We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Creel Lodge Motel
Nearby Hotels
Oreti Village(Turangi)
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Settlers Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Judges Pool Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$87
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sportsmans Lodge(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$62
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$57
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anglers Paradise Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tongariro River Motel(Turangi)(Great Value!)
US$88
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$75
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rainbow Motel(Tokaanu)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
Reviews (328)
Filter reviews
328 results
Traveller rating
243
67
14
4
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
243
67
14
4
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivertackle shoptroutdirect accesscafe on sitefishing tacklebirds singingmature treesgarden suitenew zealandbedroom unitshort walkan executive suitesurrounded by beautiful gardensfrom australiaplace to staylovely setting
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 328 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Creel was recommended to us 4 years ago on our second visit to NZ. We enjoyed it thoroughly then, and stayed again this March on a return trip to the area. The landscaping is exceptional, and the units are very comfortable and pleasant. For anglers, the location right on the Tongariro is perfect. It's also a good location for walkers, and an early morning walk on the River Walk is beautiful. If we are back in this area again in the future, we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Although the location was wonderful we were disappointed with the reception and service we received. We telephoned to book in the night before and although the telephone was answered by Jill, she refused to take the booking and told us to call during office hours the following day. We managed a get a chalet the next day when we rang again the next morning. She told us we had 24 hours free internet and was sufficient for 38,000 text messages! We sent less than a dozen messages and were horrified that we had run out before the next day. Jill told us it was because we had two mobiles and an iPad which were searching all the time! This certainly hadn't happened anywhere else. She came across to our chalet at 10.15 a.m. on our departure day when we had nearly finished packing and asked when we were leaving. Not very friendly.

Room Tip: This was a very secluded and peaceful spot. The location is delightful and all the units are well appointed. Shame about the unfriendly welcome and service we received. This is not typical of the welcome we have had elsewhere.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband, an avid fisherman, and I stayed here in March 2014. We were given a one-bedroom suite that was just beautiful. The wood-panelled lounge was nicely furnished, the kitchen and bath were modern and well-equipped, and the bedroom was large and quiet. Everything was immaculate. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming, and the housekeeping staff were always courteous and thorough. This is a very well-managed place in a great location on the river (access to the river track right out the back gate) and also within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Whether you enjoy fishing or not, this is a wonderful place to stay. There is also a fishing tackle shop and delightful cafe on site.

Room Tip: We were in #17 which is on the end -- nice light and only 1 neighbor! This is in a group of newer units, with nice front porches, small gardens and BBQ grills adjacent.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank NZtravelerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Had booked 2 notes here and instantly knew we'd want to stay longer. Fortunately there was a vacancy so we ended up staying 4 nights. My wife was happy to hang out, relax and enjoy the gardens, the river walking paths and birds while I fished. We based from Turangi to explore Taupo as well, just 40 min away Restaurants in Turangi were scarce, not always open. Fortunately Creel has nice cooking facilities with the rooms so we enjoyed a couple of home made meals

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JLK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

As a group of 4 adults we stayed only one night in this motel. The room was very spacious and clean, with better than usual amenities.
This motel is geared to cater for the trout fishermen who come to fish in the local river but this did not stop us non-fishing types from enjoying the place. The gardens are beautiful and very well looked after and the BBQ for guests was fantastic. On our way back to Auckland we have booked to stay here again. Top marks!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobinKurd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews