We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rustic and peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Creel Lodge Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Creel Lodge Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
177 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Rustic and peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We spent two nights here recently. We arrived in the rain just after dark. Richard and Jill were lovely and check in was simple and quick. The cabin had two bedrooms with comfortable queen beds. The lounge was also comfortable and the kitchen was well equipped although we didn't use it beyond making a cup of coffee.

The grounds are peaceful and spacious and I would imagine a great place for families to holiday. Turangi itself though isn't much to write home about though and our prime purpose of staying here was to do the Tongariro Crosssing but unfortunately it was closed due to bad weather both days. Next time I think we'll probably base ourselves in Taupo where there is a bit more to do and drive to the Crosssing.

All up, we were happy with our choice of Creel Lodge and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: If concerned about noise you might want to ask for a unit away from the bbq area although it didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank deb0910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    60
    13
    4
    0
See reviews for
65
144
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed for one night in April and were sorry not to be staying longer!

We arrived in the dark, it was torrential rain after a stressful drive and we received the most lovely, kind, welcome. When checking in the manager (sorry, cannot remember his name) gave us lots of information about the area and brought us to our cabin, which was fab!

We arrived the heating and lamps were on, the cabin looked so inviting we didn't want to leave! Spacious and comfortable lounge area, wifi, huge bed, and an incredibly well stocked kitchen. No details are overlooked even down to the fact the all of the kitchen knives were actually sharp - the only place we found that as we toured NZ!

It was excellent value also. Great place to stay, would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JwithaJ_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Unfortunately we had only one night here when touring around the North Island. Our unit (Green Fuzzy Wuzzy) was clean and comfortable, with our own outside seating area.
The motel is located in a very peaceful area of Turangi, in fact you are able to walk out the bottom of the site onto a riverside walk.
It is not far from the town centre and the shops etc.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaz-n-Dave32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

A well maintained and beautiful, peaceful place to stay. Our cabin was clean, comfortable and well suited to our family of 4 with everything we needed to cater for ourselves. The managers were lovely and helpful and did everything they could to make our stay enjoyable. I'd thoroughly recommend it and would visit again.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sim P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
450 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

We are a belgian couple and travel a lot. Our stay at Creel Lodge was super. We liked it very much ! The garden is gorgeous and the little units are really nice and clean. I strongly recommend this place ! Nice walks and very intresting to watch the fishermen in the nearby river. The staff was very, very helpfull.......thank you again !

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Hugo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Hampshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

The Creel was recommended to us 4 years ago on our second visit to NZ. We enjoyed it thoroughly then, and stayed again this March on a return trip to the area. The landscaping is exceptional, and the units are very comfortable and pleasant. For anglers, the location right on the Tongariro is perfect. It's also a good location for walkers, and an early morning walk on the River Walk is beautiful. If we are back in this area again in the future, we will return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

Although the location was wonderful we were disappointed with the reception and service we received. We telephoned to book in the night before and although the telephone was answered by Jill, she refused to take the booking and told us to call during office hours the following day. We managed a get a chalet the next day when we rang again the next morning. She told us we had 24 hours free internet and was sufficient for 38,000 text messages! We sent less than a dozen messages and were horrified that we had run out before the next day. Jill told us it was because we had two mobiles and an iPad which were searching all the time! This certainly hadn't happened anywhere else. She came across to our chalet at 10.15 a.m. on our departure day when we had nearly finished packing and asked when we were leaving. Not very friendly.

Room Tip: This was a very secluded and peaceful spot. The location is delightful and all the units are well ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Turangi
20.5 mi away
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
Chateau Tongariro Hotel
#1 of 2 in Whakapapa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,359 reviews
5.9 mi away
Oreti Village
Oreti Village
#6 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Turangi Bridge Motel
Turangi Bridge Motel
#1 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Asure Parklands Motor Lodge
0.4 mi away
Sportsmans Lodge
Sportsmans Lodge
#4 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
0.2 mi away
Settlers Motel
Settlers Motel
#5 of 9 in Turangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creel Lodge Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creel Lodge Motel

Property: Creel Lodge Motel
Address: 183 Taupahi Road | Waikato, Turangi 3444, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Taupo District > Turangi
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Turangi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Creel Lodge Motel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Creel Lodge - Peaceful and quiet away from the main highway, private river access. Tired of travelling? Then visit this oasis on the central plateau, 15 minutes from the Tongariro Crossing. Inspection welcomed. Have a safe journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Creel Lodge Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Creel Hotel Turangi
Creel Motel Turangi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing