We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great place to stay when doing the Tongariro Crossing” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anglers Paradise Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Anglers Paradise Motel
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great place to stay when doing the Tongariro Crossing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for a night before walking the Tongariro Crossing. Prior to arriving, I phoned the owner to see who their Tongariro Crossing transport provider was. The owner was very helpful and said that he would arrange it all for us.

When we arrived we received an efficient and friendly greeting. We were soon in our unit, and all set for the morning ahead with instructions on where to leave and cars, and passes for the shuttle to the Tongariro Crossing.

The room was dated, but clean and tidy. The bed was extremely warm and comfortable. Everything worked as it should do.

The motel was the first pickup for the shuttle, meaning we got our pick of the best seats, and we were the first motel drop off at the end of the day. When we returned in the afternoon after completing the Tongariro Crossing, the owner came out the see how everything was. Anglers Paradise Motel is a great place to stay and is recommended. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    35
    17
    6
    2
See reviews for
21
59
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2014

What a beautiful find - the suites are comfortable and spacious, with decor that although is not very modern ('50s style) has all the homey touches (pictures on the wall, flowers, curios, magazines,..). And the bed was divine: haven't had such a comfortable, firm mattress anywhere else on our trip.
The gardens are lovely, and the pool (about 8 lap strokes) is cool (not cold!), swimmable temperature. The kids loved the trampoline, ping-pong, and the managers were so very friendly and helpful with our planned trip on the Tongariro trek (although we couldn't go because of high winds :-(
Wish we could stay here longer. It's really relaxing.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anderson Island, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

Stayed for two nights in a clean, comfortable room. Bed was very nice. I enjoyed the lovely gardens as well. The managers were so friendly and accommodated your every need. We had breakfast and dinner prepared to order. Delicious! Not the most modern of motels but so clean! Please consider staying here, you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryangma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thankyou for your very kind review, we enjoy helping our guests when we can and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2013

Old and slightly tired, but spotlessly clean, very comfortable and very roomy. We had a studio, which had a full kitchen and everything we needed. Lovely outdoor patio, pool and spa area well maintained and really lovely gardens.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank susan p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, 28 November 2013
Thankyou for staying with us and taking the time to write a review, many guests say to us, as you have, that Anglers is a lovely place to stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

Have stayed here many times and wouldnt stay anywhere else when in the area. A warm welcome by the owners and always there if you have any needs, Rooms always clean and tidy and well equiped with everything you need for a wonderfull stay. AAAA++++

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
That you find our place a "home away from home" is a much appreciated confirmation that we do achive, at least some of the time, our aim to make guests comfortable and welcome.Thank you for your kind review, we always look forward to seeing you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2013

An excellent motel to stay and relax. Enjoyed the stay out there to the brim and would love to go back to the same hotel for next trip to Taupo.

Well maintained room, very clean and tidy and comfortable place to relax.

Room Tip: Stayed in a King Studio, very spacious and lovely ambiance. All the rooms have a good balcony and vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HPillai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
robwilliams1, Manager at Anglers Paradise Motel, responded to this review, 14 December 2013
Thankyou for your very positive review.I also appreciated the photo, it brings back memories as it was taken from a position very close to 7000ft directly above where we used to live and I have stood on that summit 7 times.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2013

We stayed there for a weekend ski trip. The rooms were spotlessly well maintained. We arrived quite late but the lady owner still waited. Super friendly on arrival. We also booked cooked breafast for the next day before skiing. It was delishhhousss. Very nice services as well.
I booked through agents so the price was a bit higher.
Recommended booking directly on their website. U will save a bit more for your trip.

Room Tip: Not many retaurants around. If u dont like junk food, then pack ur own food from home =]]
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.0 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,457 reviews
0.8 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
5.7 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
0.4 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.6 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anglers Paradise Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anglers Paradise Motel

Property: Anglers Paradise Motel
Address: 57 Raukura Street | 3334, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Anglers Paradise Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded in two acres of trees and garden, set around a swimming pool, spa and children’s play area, with plenty of room to relax after a busy day, our other on-site facilities include FREE Wi-Fi, free gas BBQ's, guests laundry and drying lockers. Continental and cooked breakfast can be delivered to units and we also have Anglers licensed restaurant serving dinner and breakfast (reservations necessary). Also, we can arrange various activities for you in the area, such as trout fishing guides for lake and river fishing (no experience needed and all equipment provided), rafting, kayaking, skiing and transport to and from the Tongariro National Park, Tongariro Alpine Crossing, Ruapehu Ski Fields,Scenic flights over the volcanoes and other activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Anglers Paradise Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anglers Paradise Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing