We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not impressed..”
Review of Gulf Harbour Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Gulf Harbour Lodge
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whangaparaoa
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Not impressed..”
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We booked a 3 day stay... Had to pay in total which was odd and we're told we could park 'anywhere we wanted' in the public car park... We were told we were in room 38, after we walked there to find there was no room 38, the receptionist informed us there was a room 38 and we just hadn't seen it. Feeling like idiots we went to go find it. Luckily the cleaner stopped us and informed us there are no numbers past 37. The receptionist then informed us in 4 years she hadn't known that. Once we got to the room we could tell why.... The room seemed to have not been opened in the 4 years.... The smell was so intense I couldn't stand to be in it. We opened the room up and hurried away, the corridor didn't smell much better and was grubby and patchy.

The bathroom was revolting, black hair everywhere... (We are blond) the plug blocked with black scum and long black hair. The shower pressure was good but starts hot and fades to warm the entire time.. Not fun. The entire bathroom needed a scrub.

Thought we would watch telly, no sky tv... No TV guide..
Thought we would listen to the radio, stereo wires not even plugged in..

Two of every utensil (one glass) and no knife or cutting board or anything.
We too we're kept awake by yelling and singing from downstairs and had to sleep with the tv on.
Bedside lamp didn't go and as the room had no light itself that was annoying..

No one came to clean day two, wouldn't have minded except there was no scrubbing brush to clean my dishes properly.

NEVER anyone at reception.
NO guides to what we could eat below us and instead told to go to the country club down the road.

Day 3 the cleaner came... Didn't clean ANYTHING, didn't vacuum.. Didn't replace the dishes.. Didn't wipe anything.. Didn't bother to replace the toilet paper that was empty (lucky there was tissues!)

Seems they have given up.. Everyone has moved out from the place so it feels empty and run down, no one cares anymore. The one receptionist we spoke to on day one was nice but we never saw another one. Upon leaving no one bothered to ask how my stay was.

For 220 a night it's seriously not worth it. Beautiful location but totally let down by poor management/cleanliness/standards.. Sad really.

Room Tip: I wouldn't bother unless you like the intense musty smell of a room that hasn't been open an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dayna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    14
    10
    17
    12
See reviews for
14
40
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

We thought this would be ideal for our first nights of married life. Apart from convenience and location we were both disappointed. The place needs to be seriously cleaned with some mould remover! Doors locked at crazily early hour!

Room Tip: Good to be at northern end if you are unfortunate enough to book here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Armlesstraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Whangaparaoa hotels

Haywards Heath, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This hotel looked so promising on its website but the reality is very different and disappointing. The room we stayed in was very dated and felt grubby, there were stains on the bedcover and a strange smell in the room which may have been from previous occupants cooking. The bed was comfortable but the pillows were very thin.
There were tea and coffee making facilities but only four portions of milk in the fridge. Other hotels we have stayed in on this trip provided a whole carton of milk!
We only saw one member of staff who was very friendly when we checked in. There was no-one around when we checked out.
The whole area around Gulf Harbour seemed very downbeat so we didn't bother trying to find anywhere to eat there but drove to Orewa instead.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwyndolen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, QLD
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Tidy but dated room. Good size with two doubles. Reasonable value I thought. Excellent pressure in the shower. Our room was overlooking bars and cafe so got rowdy on Friday night. Solved this by joining the festivities. Will stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazshells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 February 2013

Thanks so much to management (Sonya, Matt & Staff) who went out of their way to be helpful and accomodate our needs and give us an wonderful stay. The room was quiet and we had no issues at all. Thanks again for everything. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blue4200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

I am always interested to read reviews by other travellers, as there is nearly always someone who finds fault! Joe Public for you, as we say in the UK!

Gulf Harbour Lodge is clean, has well appointed rooms, and overlooks the marina. We had a special rate of $99 for a room for two in November 2012. There were in fact two double beds in the room. The cost is for room only, and if you self cater the kitchen area is adequate, with a fridge and microwave, crockery and cutlery. We returned to the Plaza shopping centre for breakfast, 6 minutes away by car.

On the ground floor and separate from the hotel, there is a bar, and when we arrived at 1900, the live group were just warming up, time for us to leave for the Carpe Diem restaurant almost next door, where we were able to enjoy conversation with our friends, and have an excellent meal. After a starter of garlic bread, We chose the prawns and scallops seared on skewers, plenty of them and really good value for money. With two good bottles of wine between 4 of us, the total bill was $50 per head. Now is that overpriced or expensive?

By the time we retired to bed, 22.00, all was quiet, and we were not disturbed by noise. The staff were friendly and helpful. We would stay there again, and can recommend it to other readers. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the marina.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge 7th and 8th July 2012. We had an executive suite which was very spacious and well appointed with a spectacular view down the canal. A kingsize bed, ample clothes storage for a longer stay, a dining table, writing desk, sofa, all made for a very relaxing environment. There was also a toaster and microwave available in the room. Staff were pleasant and helpful. We ate at both of the restaurants underneath the Lodge and enjoyed the hospitable staff at each. Food was basic, in good quantities and tasty. Noise from the bar did not worry us as we were at the end of the complex and totally undisturbed. The let down was in the detail. The corridoe outside our room had an unpleasant smell, a wardrobe door was off one hinge, one hook was off the drapes, wall paper was lifting, the instructions for the tv and the dvd were incorrect, one window would not open the other would not close. These little things were unfortunate. Having said that we had a great weekend.

Room Tip: Choose the Marina executive suite as a first choice otherwise ask for a room that will not be noisy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackAuckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Whangaparaoa
6.0 mi away
Waves Motel
Waves Motel
#3 of 8 in Orewa
173 reviews
2.3 mi away
Whangaparaoa Lodge
Whangaparaoa Lodge
#1 of 2 in Whangaparaoa
327 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Sheep and Shag
The Sheep and Shag
#2 of 5 in Whangaparaoa
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Sunny Side Up B&B
The Sunny Side Up B&B
#1 of 5 in Whangaparaoa
14 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Gulf Harbour Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gulf Harbour Lodge

Property: Gulf Harbour Lodge
Address: 164 Harbour Village Drive | Whangaparaoa, Whangaparaoa 0930, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Whangaparaoa
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Whangaparaoa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Gulf Harbour Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Gulf Harbour Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gulf Harbour Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing