We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Birches Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Turangi Bridge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$78
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Judges Pool Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongariro River Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$79
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Oreti Village(Turangi)
US$183
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$97
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Creel Lodge Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
119
10
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
10
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandb bfly fishingtongariro national parkadmiral roomthe kitchenbeautiful gardenprivate guideluxurious accommodationwooden hot tubwonderful dinnertrout fishingbrown troutfour nightsbeautiful place to staypeaceful settingtongariro area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
119 - 124 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2008

We found River Birches at Turangi by accident, not being keen fishing enthusiastics. It is tucked away down a quiet road in the not very lively town of Turangi, but close to Lake Taupo. We have been on an extra long honeymoon trip around NZ/Aus mostly staying in B&Bs and RB was a little out of our price range. However, it did surpass our expectations and was worth the bit extra. The Lodge, as described previously is extremely well presented, and in pristine condition (even though it has been running 3 yrs I understand). We were lucky enough to be the only people staying for our 2 nights there and had the whole place to ourselves. Our only criticism would be that our host (unfortunately the name has been forgotten as it was several months ago!) was a little cool/offish at first, and we didn't get the friendly Kiwi welcome we had become accustomed to. She had been working solid for the last few weeks before we arrived, and we did feel as if she would have preferred not to have had any guests to look after for a few days.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Broteas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2008

We loved it. Stayed three nights and if we could of we would of extended. We did the the Tongariro Alpine trek. Fabulous wines and food. My wife loved the fishing.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Bob_Greenwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2007

We had high hopes for the hotel, but were blown away by what we found. The property consists of a purpose built 'lodge' with 3 guest rooms. The lodge is entirely for the use of the guests, unlike most boutique accommodation.
The property is beautifully furnished throughout and to a higher standard than I have experienced in hotels that claim to be the world's most luxurious ( and expensive). The hosts were incredibly friendly and welcoming - nothing was too much trouble for them. Marilyn (one of the hosts) is an incredibly skilled chef and comes to the lodge to lay on a sumptuous breakfast and most nights cook an amazing 4 course dinner. The food we ate there was better than anything we experienced in award-winning restaurants across Australia and New Zealand.
If they hadn't been unavailable for the day after our booking we would have extended our stay as it was so relaxing.
The value for money was the most impressive part of it - I would have happily paid 3 times the rate and still have felt it reasonable.
You won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed: September 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank MayesTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2007

This place is amazing. Set in the nice town of Turangi, it is the perfect place to explore the Tongariro National Park.

The accommodation is modern, clean and funky. There are wonderful touches all over the place (IPOD docking stations, rubber ducks in the bathrooms).

The manager of the place was lovely - allowed us to use the washing machine and her own clothesline outside. She made reservations for us round the corner in a fantastic home cooking restaurant. She is a trained chef too and breakfast was wonderful.

This place is magical and is a must!

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank RKJP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2006

Stayed at River Birches at Turangi for two days with another couple of adults. Turangi claims, probably rightly, to be the trout fishing centre of the universe so hence we ventured to it.

River Birches is beautifully set up. The three guest rooms are located off very spacious lounge areas and an integrated dining room. The Admiral room is very elegantly presented and the other rooms are way above average.

Gardens are splendid and the 'common areas' are anything but., the owners blending New Zealand wood with tasteful and interesting Thai decorations and design.

The place is pretty reasonably priced (and NZ pricing seems to be extremely eclectic and somewhat random) at around $NZ 300 a couple and it's absolutely worth it if you want to blend trout fishing with distinctive luxury.

As for the surrounds, there's plenty of scenery, Taupo is around 40 minutes down the road and Rotorua is a little over an hour and a half drive away.

  • Stayed: November 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
10  Thank SteveWinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews