We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kenthurst Lodge B & B
Nearby Hotels
US$116
US$102
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bonnie Knights Motel(Mosgiel)(Great Value!)
US$97
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
35
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
35
0
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsheather and johnstayed two nightsseveral daysone nighta wonderful stayspotcatlinshostsviews
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We and our friends stayed at Kenthurst Lodge for 3 nights in September 2011 - a fabulous stay which will be long remembered. Heather and John were brilliant hosts and the location was superb for exploring the Catlins.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank johnwar950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed for two nights in this lovely B&B and couldn't have picked a better place to start our 4 week road trip through NZ. The room was great, with a comfy super kingsize bed and fluffy towes in the ensuite bathroom. The fresh flowers on the bedside table were lovely, as was the breakfast in the reading/living room next door.
The house itself has a nice garden and a great view to the beach over the treetops. Just a short walk or drive down the road brings you to the small town of Kaka Point right at the beach. The famous lighthouse with the nuggets is only a 10 minute drive away and we were lucky to see some penguins there, first at Roaring Bay from the hide and later when we came back from the lighthouse one jumped on the street right in front of our car!
Heather and John are really nice and wonderful people. They know the area very well and told us about a lot of places and restaurants to go to. They even lend us their binoculars as we only had very small ones and Heather did our laundry.
Thank you for a great stay and such genuine hospitality!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bianca_2108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We had such a great stay at this outstanding B&B. Heather and John really go above and beyond the normal excellent new zealand hospitality. We stayed here for 2 nights and felt so relaxed by the end of it we would loved to have stayed longer. The rooms are fantastic, modern and luxurious - top quality everything and all the little touches really make it from the fresh flowers, yummy treats, delicious breakfast, meticulous cleanliness - you really couldn't ask for more. The property as a whole is really delightful with an amazing garden and spectaculor view. Heather and John are so inviting without being intrusive. They can give advice on all aspects of the region and are so warm and welcoming. We will definitely be coming back only this time for longer.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caroline d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

We loved our stay at Kenthurst Lodge and plan to return for a longer look around the Catlins, one of our favourite areas of New Zealand. Heather and John were perfect hosts, looking after our every need. Heather's advice re which attractions to visit was spot on and allowed us to see the best of the waterfalls, wildlife and many bays. On the day of our arrival, we had been caught out on the beach at Cathedral Caves and arrived with sodden clothes and boots sloshing with sea water. Heather's offer of laundry for our clothes and a drying cupboard for our boots couldn't have been more welcome. The gardens and decor were right out of New Zealand Home and Gardens - stunning, yet very comfortable and user friendly. We enjoyed the exclusive use of the comfotable guest lounge - watching TV, Wifi access and using the kitchen for our coffee, breakfast, etc. You will not find a better stay in the Catlins!

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleIgor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2011

We stayed here for two nights to explore the Catlins and could not have been happier with our stay. John and Heather were amazing hosts- they recommended sites, gave us directions, called restaurants for us, and even did our laundry for us! Our room was very nice, clean, new, and modern.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nileriver10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews