We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Birches Lodge
Ranked #1 of 8 Turangi B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great experience”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the cottage and loved the clean, bright and well equipped home. Breakfast of muesli, cereals, fruit, eggs and bacon were available to make at our leisure. The kitchen also had everything you could possibly need to cook a meal if you didn't want to eat out.
We would definitely stay again if we had the good fortune to be in New Zealand again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NandS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    10
    8
    2
    0
See reviews for
17
85
4
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Pietrasanta, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

On our visit to New Zealand, my fiancée and I ended up staying at River Birches during the days we devoted to the exploration of Tongariro National Park area. We decided to mitigate the efforts of challenging the wild, turbulent and untouched Tongariro Alpine Crossing, staying in charming and luxurious accommodation. We couldn’t have been happier with our choice. We had the privilege of staying in two different bedrooms, both of which are really spacious, spotless and well organized. The smallest bedroom has got also an extra area for storing luggage that for overseas travellers (as we were) is such a bonus. Both bedrooms have cosy beds with beautiful soft bed linen, and gorgeous fluffy robes and towels. River Birches has two relaxing lounges where two fireplaces and comfy armchairs made us feel at home. The attention to the detail extends throughout the Lodge.

River Birches provides generous breakfasts. We were offered a wide choice: from the traditional cooked breakfast to homemade muesli, toast, fruit, yogurt, juices and last but not least delicious coffee. On arrival we were asked if we had any special requests or dietary requirements.

Anthea, who interacted with us in the estate, is an effortless graceful lady. Her flair and elegance contributed to turn our time from a lovely stay into a sophisticated experience. She easily adopted a style that best suited our expectations (and we are not the easiest people to deal with), playing with us at the right time as well as vanishing while we enjoyed the house facilities.
She was also extremely helpful. For example, thanks to her, one evening, at the very last minute, we managed to grab a table for a very late dinner in an exclusive vineyard restaurant.

Finally, I need to mention the Tongariro River, a stone’s throw away from the Lodge, which turned out to be unexpectedly interesting. There are a few walks to do in the bush where an orchestra of local birds reminds you are just in a corner of heaven.

If you are planning to do the Tongariro Alpine Crossing or some of Tongariro National Park walks I would without hesitation recommend River Birches as an amazing base.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Marcello20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A beautiful B&B with quality amenities and attention to detail (towel heater in bathroom, great toiletries provided, little chocolates with the coffee etc). But unfortunately the B&B manager was not friendly. Yes, she answered our questions and she was very polite, but she did not give a feeling that we were truly welcome. She was just doing her job - that's it. Being accused of having stolen the coffee plunger within a few hours of our departure (through the booking website, not a personal call) to then find out that it wasn't missing at all (the booking website then apologized - not her) was not a great way to conclude our stay either.
The breakfast was served around 8-8:30am without much option to have it later (maybe she would have if we insisted but she did not give us the feeling that a small sleep-in would be appreciated). The breakfast was of great quality - excellent fresh fruit, homemade granola, farm yogurt etc but with regards to cooked breakfast - one would get 1 egg and 1 slice of bacon (well, we got 2 slices on day 1 and only 1 slice on day 2). This was served with toast on the side, which is OK, but for this level of B&B there should be an option for a different type of bread or croissant etc.
Don't get me wrong, our stay wasn't unpleasant, but we will not visit again or refer anyone to River Birches.

Room Tip: The rooms aren't spacious but the bathrooms have excellent attention to detail. We did not see t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Liz V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We were a bit apprehensive about booking the Cottage at River Birches, not knowing what to expect. However, our conversations with Anthea over the phone before our trip put us at ease and we already felt before we arrived that regardless of the accommodation, Anthea would be a most helpful hostess. And indeed she was and made our stay most comfortable and pleasant - she went out of her way to attend to all our needs. And............the accommodation exceeded our expectations (and we are very well travelled). The garden was lovely and it had a water lily pond which added to the tranquil surroundings. The kitchen was so well equipped, we had more than enough crockery and cutlery to host a party in the Cottage!! Put the kitchen to good use to cook the trout that we caught.The Cottage was spacious and had a washing machine and dryer which made us really feel that it was a home away from home!! Would not hesitate to recommend it to a family looking to spend time together in a beautiful and serene surroundings.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
114 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

River Birches was the second of four stops on our wedding/honeymoon trip to NZ in the fall (October 2013). The lodge is beautifully decorated, impeccably kept and very relaxing. The gardens are serene and the property is walking distance from the River. Anthea was the perfect hostess, knowing just the right amount of interaction/guidance and privacy needed. We stayed in “The Mayor’s Room,” where the views of the garden, luxurious bath, and private nature of the room made it memorable. Breakfast each day was excellent and Anthea’s tips and hints about what to see in the area were right on target. We would highly recommend River Birches.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Some friends had been before us and really liked this area. They did not have the budget for River Birches but said I looked good. We went for it and were not disappointed, it exceeded our needs. Quiet, personal but not a B&B with cat hair and noisy TV. Much to the contrary a little oasis of luxury in a great area for chill-laxing, walks and fly fishing. Nikki did the Tongariro epic hike and I fished. Looking forward to coming back.

Room Tip: Eat dinner in. The room near the river was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We needed a break from a busy NZ tour. We were looking for somewhere serene to spend a few days to just kick-back and recharge our batteries. Riverbirches Lodge fulfilled our requirements and some. Situated alongside the beautiful and swift flowing Tongariro river, near Lake Taupo. Our Room came complete with a Cedar hot-tub that was put to good use. The environment is a leafy garden setting complete with all the relaxing sounds of birds and bees, also with discrete places to sit back and have a quiet read or afternoon nap. The Hostess was attentive but discrete and gave excellent advice for my wife's pampering desires. The food was just spot-on whatever we ordered and accompanied by a good selection of New Zealand wines. We could have been active and gone trout-fishing or so many other activities on offer, but we were very content to listen to the fishing-stories of others and just idle our few days away. A huge recommendation from us. Thank you Riverbirches.

Room Tip: The Admiral's Room is the room with the cedar hot-tub -A perfect way to end the day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shaynevan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,544 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
295 reviews
0.6 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#5 of 9 in Turangi
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Birches Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Birches Lodge

Property: River Birches Lodge
Address: 19 Koura Street | Taupo, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — River Birches Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located for the Tongariro crossing, fishing, and skiing getaways. River Birches is an exclusive retreat alongside the Tongariro River. Listed in Travel & Leisure Magazine’s Best of 2007. It features luxury accommodation equipped with Wi-Fi, fitness room and onsite chef. Qualmark: Five Star rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Birches Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing