We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay, fantastic location, bird life, river and service. As good as ever.”
Review of Creel Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creel Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay, fantastic location, bird life, river and service. As good as ever.”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for four nights over Queens Birthday. Great hosts, location and spotless accommodation. Relaxed atmosphere to wind down. Great units with everything you need for a fly fishing trip, bar guaranteed fish!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMCNEIL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    64
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
73
163
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights mid-May 2013. I fly fished the mighty Tongariro river and my wife happily walked the river trails and read a much delayed book. The 'cabin' was very comfortable, spotlessly clean with a superb inventory. The gardens and grounds are so peaceful - trees and native birds making for a blissful environment. The local township has good restaurant eateries, and takeaways plus a supermarket. A wonderful place to stay and on the drive back home we both agreed we would be back, and back, and back.

Room Tip: We stayed in an 'executive' cabin and found it superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was my 4th time there - I love this spot & I do not fish. It is very peaceful & the people who run it are great. The gardens are nice, the furniture is not 5 star but neither are the prices & I prefer a more relaxed feel - like a holiday house.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was our third visit to Creel. Though we don't fish we find walking the river trails along the beautiful Tongariro river a magic experience. The suites are well equipped and spotlessly clean with outdoor decks overlooking lovely peaceful gardens, planted to encourage native birds. Though the lodge feels secluded, the village and supermarket are an easy ten minute walk away. Great base for tramping the Tongariro National Park, and to ease those aching muscles, the Tokaanu hot pools are just a ten minute drive from the lodge. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the Taupo region.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We weren't intending to fish and before we got there weren't quite sure we'd made the right choice. Well we did - this place is just wonderful for everyone, not just fishermen.
Beautiful lodges, wonderfully peacful, lovely grounds with the added bonus of (numerous) barbecues and "decks" on which to enjoy the food and the wine. You definitely don't need to eat out if you stay here.
In short ur only problem was that we were only there three nights - it was perhaps the one place on our New Zealand adventure where we'd have liked longer. Turangi is perfectly situated for touring the volcanic area, so if that is your thing then plan to stay in the town and definitely choose Creel Lodge - and you can easily do Taupo in a day round trip.
And finally - my wife who has absolutely no interest in fishing - was heard to say that if we'd stayed a couple more days she'd have had a go.
The title says it all - just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VEROUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Beautiful lodge with everything you need to have a great stay. It was great to cook dinner in and then hang out on the front deck enjoying the beautiful climate. Owner was very helpful in things to do in the area and the best time to do them. Rooms were nicely updated and had everything we needed. We wanted to stay an additional night, but the place was full. The owner was very helpful in helping us find another place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2013

Five fly fishers from Victoria Australia visited 10 to 23 March 2013.

The cabins were great, clean well appointed and spacious. We had two rooms. Nothing was too much trouble for Richardd and Jill, even helping out with our injured friend!

A fabulous private garden setting made it easy for us to enjoy rest time and bbqs. Cost effective ,friendly and located right on the river......

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erich02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,586 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
20.4 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creel Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel Lodge Motel

Property: Creel Lodge Motel
Address: 183 Taupahi Road | Waikato, Turangi 3444, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Creel Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creel Lodge - Peaceful and quiet away from the main highway, private river access. Tired of travelling? Then visit this oasis on the central plateau, 15 minutes from the Tongariro Crossing. Inspection welcomed. Have a safe journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Creel Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creel Hotel Turangi
Creel Motel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing