We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful”
Review of Creel Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Creel Lodge Motel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Peaceful”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Unfortunately we had only one night here when touring around the North Island. Our unit (Green Fuzzy Wuzzy) was clean and comfortable, with our own outside seating area.
The motel is located in a very peaceful area of Turangi, in fact you are able to walk out the bottom of the site onto a riverside walk.
It is not far from the town centre and the shops etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    216
    64
    14
    4
    0
See reviews for
72
163
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A well maintained and beautiful, peaceful place to stay. Our cabin was clean, comfortable and well suited to our family of 4 with everything we needed to cater for ourselves. The managers were lovely and helpful and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. I'd thoroughly recommend it and would visit again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
545 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We are a belgian couple and travel a lot. Our stay at Creel Lodge was super. We liked it very much ! The garden is gorgeous and the little units are really nice and clean. I strongly recommend this place ! Nice walks and very intresting to watch the fishermen in the nearby river. The staff was very, very helpfull.......thank you again !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
96 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Creel was recommended to us 4 years ago on our second visit to NZ. We enjoyed it thoroughly then, and stayed again this March on a return trip to the area. The landscaping is exceptional, and the units are very comfortable and pleasant. For anglers, the location right on the Tongariro is perfect. It's also a good location for walkers, and an early morning walk on the River Walk is beautiful. If we are back in this area again in the future, we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Although the location was wonderful we were disappointed with the reception and service we received. We telephoned to book in the night before and although the telephone was answered by Jill, she refused to take the booking and told us to call during office hours the following day. We managed a get a chalet the next day when we rang again the next morning. She told us we had 24 hours free internet and was sufficient for 38,000 text messages! We sent less than a dozen messages and were horrified that we had run out before the next day. Jill told us it was because we had two mobiles and an iPad which were searching all the time! This certainly hadn't happened anywhere else. She came across to our chalet at 10.15 a.m. on our departure day when we had nearly finished packing and asked when we were leaving. Not very friendly.

Room Tip: This was a very secluded and peaceful spot. The location is delightful and all the units are well ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My husband, an avid fisherman, and I stayed here in March 2014. We were given a one-bedroom suite that was just beautiful. The wood-panelled lounge was nicely furnished, the kitchen and bath were modern and well-equipped, and the bedroom was large and quiet. Everything was immaculate. The hosts were very friendly and welcoming, and the housekeeping staff were always courteous and thorough. This is a very well-managed place in a great location on the river (access to the river track right out the back gate) and also within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. Whether you enjoy fishing or not, this is a wonderful place to stay. There is also a fishing tackle shop and delightful cafe on site.

Room Tip: We were in #17 which is on the end -- nice light and only 1 neighbor! This is in a group of newer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank NZtravelerOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Had booked 2 notes here and instantly knew we'd want to stay longer. Fortunately there was a vacancy so we ended up staying 4 nights. My wife was happy to hang out, relax and enjoy the gardens, the river walking paths and birds while I fished. We based from Turangi to explore Taupo as well, just 40 min away Restaurants in Turangi were scarce, not always open. Fortunately Creel has nice cooking facilities with the rooms so we enjoyed a couple of home made meals

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JLK1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
1,567 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#7 of 9 in Turangi
121 reviews
20.4 mi away
Skotel Alpine Resort
Skotel Alpine Resort
#2 of 2 in Whakapapa
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#2 of 9 in Turangi
287 reviews
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creel Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel Lodge Motel

Property: Creel Lodge Motel
Address: 183 Taupahi Road | Waikato, Turangi 3444, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Creel Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creel Lodge - Peaceful and quiet away from the main highway, private river access. Tired of travelling? Then visit this oasis on the central plateau, 15 minutes from the Tongariro Crossing. Inspection welcomed. Have a safe journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Creel Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creel Hotel Turangi
Creel Motel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing