We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent room and excellent service!”
Review of Whangaparaoa Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whangaparaoa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Excellent room and excellent service!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We got everything we asked for in the room and it was spotlessly clean. Troy was very friendly went out of his way to make us feel welcome and give us everything we needed. We were running late and he checked us in no problem, and even gave us complementary ice-cream. Wished we could have stayed longer, and I would definitely return and recommend to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank James H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bvlgariginza, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear James
Thanks for writing this lovely review to help potential guests possibly choose to stay here on special occasions such are yourselves. The ice-creams just a small something to wish you both the best best for the future. Hope to see you back then you have the time.
Kind regards
Troy & Tomoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    270
    45
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
70
171
20
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

Fabulous hosts, very spacious rooms and a beautiful location. A great little shopping centre with plenty of places to eat nearby. Across the road from the beach - made for fantastic photos with the sunrise. A little noisy at times, but I could overlook that for the location, the room and the welcoming hosts. Thanks for your great service, would definitely stay again if I am up that way again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kiwigirl3015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bvlgariginza, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful comments. We are thrilled you enjoyed your short stay with us, taking in all you could while here from sunrise to the excellent restaurants nearby. Look forward to seeing again - summer is particularly nice!
Kind regards
Troy & Tomoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful lodge for our honeymoon night.

We found the owners fantastic to deal with, nothing was to much trouble and allowed us to have excess to the room earlier than the normal check in time which was perfect for me as the bride to get ready for the wedding.

The room was immaculate the view out standing .

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeteSticksG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bvlgariginza, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments and CONGRATULATIONS again on your recent wedding!! As mentioned we are thrilled to be able to accommodate small requests to make your stay special and memorable and I hope that we are able to welcome you back from time to time, when you have other special occasions in your life
Kind regards
Troy & Tomoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangonui, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Really enjoy my stay here. Perfect location, great price/quality balance and amazingly friendly owners.
I come here every month for my business trip and enjoy my sating all the time. Gorgeous rooms with sea view on the little Manly beach!
Highly recommend this place to everyone! =)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Irina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy C, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi Irina
Thank you for making the time to write this wonderful comments about your stays with us!
As mentioned we love seeing you every month, and look forward to greeting you again soon!
For sure we will have your regular Manly Suite available at that time
Kind regards
Troy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cloncurry, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Our first night in NZ and was a great hotel to stop on route to the peninsula. We couldn't have found more friendly owners who greeted us with ice tea on arrival, great touch, gave us information of places to eat and helped us with information on our travel distance the next morning. A clean tidy modern hotel which serves a beautiful breakfast on the deck with lovely views of the ocean.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy C, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Hi. Thank you for making the time to write a Tripadvisor comment for us and other guests.
As you mentioned we are perfectly located for those on the way up north or on the way back, and glad you were able to enjoy some of the sites and features of this beautiful area of Auckland.
Look forward to seeing you again if your travels bring you back to NZ in the future!
Kind regards
Troy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, NZ
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

The Whangaparaoa lodge is in a good location to get to any places on the Whangaparaoa peninsula. It is located a reasonable distance down the peninsula, so could take a bit of time to get further afield especially if there was traffic. There are many beaches in close proximity and it is close to Shakespear Regional Park. The nearest beach is just across the road. There are restaurants, a supermarket and other shopping nearby as well.

The accommodation is very tidy, and the manager was very helpful. On our first night, we did hear a bit of noise from other guests outside. But the second night was very quiet.

The free wifi was also a positive. Overall a good experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bvlgariginza, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write this informative review of us!
We are glad you enjoyed your stay for a couple of nights and look forward to seeing you again soon.

With kind regards
Troy & Tomoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Very impressed with this hotel. Top class service made for truly perfect stay. Iced tea on arrival very nice touch. We were allowed our small dog to stay also, which was very kind and made all the difference. Can't fault the place. Perfect location, waking distance to nice restaurants and across the road from a beach. Looking forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TLC056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Troy C, Owner at Whangaparaoa Lodge, responded to this review, 27 April 2014
Hi, and thank you for taking the time to write your comments.
We enjoyed having the 3 of you stay with us while you were here for the Orewa Marathon and can't wait to see you again soon.
Kind regards
Troy & Tomoko
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangaparaoa
14.5 mi away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#2 of 67 in Auckland
315 reviews
14.4 mi away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
15.3 mi away
The Langham, Auckland
The Langham, Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
4,310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.5 mi away
Hotel DeBrett
Hotel DeBrett
#1 of 67 in Auckland
1,196 reviews
5.5 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
14.5 mi away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whangaparaoa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whangaparaoa Lodge

Property: Whangaparaoa Lodge
Address: 874 Whangaparaoa Road | Little Manly Beach, Whangaparaoa 0930, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Whangaparaoa
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Whangaparaoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Whangaparaoa Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Qualmark 5 Star motel located in Auckland features 12 studio and 2 one bedroom modern appointed suites which literally is your home away from home at the gates of the Whangaparaoa Peninsula. On offer, a host of activities and sights, relaxation, education and unforgettable experiences catering for families, couples or groups alike with all the local activities, walks, beaches and tranquility just 35 minutes north of Auckland city and 60 minutes to Auckland Airport. Nearby Activities Include • Nature walks, wild life and conservation education at Tiritiri Matangi & Shakespear Park • Golf - 3 courses within 10 minutes • Beautiful beachside walks and Jogging trails • Fishing, kayak and diving tours • Snow Planet -NZ's only indoor skiing venue • Weekend local markets at Coatesville, Gulf Harbour & Silverdale • Shopping in Silverdale and Albany • Wine trails in Matakana • Excellent local restaurants within walking distance • Thermal Hot pools at Waiwera • Award winning hand crafted cheeses & ice cream at Puhoi • ...and even $9.90 movies at the nearby theatre (for rainy days) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Whangaparaoa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing