We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coastal Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Mike and Jenny's Place was a fantastic find for us. The view is the best we have come across on our NZ trip so far and their wonderful hospitality was second to none. Great local advice and delicious fresh paua patties for our dinner was a treat. Sunrise from the bed was amazing. Thanks so much for making our time there so special, hope you enjoyed the trout!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandA7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (45)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 45 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2012

Very friendly and welcoming people. Jenny made us feel right at home. Accomodation was lovely. Showed us where to see the penguins and told us a lot about them. She cooked us her famous paua fritters which were delicious. Best accommodation we had on our nz trip and would recommend to anyone, defiantly would return!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Probably the best accommodation experience of our two week South Island trip...Jenny gave us a super friendly welcome on arrival and awesome Paua Fritters on our return from a visit to the magic Nugget Point Lighthouse...if that wasn't enough, she let us know the secret local spot to view yellow-eyed penguins from only a few metres away...great wildlife viewing!! The views from the front yard, even at midnight are unsurpassed...Cheers Jenny, we'll be back for sure! (Kiwi & 3 Spaniards)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigIdoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Jenny greeted us like she would her family and welcomed us to our spacious room with kitchenette and bathroom unit under their house which was cosy and had a homely feel to it. The unit overlooked lawn and garden and then out to sea. The first night having established that we liked seafood Jenny brought down Paua fritters with a salad which was so kind of her and they were absolutely delicious.

The garden outside the unit had a couple of wooden chairs and we loved sitting with a cup of tea or coffee and just looking over the beach to the sea. There are stairs down to the street and only a few metres away is the pub which serves reasonable food. There is no other restaurant there and you can only buy very basic bread or milk from the shop attached to the pub.

Whilst staying at Kaka Point you must drive out to the lighthouse. There is a 900 metre walk from the carpark to the lighthouse and a viewing platform with an amazing view of the wave thrashed vertical rock formations and if you take your binoculars you will be able to see the seals lounging on the rocks. There is a hide at Roaring Bay to view the yellow eyed penguins which you can do at dusk.

Nothing is too far to go and there are some lovely drives and walks to be had.

We would recommend Mike and Jennys for comfort and kindness.

Room Tip: There is only one unit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 2BISCUITS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Three days in the Catlins at Kaka Point in Jenny & Mike's accommodation was fabulous. Jenny's Paua fritters were totally delicious (having been caught that morning) and we just loved the views. The best view from Kaka Point with a gorgeous swimming beach below and ideally sited near the local cafe/pub/local store.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisMc002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2011

Thank you Mike and Jenny for your professional hospitality and kind offers and help with our wedding plans.
The whitebait patties were off the chain and a touch of southern hospitality that was unexpected and made our stay a very memorable one. We will be back. The hosts with the most !
Kind regards Brad and Aime South Island NZ

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bradbatchelor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2010

In 3 weeks of touring New Zealand, this was one of my favorite places to stay. Not just because of the sweet, comfortable studio looking out on organic gardens, lively bird feeders, and the gorgeous sea...or the proximity to wildlife such as the rate Yellow Eyed Penguins, various seals, dolphins, and whales...Mostly it was the friendliness and generosity of hosts that stood out, even among the typically kind Kiwis we met all over the country. Jenny is bubbly and cheerful, feeling immediately like a long lost friend. She went out of her way to make sure we were comfortable and well fed - and we're talking gourmet cooking (fritters from abalone she herself dove her, sausage from sheep her family raised.) She and Mike directed us to the best places to see things, local secrets the guidebooks don't mention. If you are driving through the south of New Zealand and want an unforgettable place to stay, near wildlife and the wild beauty of the Catlins Coast, stop at this gem of a place and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
7.3 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
67 reviews
0 mi away
Cardno's Accommodation
Cardno's Accommodation
#1 of 6 in Kaka Point
82 reviews
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
19.5 mi away
Hilltop Accommodation Catlins
0.1 mi away
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
#6 of 6 in Kaka Point
35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation

Address: 7 Marine Terrace | 1 Rd, Kaka Point 9271, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range: £55 - £68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIT 1: We have a large single room self-contained private unit,that sleeps up to 4 (one Queen bed and two single beds). Kaka Point is a lovely place with yellow-eyed penguins seals, native birds and much more wildlife; bush walks, lighthouse, surfing, diving, snorkeling and lovely locals, playgrounds, beach walks, restaurant, bar and shop, we offer you a taste of the local seafood!! UNIT 2: We now have another unit with queen bed and ensuite,microwave,toaster,jug,fridge and flat screen tv with freeview.With a view of the sea from your breakfast table. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing