect place for it! The communal facilities in the kitchen and lounge were just what we required and enhanced the pleasure of our visit. Betty was great and informative on the Lodge and local activities, the rooms and communal areas were clean and tidy and we were able to treat it like 'home'.
We will definately be back for another visit when we want to stay in the area again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 325Hereford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty C, Owner at Sportsmans Lodge, responded to this review, 7 June 2013
Thanks for your lovely comments. We thoroughly enjoyed having your family to stay and many thanks for the way you all looked after the place. It was our pleasure to host you all. Come again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Villa Park
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

The location is perfect, not far from the bus stop at the town center. Betty was nice to pick us up.We stayed one night and loved its beautiful garden.The room, kitchen, and lounge are spotlessly clean. The place is so peaceful, a great place to relax and rest. The back door leads to a hiking trail (Tongariro River trail). Free wifi is definitely a plus. If we have chance to go back to Turangi, this is the place to stay. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank weiping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Betty C, Owner at Sportsmans Lodge, responded to this review, 15 April 2013
Thanks for your wonderful comments and we're looking forward to catching up again when you next visit Turangi.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
0.1 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
62 reviews
20.9 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,490 reviews
0.1 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Judges Pool Motel
Judges Pool Motel
#6 of 9 in Turangi
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sportsmans Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sportsmans Lodge

Property: Sportsmans Lodge
Address: 15 Taupahi Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sportsmans Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sportsmans Lodge is the hidden accommodation gem of the Central Plateau and Lake Taupo District. It has a unique, tranquil character of its own. Its relaxed, homely surrounds has special appeal for fly fishermen, walkers in the Central Plateau, weary travellers looking for a quiet night's sleep, and in the winter, skiers and snowboarders.The Lodge has nine quality, comfortable double/twin single rooms with own ensuites. Guests share a large self catering kitchen/dining room. The large shared lounge with open fire, TV and pool table is great for relaxing and sharing the day's stories with other guests. The lounge opens out to a sundeck that overlooks an amazing garden. For those looking for a private hideaway, our self contained cottage, separate to the Lodge, is perfect. The deck opens out on to a delightful, quiet part of the garden. Pure Bliss! FREE Wireless internet is available throughout the Lodge and its surroundings ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sportsmans Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing