We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great find!”
Review of Creel Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creel Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed for one night before heading to the mountain skiing. A great welcome...we had a 2 bedroom unit - it was warm, immaculate - very very clean and comfortable. The whole place is really well maintained. Its right on the river so easy access for walking, fishing etc. We will definitely come back. We loved it!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kateglnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (300)
There are newer reviews for Creel Lodge Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 300 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Turangi situated at the southern end of lake Taupo is world renowned for its trout fishing.
Creel Lodge is an absolute gem of a place tucked away off the main road and set in among-st mature trees and gardens with plenty of places to BBQ your dinner and enjoy the abundant bird life.
Accommodation is a series of cottages that have recently been renovated providing a comfortable air conditioned place to stay whilst retaining its links with its trout fishing history I have been staying here for the past 20 or so years.
Not the cheapest place to stay in town but its quiet location with the river right outside the back gate and uniqueness
is well worth the extra.

Room Tip: Cottage 5 or 7 face into the late afternoon sun for a quiet drink after a days walking, fishing or s...
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We loved having the extra space here, with a lounge / kitchen separate to the bedroom. Felt more like staying in a small cottage unit than a motel room. A beautiful setting near the river (with a lovely river walk) and pretty gardens with barbeques. Also a veranda with table and chairs outside our room, to relax on. Peaceful place. Well equipped full kitchen, smart bathroom and comfortable bedroom - all spotlessly clean. Good wi-fi (stayed in an executive studio). Good value and would def stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swholidaymaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here several times now since 2007 - this was our 4th stay. Peter and his crew, the managers, and the staff are all top notch folks! Just wonderful people!

Of the units we have occupied, we found the executive suite to have the most comfortable beds.

The two bedroom ones, while roomy, need upgrades on the mattresses - we really were not comfortable sleeping on these as they were softer than we thought was adequate support for adults.

We really enjoyed the beautiful setting and the lodge facilities are just perfect for fisherman - freezer space and all the cleaning area needed - It's great being able to cook and relax there, is awesome after fishing all day - and the early mornings with birds chirping - the Tui's in the gorgeous gardens - all are just amazing!

The proximity to the river trail makes access to the Tongariro very straightforward. Great for hiking as well as fishing access.

We will return - this is just simply a great place!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank West_Tx_54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We had a wonderful time in this lovely lodge with private units in a garden setting and the Tongariro river a 1 minute walk from our front door. Richard and Jill were welcoming hosts with Richard helping our kids smoke the trout we caught in Lake Taupo. We were there in winter for the skiing but plan to be back in summer. We thought for a family of 4 in a 2 bedroom unit at $180 a night this was very reasonable.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Wtpnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Located at the southern end of Lake Taupo, Turangi was a convenient location to spend the night during our motoring holiday of New Zealand. We only stayed at Creel Lodge for one night but our unit was just lovely. There was a deck outside with an outdoor setting and BBQ areas in the garden. The gardens were amazing and made the units very private. The furniture in the room looks dated but the couch and the bed were both very comfortable and the heating was wonderful making the room lovely and cozy. The unit was self contained and the kitchen was spotlessly clean and contained everything you could ever need. The hotel was located in a lovely tree lined suburban type street a very short drive to the supermarket. There was no noise from the main road at all. The manager recommended a walk along the river which was accessed from the end of the garden. I would have loved to have spent more time walking along the track enjoying the scenery and the birds but we had to leave. Even though we don't fish, we had a great stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Easily the best of several places we've tried in Turangi. What we've been looking for - private units in lovely grounds wakening up to birdsong and the river at the end of the gardens. units are very comfortabel and gas BBQs outside are a bonus. There's really good fish cleaning stations if you are lucky enought to have a trout to clean! But we just wanted a night away form the hustle and bustle. Good fish and chip shop and supermarket close by and a kitchen to cook dinner if you wish. Very welcoming and knowledgeable managers. Thnaks for a restful and recuperating stay. We'll be back.

Room Tip: ALl the rooms looked good and the setting and gardens mean they are reasonably private.
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JKWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,603 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
20.4 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creel Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel Lodge Motel

Address: 183 Taupahi Road | Waikato, Turangi 3444, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range: £73 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Creel Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creel Lodge - Peaceful and quiet away from the main highway, private river access. Tired of travelling? Then visit this oasis on the central plateau, 15 minutes from the Tongariro Crossing. Inspection welcomed. Have a safe journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Creel Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creel Hotel Turangi
Creel Motel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing