We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Aging, but still a beauty”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Turangi Bridge Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Aging, but still a beauty”
Reviewed 7 January 2012

My most recent stay was I think my 4th stay at Bridge over 4 decades. Not a lot has changed in the decor and fittings. The Media Services (TV, Video, Internet) are still in the 80's. But a stay the Bridge had always centered itself around the Bar and Restaurant as the Hub area and the services there, which remains still top class and at least Sky and Wifi are available there. There only still the Spas and Sauna's in terms on Resort Facilities. They allow dogs which was the pull for us this time but very good facilities for walking.

An overall upgrade is probably overdue for the place. But I still would probably rate it highly and the rates are very attractive and excellent value. Given it's proximity to Taupo and the Mountain still makes a great place to stay. Don't be put off by it proximity to the highway still relaxing nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gonz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    152
    97
    30
    8
    1
See reviews for
89
123
18
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2011

My husband and I are staying at Bridge Fishing Lodge. The room is darling. There is a stocked kitchen and bathroom and the room has lovely decorations. The carpeting seemed brand new.
We ate dinner at the restaurant. The stacked vegetarian dinner was delicious. My husband had the salmon which he thought was some of the best he has had. We sat on the deck and had local wine before dinner.
My husband fished and the owners Lyn and Kent invited me to have coffee with them as I used the wireless at the main lodge. I hope to be able to return someday!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Librariandonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2011

Firstly, I'm not a complainer. It has taken months for me to write this review as I am torn about having to be negative.

We booked this lodge as a base for a snowboarding holiday. We checked in on a Monday evening after a day on the mountain. The room seemed ok and the man who checked us in was friendly enough. We stayed in room 1 closest to the office area.

On the Wednesday I developed welts on my body. By the Thursday I had over 20 welts from what I believe to be bedbugs. The welts were in lines and groups of 3 all around my torso. My partner was not bitten or did not react, this is not unusual according to bedbug research. there was crunching under the carpet between the bed and the kitchen which could indicate dead shells, and the mattress was covered in black spots. I could not see behind the headboard. I wanted to go home but did not want to take the bed bugs with us so we stayed Thursday night, got up on Friday morning and drove to Taupo and purchased bed bug spray and returned to the lodge where we sprayed everything and checked our belongings carefully before packing the car.

The welts were incredibly painful and I was close to tears a number of times. I felt dirty and did not want to discuss the issue when my partner checked us out on the Saturday morning.

Upon arriving home we unpacked the car straight into the laundry and every item we had went through a hot wash or was out in the deep freeze for a month.
We threw away a suitcase, a snowboarding helmet, a pair of shoes and my favorite ug boots as they had been on the floor in the room for a number of nights and posed a threat to or home if they had bugs in then.

The next day I phoned the lodge and told then that I believed I had been bitten by bedbugs. The man told me he would look into it.

A week passed and the welts were finally starting to ease in their intensity. I spent 200 dollars on a mattress protector in case we had brought the bugs home. I did not hear back from the lodge. So I sent then an email. The reply I received was, in my opinion, not adequate.

I was told the manager who I spoke to had left the lodge the following day and had not passed the message on. This seemed very strange, as I believed he lived on site.

The lodge informed me that they had contacted a man who stays in that room regularly and he had not been bitten so therefore there is no problem and they offered me a 20% discount on my next stay! They could not pay me to go back there.

I think they should have called a pest control officer to investigate my claim. They could've at least looked at the black spots on the mattress and investigated the strange crunching under the carpet.

This incident cost my partner and I a huge amount of time and energy. I estimate the replaced goods and mattress cover to have cost over $700. My biggest concern is the nonchalant way in which our complaint was dealt with.

I have written this review to hopefully save someone else from having to go through this psychological and financial trauma.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank SilentS_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We spent just one night here but would happily stay more when we go through Turangi again. We were greeted with smiles (even though it was close to 11pm) and the owner walked us to our room and was very friendly.

The room was fantastic, good size, comfy bed and most importantly had electric blankets and a nice heater which heated the room quickly. The shower was amazing, better than our one at home and had endless hot water.

We were given some milk and the room had coffee and tea making facilities which were just what we needed after our long drive.

They were more than accommodating for breakfast the next morning and even offered us a late check out at no extra charge.

I would highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ems_Hame
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We came across this place and only intended staying one night but ended up staying two. The food was absolutely fantastic and the rooms while a little dated were very comfortable and clean and very reasonably priced. The new owners are great, very friendly and hospitable and are refurbishing at present. The service was great. We were very pleasantly surprised with all that Turangi has to offer with amazing walks that suit all levels of fitness. In the past we have just driven through Turangi but never again - it is well worth the stop. The river runs alongside this Lodge and the lake is very handy as well. This is a sportsman's paradise with something for all the family. The owner, Kent, entertained us on his guitar with some great music which added to a very memorable stay. Highly recommend!!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Abouttimetraveller78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dorset
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 11 December 2010

We came across on this motel when our pre-booked Lake Taupo stay turned out to be more a "Backpackers" variety and we moved on.
Location is superb with river walk and surrounded by pleasant parkland.
The present Chef produces wonderful meals. My partner was especially impressed with the creme brulee topped with a large portion of Manuka honeycomb.
The accomodation is in cabins pleasantly fitted out.
Within a few miles the road leads to the Tongariro National Park and a stunning viewpoint over Lake Taupo and the Crater Lake walk of Lake Rotopounamu.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southwynd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Putaruru
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2010

The Bridge lodge has eveything a traveller needs, the famous Tongariro River at your door step, Tidy well presents clean rooms at very reasonable prices, plus a very welcoming bar and reataurant , real great pub food and New Zealand Cuisene. We found the staff very friendly and helpfull, will definately stay here during the Ski Season.

Turangi is now famous for its Autumn colours, make it a place to stop if you are travelling through NZ, it is exactly half way between Wellington and Auckland - if you want to avoid the hustle and bustle of Rotorua and Taupo, the book at the Bridge, great parking if you have a camper.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DADANZ1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
21.0 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,569 reviews
5.6 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tongariro River Motel
Tongariro River Motel
#8 of 9 in Turangi
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.5 mi away
Creel Lodge Motel
Creel Lodge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Judges Pool Motel
Judges Pool Motel
#6 of 9 in Turangi
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turangi Bridge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turangi Bridge Motel

Property: Turangi Bridge Motel
Address: 4600 State Highway 1 | P.O. Box 42, Turangi, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Turangi Bridge Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With comfortable accommodation, New Zealand cuisine, stunning landscapes and adventure activities right on our doorstep, Turangi Bridge Motel offers everything you need for a real New Zealand holiday escape. Our Turangi accommodation provides access to the Tongariro National Park with a large selection of New Zealand adventure activities including river rafting, mountain biking, skiing, trout fishing and fly fishing, and for the keen hiker, the world famous Tongariro Crossing. We offer a New Zealand restaurant and are available as a function or wedding venue. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Turangi Bridge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing