We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Personality Plus!!!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kaka Point
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
Ranked #2 of 6 Kaka Point B&B and Inns
Dunedin, Otago, New Zealand
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Personality Plus!!!!”
Reviewed 28 September 2013

We've just had the best weekend at Kaka Point at Mike and Jenny's! Meeting Mike and Jenny for the first time is like catching up with old friends - they are so friendly and Jenny has the most amazing personality! We felt at home right away!
The unit is beautifully decorated, warm, cosy and really clean - and seems like a home away from home.
The view is amazing - marvellous vista right out to sea and over to the lighthouse - over a lovely garden and framed by cabbage trees. The birdsong is divine!
It was our wedding anniversary and Jenny offered to cook us some paua patties. We certainly didn't expect the beautiful meal brought down to us - paua patties which were to die for, some fish and a lovely salad -all on a glass fish shaped plate!! What a wonderful surprise!! Thanks Mike and Jenny for your fabulous hospitality.
Certainly much recommended!! ... and we'll be back for sure!!
Bill and Karen McArthur

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    3
    0
    2
    0
See reviews for
4
29
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

This stay was recommended to us when the B&B we called was booked out completely. What a wonderful redirect! It says a lot when another B&B can refer its competitor and what a reference it was. The room was so spacious and private; I felt like I was staying at my own home. Coffee the next morning from the patio overlooking a gorgeous section of the beach/ocean was only exceeded by the fact that we did not have to rush. We were encouraged to have a sleep in and relax. The stay was certainly worth more than we paid, which is always a plus-truly a great deal. Mike and Jenny's is a place we will definitely return to and certainly looking forward to!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hope H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kakapoint, Owner at Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Thank you so much for your very nice comment.We are so lucky to be in such a wonderful place and it is a pleasure to be able to share it with other people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

When travelling we always seek out locations and accommodation with a point of difference, and here we were not disappointed, as Mike and Jenny's was everything we hoped for. The room was spacious, the facilities entirely appropriate for the intended purpose and the welcome exceptional. Due to a seafood allergy we could not partake of Jenny's famous Paua fritters but instead Jenny and her daughter provided a magnificent meal with fresh vegetables from their garden, home made sausages that were to die for, and a magnificent pavlova for dessert. All we had to do was pop the cork from our Champagne bottle and we had the perfect evening. The view out across the Pacific, plus Nugget Point and its lighthouse as the land arched out to our right, was magnificent.

It is plain to see why this accommodation has won awards, Mike and Jenny have 'the formula', we had a wonderful time, and we have taken away some very special memories.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Winston018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Mountains, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2013

After spending the day travelling/sight seeing from Invercargill via the beautiful Catlin Coast in gale-force conditions, we arrived at Mike & Jenny's in drizzling rain. We were welcomed like old friends and then shown to an amazing room which looked out over the beach and ocean.
The room was very spacious, beautifully decorated and with the best equipped kitchen encountered on our NZ trip.
When we asked about nearby eateries, Jenny said she was intending to cook paua patties for us. After our delicious meal, we decided to take a walk along the beach, despite the drizzling rain and fading light. Unfortunately, the weather prevented us from taking our rental car along the dirt road in the dark to a penguin-viewing area known to locals but not necessarily to tourists as recommended by Jenny. We did go in the morning - although not to see penguins - and were glad we'd not gone in the dark and wet as the road is winding and narrow in places.
We dearly would have loved to stay an extra night; unfortunately our pretty tight schedule and pre-booked accommodation did not allow it.
Mike & Jenny's was an amazing place - despite the dodgy weather - with the most friendly and welcoming hosts. Would not hesitate in recommending this accommodation to anyone who enjoys the peace and serenity away from the hustle and bustle of city life.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nonameofoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 December 2012

Mike and Jenny's Place was a fantastic find for us. The view is the best we have come across on our NZ trip so far and their wonderful hospitality was second to none. Great local advice and delicious fresh paua patties for our dinner was a treat. Sunrise from the bed was amazing. Thanks so much for making our time there so special, hope you enjoyed the trout!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PandA7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uk
1 review
Reviewed 3 December 2012

Very friendly and welcoming people. Jenny made us feel right at home. Accomodation was lovely. Showed us where to see the penguins and told us a lot about them. She cooked us her famous paua fritters which were delicious. Best accommodation we had on our nz trip and would recommend to anyone, defiantly would return!

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank F S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2012

Probably the best accommodation experience of our two week South Island trip...Jenny gave us a super friendly welcome on arrival and awesome Paua Fritters on our return from a visit to the magic Nugget Point Lighthouse...if that wasn't enough, she let us know the secret local spot to view yellow-eyed penguins from only a few metres away...great wildlife viewing!! The views from the front yard, even at midnight are unsurpassed...Cheers Jenny, we'll be back for sure! (Kiwi & 3 Spaniards)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CraigIdoia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kaka Point
7.3 mi away
Owaka Lodge Motel
Owaka Lodge Motel
#1 of 1 in Owaka
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nugget View & Kaka Point Motels
0.2 mi away
Molyneux House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Catlins Kiwi Holiday Park at McLean Falls
0.2 mi away
Kaka Point Luxury Spa Accommodation
0.0 mi away
Breadalbane House
Breadalbane House
#1 of 3 in Kaka Point
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation

Property: Mike & Jennys Kaka Point Accommodation
Address: 7 Marine Terrace | 1 RD, Kaka Point 9271, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Otago Region > Kaka Point
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Kaka Point
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
UNIT 1: We have a large single room self-contained private unit,that sleeps up to 4 (one Queen bed and two single beds). Kaka Point is a lovely place with yellow-eyed penguins seals, native birds and much more wildlife; bush walks, lighthouse, surfing, diving, snorkeling and lovely locals, playgrounds, beach walks, restaurant, bar and shop, we offer you a taste of the local seafood!! UNIT 2: We now have another unit with queen bed and ensuite,microwave,toaster,jug,fridge and flat screen tv with freeview.With a view of the sea from your breakfast table. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing