We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I would re-visit this lovely café” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Thyme For Food - CLOSED

Thyme For Food
Cuisines: Cafe
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Dordrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“I would re-visit this lovely café”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

I have just read some of the comments- and feel I must have visited another café than described by others. Clean, friendly service, yummy food and a great atmosphere. We loved it. My husband and I ( on holiday from the Netherlands) were returning to Hamilton after a 7 day tour of the lower part of the North Island. We were impressed with this café being surprised to find such an up to date modern establishment in Turangi. Well done.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3deschoffie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    11
    11
    2
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Turangi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Grubby floors, good scones...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Have been here several times, don't really know why I return, probably because there is not much else available in Turangi.... The food is ok, scones are good, but the floor is always dirty. Should be washed every night and I don't think it has been properly washed and polished in months... Sometimes the staff are friendly, other times sour. Very average.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank isabellamunro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
x
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great coffee!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

A sweet little place with friendly staff. Tasty flat white just perfectly hot. The toast with onion, tomatoes and cheese - wow! I would defenitely go there again.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank XZaNzIbAr2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tokoroa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2013

I would not go back as I have been there before and the service gets worse every time.
The décor has been changed but not a good look at all. Food is okay but the service is slow and staff not very friendly.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank TamsnG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NZ
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Yummy lunch but tired otherwise”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2013

We stopped at Turangi on the way back to Taupo from the snow for lunch. We ordered the potato wedges & I saw on the menu they had bacon, onion and chilli sauce which I thought was a bit odd but was willing to give it a go. They were really nice with the bacon and sweet chilli sauce - quite different and something I would try again for wedges in the future. The kids had a bowl of fries and they had kids cupcakes which they enjoyed.

The decor was dated & very old style but we sat outside in the sun. We did find it on the pricier side for lunch but it was the only cafe open - the other 2 we could see were closed and we didn't see the Burger King until we were driving out of the carpark.

The service wasn't exceptional but it wasn't unexceptional either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NzKiwi4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Thyme For Food also viewed

Turangi, Taupo District
 
Turangi, Taupo District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing