We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beutiful location, helpful hosts.”
Review of Creel Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creel Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beutiful location, helpful hosts.”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a wonderful time in this lovely lodge with private units in a garden setting and the Tongariro river a 1 minute walk from our front door. Richard and Jill were welcoming hosts with Richard helping our kids smoke the trout we caught in Lake Taupo. We were there in winter for the skiing but plan to be back in summer. We thought for a family of 4 in a 2 bedroom unit at $180 a night this was very reasonable.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wtpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    64
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
73
163
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Located at the southern end of Lake Taupo, Turangi was a convenient location to spend the night during our motoring holiday of New Zealand. We only stayed at Creel Lodge for one night but our unit was just lovely. There was a deck outside with an outdoor setting and BBQ areas in the garden. The gardens were amazing and made the units very private. The furniture in the room looks dated but the couch and the bed were both very comfortable and the heating was wonderful making the room lovely and cozy. The unit was self contained and the kitchen was spotlessly clean and contained everything you could ever need. The hotel was located in a lovely tree lined suburban type street a very short drive to the supermarket. There was no noise from the main road at all. The manager recommended a walk along the river which was accessed from the end of the garden. I would have loved to have spent more time walking along the track enjoying the scenery and the birds but we had to leave. Even though we don't fish, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Easily the best of several places we've tried in Turangi. What we've been looking for - private units in lovely grounds wakening up to birdsong and the river at the end of the gardens. units are very comfortabel and gas BBQs outside are a bonus. There's really good fish cleaning stations if you are lucky enought to have a trout to clean! But we just wanted a night away form the hustle and bustle. Good fish and chip shop and supermarket close by and a kitchen to cook dinner if you wish. Very welcoming and knowledgeable managers. Thnaks for a restful and recuperating stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: ALl the rooms looked good and the setting and gardens mean they are reasonably private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

We stayed for four nights over Queens Birthday. Great hosts, location and spotless accommodation. Relaxed atmosphere to wind down. Great units with everything you need for a fly fishing trip, bar guaranteed fish!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJMCNEIL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights mid-May 2013. I fly fished the mighty Tongariro river and my wife happily walked the river trails and read a much delayed book. The 'cabin' was very comfortable, spotlessly clean with a superb inventory. The gardens and grounds are so peaceful - trees and native birds making for a blissful environment. The local township has good restaurant eateries, and takeaways plus a supermarket. A wonderful place to stay and on the drive back home we both agreed we would be back, and back, and back.

Room Tip: We stayed in an 'executive' cabin and found it superb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

This was my 4th time there - I love this spot & I do not fish. It is very peaceful & the people who run it are great. The gardens are nice, the furniture is not 5 star but neither are the prices & I prefer a more relaxed feel - like a holiday house.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay of Plenty Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013

This was our third visit to Creel. Though we don't fish we find walking the river trails along the beautiful Tongariro river a magic experience. The suites are well equipped and spotlessly clean with outdoor decks overlooking lovely peaceful gardens, planted to encourage native birds. Though the lodge feels secluded, the village and supermarket are an easy ten minute walk away. Great base for tramping the Tongariro National Park, and to ease those aching muscles, the Tokaanu hot pools are just a ten minute drive from the lodge. We wouldn't consider staying anywhere else in the Taupo region.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josied1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,586 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
20.4 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
288 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creel Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel Lodge Motel

Property: Creel Lodge Motel
Address: 183 Taupahi Road | Waikato, Turangi 3444, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Creel Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creel Lodge - Peaceful and quiet away from the main highway, private river access. Tired of travelling? Then visit this oasis on the central plateau, 15 minutes from the Tongariro Crossing. Inspection welcomed. Have a safe journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Creel Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creel Hotel Turangi
Creel Motel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing