We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Anglers Paradise??????”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Anglers Paradise Motel
Ranked #10 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Reviewed 29 October 2012

We stay at Angler Paradise because the next day we want to do the Turangi Alpine crossing but unfortunately it was closed due bad weather condition.
When we arrived (without see the room!) we asked if we could cancel the second night but they told that was not possible because we booked with Booking.com
No problem.
The room was designed and decorated in the 70's and since then has never been updated, it was very cold but clean.
The real problem was the bathroom: without any heating and with a steel shower tray, icy! The first night we stayed there but I refused to do the second night.
We back in Taupo where we easily found a new place to stay.
For those who have to do the Alpine crossing I suggest to stop in Taupo, Turanghi is depressing and it stayed in the 70's.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DiegoComo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Front Office Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

At the outset I had the feeling that it may have been better for us to let this couple cancel although they did accept that the free cancelation period had expired by the time they arrived. That they had booked through Booking.com was mentioned but was irrelevant to their attempt to cancel free of charge.
Their assertion that the unit had not been updated since the 70’s also was not accurate as the section they stayed in was not built until the mid 80’s, the original carpets were replaced late 90’s, other furnishings were replaced shortly before the start of our tenure in 2008 and we have redecorated/painted and added or replaced various furnishings and facilities including total replacement of the television distribution system to accommodate the recently introduced 32inch digital TV’s.
A check on the 10 trip advisor reviews by this couple gives an insight into their true nature and bears out my initial feelings about them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 111 reviews

Reviewed 18 October 2012

We stayed at this motel for two nights & found the owners very accommodating. while the rooms have a touch of the 1960's they are spacious & clean, The motel has a both a pool & jacuzzi.The location is fine but not within walking distance of the river if your staying for the fishing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2012

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our units, staff and facilities.
While the river is within 15 minutes walking time from Anglers most fishermen like to fish a range of pools and rivers in the area which does mean a vehicle is nesessary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We have stayed at motels at this price range all over NZ and found Anglers Paradise to be amongst the best. Huge comfortable units, decent kitchen, spa pool ready and waiting, great location between lake Taupo and Mt Ruapehu and very helpful owners. Will be back next month.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank richhand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2012

Thankyou for the very kind report on your stay with us at Anglers Paradise Motel. We will look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

Stayed one night here in April 2012. Very comfortable room, nice grounds and location. Hosts were very friendly and gave us some great tips on what to do locally. And a lovely friendly dog.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Terrybaud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Thank you for your review,we appreciate your effort in taking the time to write it.We do enjoy talking to our guests and helping them where we can.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

A very disappointing stay it was. My boyfriend and I started our vacation here. When we booked our room, we got the dates mixed up so instead of booking for 1 night only, we booked for 2. 5 minutes later when we realized this, we called the motel (nobody picked up so we left a voicemail) and also sent an email to let them know about the mistake. When we arrived, we spoke to Lyn the host that we might not be able to stay the extra night, and she told us if we let her know the morning after, then it'll be fine. After we entered our room, we were sure that we don't want to stay for another day. The room was very basic, the carpet, the bathroom, and everything else seem to have not been renovated since 1980s. We were greeted by a huge cockroach crawling on the old old TV that terrified me. The room was freezing cold and overall we couldn't wait to get out of there.
The next morning (at 9 o clock) we packed everything and went to checkout but we were informed that it's too "late" (even though the checkout time is at 10 and Lyn told us as long as we tell her we want to leave in the morning there would be no problem). Rob (the husband) told us that we've already paid for 2 nights and since we paid through AA, he can't give us our money back as he hasn't received it yet.Being someone who travels all the time for business, this excuse was beyond meaningless. AA would have eventually given their money for the two nights, so he could have easily give us our money back, OR he could have offered to refund our money when he does receive the money from AA. As I said before I travel a lot, and sometimes we overbook and pay for extra nights, but if we leave sooner, they always pay the money back even if it has been booked through agencies. The motel was literally empty, there were so many rooms available that they couldn't even claim that because of our booking they lost other possible guests.
In any case, it was a very disappointing experience and I hope they treat their future guests better.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shahrzad P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Bad Experience, Shahrzad Parandeh,
We do remember this couple who stayed with us six weeks ago, as they were a “no show” for the first night of their reservation but did arrive for the second night.
We believed at the time that they had accepted that the first nights reservation was not refundable; they would have to “wear it” were the words that they used. We also spent some considerable time talking to them during the time they were with us, regarding activities to do, (fishing was discussed) and no mention of problems with the unit was made during their stay so we are surprised to receive this very negative report. We do apologize for any problems with the unit, but do ask that guests let us know if there is a problem so that we can put it right if possible.
With regard to the message left on the phone, Lyn believes she may have deleted a very garbled message which she could not understand, at or about that time, which could have been the voice message they left. There was no message that we could have replied to.
An email from their I Phone received at 2.05pm on the 22nd April, 24 hours after their expected arrival time, and also after they had arrived, was a copy of the reservation they made through AA Travel for the nights of the 21st and 22nd April. This was the only email we received from them.
Having realized that they made a mistake with the reservation “5 minutes later” after making the reservation at 1.07pm on the 21st I would have expected them to have made a more positive attempt to correct their mistake…. either by contacting AA Travel with whom they made the reservation, or to speak with us directly. A voice message which could not be understood or replied to was not effective and it was 24 hours or more after their expected arrival time, 2pm on the 21st April, before we were aware of their mistake although we were aware that they were a “no show”.
Although we did not feel obliged to do so, we did offer them a 3rd night free of charge and they were to let us know the following morning if they wanted to stay. They decided not to stay which was understandable as they probably did have a reservation elsewhere.
We are disappointed that they felt that they needed to respond in such a negative manner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

My little family of 4 were happily surprised to see that I had actually been here 14 years earlier as a teenager with friends and well, it was lovely then so much so we stayed for an extra night. The pool had a gate erected and pergola over the spa bath since and was just absolutely LOVELY! Hubby and I along with the children took advantage of the spa bath, a balmy 40 degrees mmmm .... Our room #9 had all the staples of a room, 2 bedrooms able to sleep 5 comfortably, good heating, clean cooking facilities, shower and loo facilities, electric blankees (essential for cold places like this durng winter especially!!). Good value and place to stay, very family friendly. Stock up on food from the super market and bunker down if you prefer. Theres a Bk and a lovely cafe "Thyme For Food" that was just delicious and cute.. Id defo g back if I need to stay in Turangi x

Room Tip: The rooms on the office side (rooms 1-4,5,6 ) of the motel is the closet to the pool gate if you don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 June 2012

Quiet and cosy,
Thankyou for your very kind review of your stay at Anglers Paradise Motel and memories from the past, your effort on our behalf is much appreciated and we would love to have your family stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2012

Lyn and Rob wonderful hosts of Anglers, nothing was to much or to difficult even when they were flat out attending to other guests and their needs,, Good homely atmoshere , has everything for the family, hiker to the angler , plenty of advice for interesting trips and experiences to suit all. They organised transport to and from the motel for us to undertake theTongorio crossing ensuring that we had no hassls to contend with. Thank you Lyn and Rob for a wonderful experience whiole staying with you recently.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariannevw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2012

Thank you for your kind review, you are always most welcome.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,738 reviews
1.4 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#9 of 10 in Turangi
196 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#4 of 10 in Turangi
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
1 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 10 in Turangi
315 reviews
0.5 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#6 of 10 in Turangi
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglers Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Paradise Motel

Address: 57 Raukura Street | 3334, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Turangi
Price Range: £67 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Anglers Paradise Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in two acres of trees and garden, set around a swimming pool, spa and children’s play area, with plenty of room to relax after a busy day, our other on-site facilities include FREE Wi-Fi, free gas BBQ's, guests laundry and drying lockers. Continental and cooked breakfast can be delivered to units and we also have Anglers licensed restaurant serving dinner and breakfast (reservations necessary). Also, we can arrange various activities for you in the area, such as trout fishing guides for lake and river fishing (no experience needed and all equipment provided), rafting, kayaking, skiing and transport to and from the Tongariro National Park, Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Ruapehu Ski Fields,Scenic flights over the volcanoes and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anglers Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglers Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing