We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely stay in a comfortable and wonderful B&B”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whangaparaoa, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Verena7h
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely stay in a comfortable and wonderful B&B”
Reviewed 12 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

We enjoyed our stay at Janis's and Peters hause very much. During our 4 days stay we encountered great hospitality. The breakfast hast been really good and our rooms very clean. Both have been very kind and helpful. We definitely can recommend this B&B.Thank you Janis and Peter

Travelling group: Paare
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Thank you for your great review of our Bed & Breakfast, we are so glad that you enjoyed staying with us.
We do hope you get the chance to come to New Zealand again and that we can be of service to you.
Kind Regards, Janis and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AS42
County Durahm
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A jewel in Okoromai's Crown”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014

We cannot thank Janice and Peter enough for their abundant hospitality when we stayed with them this February. Janice welcomed us as though we were family with a big hug at the door before showing us to very well appointed rooms with a private kitchen and bathroom. We loved how she shared breakfast with us on our first morning telling us about her life but equally very interested to hear about ours, Nothing was any trouble whatsoever to Janice and Peter and I would most certainly recommend a stay here as a base to explore Auckland and the surrounding areas. First class!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Thank you for your lovely review of our Bed and Breakfast. It was a pleasure to have you here. I do hope you make it back to New Zealand there is so much more to see. Thank you also for sharing your stories, that is interesting when we can do that. Take care and we hope to see your back in our little corner of the world.
Kind Regards, Janis and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rob M
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A B&B with a difference”
Reviewed 23 December 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

We booked Okoromai principally because we wanted to visit Tiritiri Matangi island which Janice arranged for us with absolute efficiency. This is a very comfortable and different B&B. Plenty of room, every facility you could want and a great location. Janice and Peter are such a friendly, helpful couple; they made our visit a delight and we enjoyed swapping stories with Janice and meeting Chucky - a well dressed shop mannequin! It's quirky, it's fun and it's quite special.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Thank you Rob for choosing our Bed & Breakfast when you visited our country and your wonderful review.
I am glad that you enjoyed your time with us. Chucky is still enjoying meeting all the guests as well!
Yes Tiritiri Matangi Island is a must see especially as it is only a short journey by ferry from Gulf Harbour Marina which is just 5k down the road.
We do hope your return to New Zealand in the future.
Kind regards, Janis and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larry S
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Quintessential Kiwi Hospitality at its very best!”
Reviewed 10 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I couldn't ask for a warmer welcome at the door. Janis and Peter were very inviting, and made you feel right at home - like you were a long lost friend returning home. They even invited me into their living room to watch our TeamNZ boys knock the shines out of the Oracle USA team in the Americas Cup races. Being a keen Americas Cup fan, and desperate for our boys to bring the Cup back home, it was a treat indeed.
The place is beautiful and tastefully decorated. Clean and tidy, and my most important requirement - a good bed! The bed was just perfect - not too soft and not too hard. I was like a bug in a rug and slept like a log:-)
The rooms are well positioned and the whole place is so light and bright - high up on the hill, overlooking the sea.

The area is one of the most beautiful and peaceful parts of the Auckland Region. So if you are a nature lover with a passion for walks, you can't go wrong. Shakespear Park is teeming with birds. I saw Tui, Fantails, Wood pigeon, and many more.

If ever you are in the area, this is definitely the best place to stay. We will always come back here when we can, because I know Janis and Peter will make us welcome and take good care of us.

Larry Smith - Auckland

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Business
Travelling group: Business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Larry it was such a pleasure to have you both stay. The America's Cup is coming back to Auckland soon, maybe it is time for another visit?
Thank you for a wonderful review.

Kind Regards, Janis and Peter
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodR124
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B with coastal park attached”
Reviewed 12 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

The 2 bedrooms are private within the stylish house and have a separate entrance. The host understands the need for solitude and rest but is on hand to assist with any advice the traveller may need. There's always a cup of tea in the pot and a friendly ear if required! The bedrooms are tastefully furnished a with plenty of storage. The beds are extremely comfortable. The accommodation offered suits a single nights stay or something longer as the B&B area is very spacious. The bathroom is what you would want in your house. A short distance from the house is the Shakespear Regonal Park with its wonderful views over Auckland Harbour and the Hauraki Gulf Islands. A trip to Tiritiri Matangi is a must.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2018
Thank you Rod for your wonderful review of our Bed & Breakfast.
We really enjoyed your visit and look forward to you returning back to New Zealand in the future
Kind Regards Janis and Peter
.
.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing