We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let's go fishing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
River Birches Lodge
Ranked #1 of 9 Turangi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The River Birches is an Inn a long the lines of a Japanese retreat. Ponds in the beautifully appointed gardens, surrounded by mature trees, and local New Zealand Art. We loved they had hundreds of movies from all over the world. The kitchens are as well appointed as my home. Just down the street is a world class fishing river with a beautiful walk and a hatchery an easy walk away. Athena is your host and she is lovely and will assist with whatever you need.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katy Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

44 - 50 of 132 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

Our stay at River Birches was delightful, it is a wonderfully relaxing and elegant place, made all the more so by the host, Anthea. There is a fantastic loop along the river for a morning walk, to follow with a wonderous breakfast made by Anthea from only the freshest ingredients. Highly recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Pete M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at River Birches Lodge for Christmas 2013 and enjoyed it very much. It was the best lodge we have stayed at during our 4 weeks New Zealand trip. It is a nice, luxury hideaway with breathtaking architecture and a very private atmosphere. We had the admiral's room which is featured by a large bathroom (tub and shower) and a very comfortable king size bed and a sunny terrace towards the lodge's garden. There is plenty of space for luggage in a walk-in closet.

The best part of the lodge however is Anthea, the host. Not only that she cooks amazing dinners but also is she very caring, helped us arranging tours and solved unforeseen problems for us. Her attitude was always in a professional but humorous and caring manner.

The lodges architecture and the host's attitude made it very easy to get in touch with other guests or to avoid exactly this when we were more into privacy.

All in all a great stay and a very recommendable place to explore the Tongariro National Park and the Lake Taupo area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wolfgang R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

The cottage is a great huge and luxurious house. All you can ever think you need is provided in a very beautiful setting with classy decoration. Besides Anthea is a very welcoming host who helped us get the best of our stay around with great walks and restaurants tips. Thx. Just need to realize you are 50km from Taupo so prepare your activities with that in mind like we did by sheer luck :)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank 3frenchies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

Together with a Swiss couple visiting NZ I stayed two nights at the River Birches Lodge. We not only enjoyed the beauty and charm of the place, but also the fine hospitality provided by Anthea. She not only booked restaurants and a scenic flight but surprised us with a Tongariro trout breakfast with the 'big one' that our guest brought home after the one-day trout fishing experience! A very pleasurable experience! Will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WernerRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The Cottage at River Birches is truly magnificent. This superlative, beautifully adorned, architectural gem sits a mere 'fly cast' away from the very fishing hole that Zane Grey, Captain Mitchell and Maori guide Hoka Downs visited in 1926 that inspired Zane Grey to pen New Zealand as the "Angler's Eldorado". Providing full 'home stay style' amenities that are catered to by the areas artisinal agricultural, fine cheeses and specialty meat producers, 'The Cottage' provides the most comforting after activities accommodations we have ever had the pleasure of enjoying. Warm and comfortable facilities that are surrounded by New Zealand's premiere angling, hiking and extensive outdoor activities, we will fondly remember and reminisce of our stay at The Cottage at River Birches until we have the opportunity to return and experience this truly wondrous place once again. My wife and I, along with our two children, cannot recommend 'The Cottage' highly enough.

Room Tip: All of the bedrooms are comfortable and quiet with The Ngauruhoe Room providing an excellent afterno...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FleurDeLei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Hands-down the best B&B we have ever visited! Perfectly appointed rooms that were modern yet cozy, a bathroom that rivals some of my favorite spas, and an incredibly helpful staff - Anthea was like our own private chef and tour guide! She also booked us a day-trip with a guide to fly-fish the Tongariro River, found us a local rental car after we were unable to book one online in advance and even drove us to the rental car personally! We had a beautiful, relaxing stay and would recommend to any traveler!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emily D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
6.1 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
125 reviews
20.2 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,661 reviews
0.4 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#2 of 17 in Turangi
192 reviews
0.5 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.9 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to River Birches Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Birches Lodge

Address: 19 Koura Street | Taupo, Turangi 3334, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Turangi
Price Range: £293 - £441 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — River Birches Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located for the Tongariro crossing, fishing, and skiing getaways. River Birches is an exclusive retreat alongside the Tongariro River. Listed in Travel & Leisure Magazine’s Best of 2007. It features luxury accommodation equipped with Wi-Fi, fitness room and onsite chef. Qualmark: Five Star rated. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your River Birches Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing