We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of River Birches Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
River Birches Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Turangi B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were a bit apprehensive about booking the Cottage at River Birches, not knowing what to expect. However, our conversations with Anthea over the phone before our trip put us at ease and we already felt before we arrived that regardless of the accommodation, Anthea would be a most helpful hostess. And indeed she was and made our stay most comfortable and pleasant - she went out of her way to attend to all our needs. And............the accommodation exceeded our expectations (and we are very well travelled). The garden was lovely and it had a water lily pond which added to the tranquil surroundings. The kitchen was so well equipped, we had more than enough crockery and cutlery to host a party in the Cottage!! Put the kitchen to good use to cook the trout that we caught.The Cottage was spacious and had a washing machine and dryer which made us really feel that it was a home away from home!! Would not hesitate to recommend it to a family looking to spend time together in a beautiful and serene surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    10
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
84
4
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
110 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

River Birches was the second of four stops on our wedding/honeymoon trip to NZ in the fall (October 2013). The lodge is beautifully decorated, impeccably kept and very relaxing. The gardens are serene and the property is walking distance from the River. Anthea was the perfect hostess, knowing just the right amount of interaction/guidance and privacy needed. We stayed in “The Mayor’s Room,” where the views of the garden, luxurious bath, and private nature of the room made it memorable. Breakfast each day was excellent and Anthea’s tips and hints about what to see in the area were right on target. We would highly recommend River Birches.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Some friends had been before us and really liked this area. They did not have the budget for River Birches but said I looked good. We went for it and were not disappointed, it exceeded our needs. Quiet, personal but not a B&B with cat hair and noisy TV. Much to the contrary a little oasis of luxury in a great area for chill-laxing, walks and fly fishing. Nikki did the Tongariro epic hike and I fished. Looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Eat dinner in. The room near the river was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

We needed a break from a busy NZ tour. We were looking for somewhere serene to spend a few days to just kick-back and recharge our batteries. Riverbirches Lodge fulfilled our requirements and some. Situated alongside the beautiful and swift flowing Tongariro river, near Lake Taupo. Our Room came complete with a Cedar hot-tub that was put to good use. The environment is a leafy garden setting complete with all the relaxing sounds of birds and bees, also with discrete places to sit back and have a quiet read or afternoon nap. The Hostess was attentive but discrete and gave excellent advice for my wife's pampering desires. The food was just spot-on whatever we ordered and accompanied by a good selection of New Zealand wines. We could have been active and gone trout-fishing or so many other activities on offer, but we were very content to listen to the fishing-stories of others and just idle our few days away. A huge recommendation from us. Thank you Riverbirches.

Room Tip: The Admiral's Room is the room with the cedar hot-tub -A perfect way to end the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaynevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

Many thanks for an excellent stay at your beautiful lodge - well designed and appointed and very friendly and welcoming. And thanks for recommending to eat at the Lake House - a lovely meal in a great setting.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank resurgence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013

Elegant rooms, nice and cozy ambience (especially I enjoy the bathtub!), beautiful environment, warmly welcomed by the host, great food too- healthy and delicious breakfast... Cannot ask for anything for more! Would recommend to just about anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel_World_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

The house is really beautiful. The room (the duchesse one) is not big but clean and modern with confortable bed and beautiful bathroom. The common part are really nice.
Both the breakfast and the diner were really good.
Anthea was really helpful to organize our activites and booked diner outside.
This was overall a great stay and there is really nothing to complain but we felt it was not worse the price at the end. It was one of the most expensive we did during our trip. We had others homestay which had also great rooms, helpfull and warm owners and often incredible location/view for half this price. Especially here, the location is really standard, nothing special. Finally, this place is more about seclusion and intimacy. Not a complain but you should know what you are looking for. On our side we would have preferred it a bit more social.
To conclude, I would say it is a great place to go if you have an unlimited budget but if you have to alternate great homestay and more budget hotels like us, I would keep the extra money for other lodges.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jason_bleibtreu, Owner at River Birches Lodge, responded to this review, 12 July 2013
Jonathan, thanks for your feedback. I understand that you felt River Birches was expensive. You did select the The Admiral's room. This is our premium room. It offers a soothing cedar hot tub to soak in after a long day's trout fishing or sightseeing. It is our largest and most expensive room. We do have rooms that are less expensive. You also mention River Birches is more expensive then other home-stays. I must point out that we are a luxury, Qualmark 5 star lodge and not a home-stay or a B&B. One main difference is the owners or manager do not live at the lodge. Only guests are at the lodge. You also mention River Birches is about seclusion and intimacy. This is very true. We offer seclusion and privacy.
I was glad to see that there were many aspects that you liked. We do hope to have you back one day soon and I will see that we exceed your expectations.

Regards,
Jason Bleibtreu
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
6.1 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#6 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
20.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,460 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 172 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Birches Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Birches Lodge

Property: River Birches Lodge
Address: 19 Koura Street | Taupo, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — River Birches Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located for the Tongariro crossing, fishing, and skiing getaways. River Birches is an exclusive retreat alongside the Tongariro River. Listed in Travel & Leisure Magazine’s Best of 2007. It features luxury accommodation equipped with Wi-Fi, fitness room and onsite chef. Qualmark: Five Star rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your River Birches Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing