We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
River Birches Lodge
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (139)
Filter reviews
139 results
Traveller rating
119
10
8
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
119
10
8
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnew zealandb bfly fishingtongariro national parkadmiral roomthe kitchenbeautiful gardenprivate guideluxurious accommodationwooden hot tubwonderful dinnertrout fishingbrown troutfour nightsbeautiful place to staypeaceful settingtongariro area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
52 - 57 of 139 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at River Birches Lodge for Christmas 2013 and enjoyed it very much. It was the best lodge we have stayed at during our 4 weeks New Zealand trip. It is a nice, luxury hideaway with breathtaking architecture and a very private atmosphere. We had the admiral's room which is featured by a large bathroom (tub and shower) and a very comfortable king size bed and a sunny terrace towards the lodge's garden. There is plenty of space for luggage in a walk-in closet.

The best part of the lodge however is Anthea, the host. Not only that she cooks amazing dinners but also is she very caring, helped us arranging tours and solved unforeseen problems for us. Her attitude was always in a professional but humorous and caring manner.

The lodges architecture and the host's attitude made it very easy to get in touch with other guests or to avoid exactly this when we were more into privacy.

All in all a great stay and a very recommendable place to explore the Tongariro National Park and the Lake Taupo area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolfgang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The cottage is a great huge and luxurious house. All you can ever think you need is provided in a very beautiful setting with classy decoration. Besides Anthea is a very welcoming host who helped us get the best of our stay around with great walks and restaurants tips. Thx. Just need to realize you are 50km from Taupo so prepare your activities with that in mind like we did by sheer luck :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 3frenchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Together with a Swiss couple visiting NZ I stayed two nights at the River Birches Lodge. We not only enjoyed the beauty and charm of the place, but also the fine hospitality provided by Anthea. She not only booked restaurants and a scenic flight but surprised us with a Tongariro trout breakfast with the 'big one' that our guest brought home after the one-day trout fishing experience! A very pleasurable experience! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WernerRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Cottage at River Birches is truly magnificent. This superlative, beautifully adorned, architectural gem sits a mere 'fly cast' away from the very fishing hole that Zane Grey, Captain Mitchell and Maori guide Hoka Downs visited in 1926 that inspired Zane Grey to pen New Zealand as the "Angler's Eldorado". Providing full 'home stay style' amenities that are catered to by the areas artisinal agricultural, fine cheeses and specialty meat producers, 'The Cottage' provides the most comforting after activities accommodations we have ever had the pleasure of enjoying. Warm and comfortable facilities that are surrounded by New Zealand's premiere angling, hiking and extensive outdoor activities, we will fondly remember and reminisce of our stay at The Cottage at River Birches until we have the opportunity to return and experience this truly wondrous place once again. My wife and I, along with our two children, cannot recommend 'The Cottage' highly enough.

Room Tip: All of the bedrooms are comfortable and quiet with The Ngauruhoe Room providing an excellent afternoon place to sit and soak up that sun, enjoy the natural surroundings and sleep to the soothing sound of trickling water. A must!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FleurDeLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Hands-down the best B&B we have ever visited! Perfectly appointed rooms that were modern yet cozy, a bathroom that rivals some of my favorite spas, and an incredibly helpful staff - Anthea was like our own private chef and tour guide! She also booked us a day-trip with a guide to fly-fish the Tongariro River, found us a local rental car after we were unable to book one online in advance and even drove us to the rental car personally! We had a beautiful, relaxing stay and would recommend to any traveler!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews