We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Management make this resort”
Review of Kaimanawa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kaimanawa Lodge
Reviewed 9 May 2014

Its been a little while since we last stayed at Kaimanawa Lodge. We have owned a unit here for over 15 years but this visit was the first we had stayed in a studio unit. The resort comprises studio, one bedroom and two bedroom units. It has an outside unheated swimming pool and an indoor spa pool / Jacuzzi. Bikes are available for those interested and there is a games room for the younger set. As can be expected the studio unit is smaller and has less facilities than its larger cousins but we found it more than adequate. The combined lounge / sleeping area whilst a little annoying at times was not really an issue.
What makes this resort stand out from many other timeshare resorts is the on site managers. Rae and Jim are on their second term as on site Managers and are a real asset to owners and guests. They cannot do enough to make ones stay at the resort as good as possible. Each Saturday morning Jim invites local tour operators in to advise guests of some of the activities open to them and Rae tops it off with some of the finest cooked scones on the planet.
We had a very relaxing week at the Lodge and will be back again next year. Thanks Rae and JIm

Room Tip: The two bedroom units provide a more comfortable environment because of their increased size
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank beanb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (27)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 27 of 27 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2013

A great place to stay in summer and winter. Close to the ski fields for a day up the mountain. Supermarket and restuarants nearby. Near to the river for those who want to trout fish as sell as near to parks, and biking and walking tracks. We'll be going back!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kiwienglish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2013

We took a vacation starting in New Zealand and this was our first stop. At first glance, it appeared to be just an isolated area and we thought we made a mistake. But, after taking some time and exploring we realized this place is rich with beauty. The lodge itself is a small treasure because it is more like a small lodge of cabins. We stayed in a 1-bedroom studio style. It was tight but had everything you would need. Everything was functional and if not then the manager was just a few steps away. There was a partial kitchen where you could prepare light meals. The room and linen were very clean but they don't provide small wash clothes so you either travel with them or purchase them from the local store. Actually, most amenities you are accustomed to (soap, shampoo, etc.) are not provided. Since it was their winter, the pool and hot tub were not available. The units have ac/heat and heating pads for the mattress which we used every night. They do have a member's lodge where on a certain night they cook local caught fish and other food so you can mingle with guests. There was an extra charge for this so we declined and decided to travel back to Wellington for some sightseeing that day. There are restaurants and cafes in the area but most of them only serve food at certain times of the day i.e. breakfast, lunch and dinner. So, you won't find much food out and about between these times because they are closed and preparing for the next meal. We learned quick to get food and snacks for in-between these hours. The lodge loans bikes so you can ride around town and see the sights which is what we did and we had tons of fun. We also took a couple bushwalks that led to the most amazing scenery in the mountains overlooking the lakes. If you decide to do this be sure to start early and bring snacks because it is quite strenuous but well worth it. All in all, I'm glad we stopped here first to get a taste of rural New Zealand.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank gal13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2013

This is the perfect retreat for peace, quiet and to enjoy native New Zealand bush. Check in was friendly and the Saturday morning tea is an event in it self. Our host went thru a detailed briefing on what the local attractions are, driving times etc. Being a volcanic alpine region good advice on safety.
The units were comfortable and warm and provided a great hideaway to catch up with reading.

Turangi township provides all the necessities, but the morning walk along the river, thru the bush is mandatory. Amazing.

Congratulations to the host for their friendship and making my stay special.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lornic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

This place is worth every bit. The couple who takes care of the property are very friendly. We had the best time ever. turangi is a village & shuts down real early so all u r left with is the apartment & if u know how to make good use of the place u ll never get bored. Its fully equipped & offers alot more than u cud think of. We being members of RCI stayed here for a week. We had rented out a car from Auckland (Jucy Rentals). The drive was superb to this place really scenic. We moved around keeping Kaimanawa as the base to places like ROTORUA, TAUPO. We did day trips and drove back to this place which had become like home to us. Hot water pools, sports bar, restaurants arent really far if you have a car. Places to visit nearby Kaimanawa:- Oreti village, Trout Centre, WAKAPAPA NATIONAL PARK.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank amitnsanghavi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2012

Kaimanawa Lodge is a Timeshore resort in Turangi on the southern end of Lake Taupo. It provides a great place to go trout fishing in the nearby Tongariro River and is only 40 minutes from the popular ski fields of Mt Ruapehu. The different units are studio, one bedroom and two bedrooms. The two bedroom units are on two floors , all the others are at ground level.
The town centre of Turangi is approx 10 minutes walk from the resort and nearby is a nice flat walk through the native bush along the banks of the Tongariro river. The round trip takes around 45 minutes and is easy walking.
The grounds are all well maintained. There is a communal barbeque in the centre of the resort and a couple of portable barbeques for more private dining.
A small playground caters for the lttle ones. An unheated pool is available in the warmer months. For the more timid there is a heated spa pool (jaccuzzi). An owners lounger with a lending library is open in the mornings. On Saturday mornings guests are invited to jopin the managers for tea and scones and a number of tourist operators come in to espose their wares.

Room Tip: If you are looking for peace and quiet this is the place to come
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank beanb41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Turangi hotels
6 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
125 reviews
1.3 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
192 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.8 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
297 reviews
0.3 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaimanawa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaimanawa Lodge

Address: 250 Taupahi Road, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Speciality Lodging in Turangi
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaimanawa Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You'll find Kaimanawa Lodge in the town of Turangi at the southern end of Great Lake Taupo. The town is nestled in the bend of the mighty Tongariro River, bounded by the majestic mountains and the expansive lake. Moody, powerful, elemental, breathtakingly beautiful! It is a place that eases itself into your soul and never leaves. Modern and comfortable, the resort is perfect for those wanting to make the most out of their New Zealand escape. During the winter months, the towering snow-capped mountains are a haven for winter sports and the air reverberates with the gentle whisper of skis on fresh fallen snow. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HotelQuickly so you can book your Kaimanawa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing