We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in stunning location”
Review of Creel Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creel Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Easily the best of several places we've tried in Turangi. What we've been looking for - private units in lovely grounds wakening up to birdsong and the river at the end of the gardens. units are very comfortabel and gas BBQs outside are a bonus. There's really good fish cleaning stations if you are lucky enought to have a trout to clean! But we just wanted a night away form the hustle and bustle. Good fish and chip shop and supermarket close by and a kitchen to cook dinner if you wish. Very welcoming and knowledgeable managers. Thnaks for a restful and recuperating stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: ALl the rooms looked good and the setting and gardens mean they are reasonably private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (318)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

177 - 183 of 318 reviews

Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for four nights over Queens Birthday. Great hosts, location and spotless accommodation. Relaxed atmosphere to wind down. Great units with everything you need for a fly fishing trip, bar guaranteed fish!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJMCNEIL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights mid-May 2013. I fly fished the mighty Tongariro river and my wife happily walked the river trails and read a much delayed book. The 'cabin' was very comfortable, spotlessly clean with a superb inventory. The gardens and grounds are so peaceful - trees and native birds making for a blissful environment. The local township has good restaurant eateries, and takeaways plus a supermarket. A wonderful place to stay and on the drive back home we both agreed we would be back, and back, and back.

Room Tip: We stayed in an 'executive' cabin and found it superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was my 4th time there - I love this spot & I do not fish. It is very peaceful & the people who run it are great. The gardens are nice, the furniture is not 5 star but neither are the prices & I prefer a more relaxed feel - like a holiday house.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was our third visit to Creel. Though we don't fish we find walking the river trails along the beautiful Tongariro river a magic experience. The suites are well equipped and spotlessly clean with outdoor decks overlooking lovely peaceful gardens, planted to encourage native birds. Though the lodge feels secluded, the village and supermarket are an easy ten minute walk away. Great base for tramping the Tongariro National Park, and to ease those aching muscles, the Tokaanu hot pools are just a ten minute drive from the lodge. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the Taupo region.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank josied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We weren't intending to fish and before we got there weren't quite sure we'd made the right choice. Well we did - this place is just wonderful for everyone, not just fishermen.
Beautiful lodges, wonderfully peacful, lovely grounds with the added bonus of (numerous) barbecues and "decks" on which to enjoy the food and the wine. You definitely don't need to eat out if you stay here.
In short ur only problem was that we were only there three nights - it was perhaps the one place on our New Zealand adventure where we'd have liked longer. Turangi is perfectly situated for touring the volcanic area, so if that is your thing then plan to stay in the town and definitely choose Creel Lodge - and you can easily do Taupo in a day round trip.
And finally - my wife who has absolutely no interest in fishing - was heard to say that if we'd stayed a couple more days she'd have had a go.
The title says it all - just perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VEROUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

Beautiful lodge with everything you need to have a great stay. It was great to cook dinner in and then hang out on the front deck enjoying the beautiful climate. Owner was very helpful in things to do in the area and the best time to do them. Rooms were nicely updated and had everything we needed. We wanted to stay an additional night, but the place was full. The owner was very helpful in helping us find another place to stay.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kay D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,734 reviews
1 mi away
Tongariro Lodge
Tongariro Lodge
#9 of 10 in Turangi
196 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Reef Resort - Heritage Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#5 of 10 in Turangi
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 10 in Turangi
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creel Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel Lodge Motel

Address: 183 Taupahi Road | Waikato, Turangi 3444, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Turangi
#1 Romantic Hotel in Turangi
Price Range: £71 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Creel Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creel Lodge - Peaceful and quiet away from the main highway, private river access. Tired of travelling? Then visit this oasis on the central plateau, 15 minutes from the Tongariro Crossing. Inspection welcomed. Have a safe journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Creel Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creel Hotel Turangi
Creel Motel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing